We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Delhi
1 review
“Excellent value for money resort”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We stayed at this beautiful property. it was a family vacation.
The rooms are neat & clean. in fact they were freshly painted at this time of the year. The staff was ever smiling & ever helpful.
very near to the happening places like Baga Beach, calangute Titos and all. and since it is some 200 mts off the road road so was quite also. The buffet breakfast was good and wholesome.

overall a good experience.

  • Liked — Pool view
  • Disliked — The Dairy whitener saches supplied in room are not good quality
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gypsyWandererDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    124
    62
    22
    23
See reviews for
77
180
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melb, Aust
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is 200 met off main strip so its quiet. Excellent value especially sine the breakfast is inc. They hire scooters out for $5 day and pre dinner cocktails at poolside bar was a highlight. Would return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greggylopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My partner and I had a super stay at the Santiago. The rooms are very basic but we really only slept there and for what we paid we cant complain.
We didn't think much of the evening entertainment in fact it was laughable sometimes, but we are not ones to sit around the hotel anyway we like to get out and about.
We were all inclusive although we ate at the hotel only 4 times in our 2 week stay. The food in the main hotel restaurant and the thai/chinese restaurant is excellent and there are plenty of choices, and we were never ill. I wouldn't recommend ordering lobster or langoustines in the restaurant.as these are arranged by the waiters for the next day and they charge a hefty mark up.
There are so many nice restaurants to try outside the hotel, and very reasonably priced.

During the daytime we only stayed round the pool a couple of times before we got bored. We headed for the beaches Ashvem was lovely and Mandrem Beach is an absolute must do and was simply heaven we actually went there every day for the last week, lol. At Mandrem Seafood and fish are cooked to order and was the best we had. A taxi to Mandrem return was about £10.
Another absolute must is a bar called Vagabar at the top of little Vagator Beach cliffs it is soooo romantic a taxi is about £6. Meals are really nice and not expensive. Basically a very romantic night out for about £20! hint guys, lol

Overall i would stay in the santiago hotel again if i wanted a hotel in Calangute but i will probably go elsewhere in Goa next time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckenhamBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

This is a small very friendly hotel. The hotel has 2 restaurants one that serves Indian food with a small selection of English and another that serves Chinese/thai food, we loved the Indian food fantastically cooked and always ordered too much.
The rooms were very basic and I am thankful that we stayed at a cool time of the year because i would not have been able to sleep at night with the noisy aircon unit.
There is no way enough sunbeds we counted 14 for the whole hotel. We went down to the beech were for under a £10 you get a sunbed with all your drinks and something to eat at lunchtime for the 2 of you.
The main restaurant also suffers from a lack of tables unless you get down early you can when the hotel is busy waiting a while.
What makes this hotel is the staff, service and food nothing is too much trouble, they repeated asked me if I wanted more drinks and food and was always welcomed as a friend every night. I did not want to do home.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spine1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Santiago Hotel for 2 weeks in March 2009. We had read lots of reviews prior to our trip and did have some reservations but as experienced travellers took the plung and went for it.
The trip down the dirt track to reception does give you doubts as you are walking down it but that soon fades away with the fabulous reception that you are greated with.
The rooms are basic but you are staying in a 3 star hotel and dont forget you are in India. The rooms were more that adequate and cleaned on a daily basis.
What makes this hotel so special above all else is the staff, too many names to mention but all of them treat you as well if not better that people in 5 star hotels that we have been to over the years.
The food is excellent and we ate at both of the hotels restaurants for the whole 2 weeks stay. This was not our intention, but thats how good the food was.
The pool is on the small side with a limited amount of beds available but there is a fabulous beach with an abundance of shacks that are really good only 5 minutes walk or a 50p taxi ride away. Try the garlic King Prawns on the beach, amazing with salad and wedges at only £3.00.
Local nightlife is very good and unbelievably cheap, local beer only 50p per bottle. Try Plastik bar in Tito's lane and then onto Mambo's nightclub ( ride on the mechanical bull when you are drunk if you dare, funny. )
Dont forget to haggle with the local beach sellers, they are very friendly only trying to make a living and really have good fun with you. Fake t-shirts, jewelery and all sorts of bargains to be had.
We had such a great holiday that we have already booked to return to this hotel next March with our two best friends.
Hope this review helps and you enjoy yourself as much as we did.
Sean & Gary, Grimsby. England

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QueensAloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Where to start???
On first arriving at the Santiago we was immediately impressed with the calm relaxed atmosphere of the staff which immediately put all the guests at ease. Check in was quick and hassle free, we were shown straight to our room which although basic had everything we could want. We loved the idea of having a seperate lounge area to watch t.v (which again was very impressive). The extras of tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge with drinks was fantastic.
The rooms were cleaned daily and we never once saw any bugs.

