We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Cheated !”
Review of Mapple Viva Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mapple Viva Goa
Ranked #110 of 125 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Reviewer: A guest from Chennai
The pick up and drop service was punctual. The trips arranged during our stay were enjoyable especially the trip on the boat in the evening. The buffet that was part of our travel package lacked variety that is expected in Goa though the staff were flexible in us taking food to the room if required. Our stay ended on a very sour note having to shell out Rs 800/- for a sketch pen ink stain by our toddler on a bed cover which the hotel staff and management insisted could not be removed taking advantage of our pressure to leave to board our train on time. We paid the money and took the bed cover in exchange. Needless to say, the ink vanished with the first ordinary wash!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chorwinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2009

Staff were welcoming and unassuming. The General cleanliness of communal areas was adequate.

First breakfast was an eye-opener. Insects were visible over crockery and food. There was a general lack of urgency from staff in breakfast area. The area was poorly organised i.e. butter removed from freezer and too hard to spread, even on