We went straight down to the pool area for a nice cold beer and although this was our first time to the Santiago we were greeted like friends by all the bar staff. A huge thank you to David,Tony,Pritesh,Paul and my little cute bar tender who always had a cheeky smile and a wave.
I've read other reviews that moaned about the sunbed situation,it wasn't really that bad,we only had them once but that was through choice as we preffered the deck chairs. They wasn't even put out until after 9 so it's not like you've got to get up at stupid o/clock to get one. At one side of the pool they've got a good selection of books and magazines that have been left by other guests which again was a great idea.
Also a big thank you to Naz who worked the upstairs bar at night,he loved my husband teaching him chess.Beware if you're playing pool,the table does tend to tilt at 1 end and they really need new pool balls but for 100 rps for 3 games you can't moan.

Although we didn't go to breakfast too often it was really good,always hot with a good selection. My husband couldn't get enough of the bacon.
The selection of food around the bar area (whether it was the buffett lunch or from the english board) was faultless and of fantastic quality,again always hot and plenty of choice.
Afternoon tea was good with cakes,biscuits and hot snacks. Me and my husband always had a pot of coffee with large brandys at this time,don't think they'd seen people add brandy to coffee before lol.
Dinner again was fantastic,we loved the idea of being able to order from a menu rather than queue up like cattle. I've done all inclusive many times before and this was the first time I've experienced this.
I agreewith other reviews that you need to go to dinner quite early if you want a good table as you do tend to stay there all evening as that's where the entertainment is. We went down most nights about 7.15 which was fine with us as we were ready to eat by then.
The entertainment was really good most nights although there isn't any on a Saturday night as the hotel is very quiet with a lot of guests going off to the Saturday market.

Although tucked away from the main area don't let this put you off,it doesn't take long to walk anywhere and it's away from all the noise of the bars,shops and traffic.

It wasn't just the staff and hotel that made our honeymoon,we met some of the nicest guests you could ever wish to meet. There were only 2 young guests at this time,Gabe and Sadie,they were absolutley fantastic,a total credit to their families. As long as they had the pool they were as good as gold,Gabe loved being launched in the water by my husband John and 2 other guests John and Nick.
Gabe's mum Nina and stepdad Phil were a fantastic couple that we have kept in touch with.

Now for the only down side of the honeymoon......................the airport!!!
On arrival we had to wait over an hour for a dock for the plane and to get through immigration (both on arrival and departure) was a nightmare,although I have to say this was mainly caused by tourists not filling out the required paperwork and waiting to get to passport control before doing this. You'd think a 9 hour flight would be long enough to get this done lol!!!
It was a lot worse on departure as it took us over 2 hours to get through to departures,at least for all us smokers they do provide smoking rooms but remember they will not let you take a lighter through so make sure you've got a box of matches.

We can honestly say we would go to this hotel again but would like to see the airport situation improved. With more and more people going to Goa every year something really has to be done!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yobette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmimngham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

This hotel was very satisfactory in every way
There is a dirt road approach that a coach cannot get up but bag porters assist you with your bag and once you reach the hotel it is fine.
The room was basic separate bedroom with bathrrom off it has a walk in shower with a step and curtain separating the loo and sink and living area with TV and a sink unit it was always clean, clean towels and sheets every other day and it had a small balcony overloking the pool. Aircon and ceiling fans kept the room cool though the aircon did go off on occassions we suspect to keep the cost down.
The food at this hotel was delicious, they have a tandor oven and produced wonderful curries, nan breads and tandoori meat and fish and really lovely crispy onion bhaji's. They do offer western food too but once you try the curries youd feel like you were missing out not to have one every night!! The staff were really friendly and bent over backwards to get you your drinks / food or whatever you needed. The hotel location is about a 10 min walk from the nearest beach (baga) it is near a busy road with lots of shops and bars and you get persuaded on your way to look in everyones shop (even if your not buying they are happy if you just take a look or promise to look later) I would class it as very centrally located and easy to get around. The taxis rank on the rd of the hotel I wouldnt say is the cheapest but they do offer a friendly reliable service.

I would definatly go to this hotel again we had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taracats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.3 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 110 in Calangute
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Calangute Residency
Calangute Residency
#18 of 110 in Calangute
275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#7 of 110 in Calangute
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 110 in Calangute
522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#39 of 110 in Calangute
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebo Santiago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebo Santiago Beach Resort

Property: Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Address: Calangute - Baga Road | Cobra Wado, Calangute 403516, India (Formerly Santiago Beach Resort)
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Treebo Santiago Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the pulsating stretch of the Baga main road, one is transported to the palm-treed sanctuary of Santiago. Its cozy charm and superb location are a large part of its enduring appeal. Each air-conditioned room has a twin/double bed, a wardrobe and an en-suite bathroom. Other amenities include a tea/coffee maker, fridge, telephone with intercom facility and satellite TV. There is a separate living room and an attached balcony. "Las Masalas" by the poolside offers varied snacks, mini meals and beverages through the day. For lunch and dinner "Las Masalas" serves an intriguing combination of continental, Mediterranean, Goan and Indian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Treebo Santiago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiago Hotel Calangute
Hotel Santiago Goa
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing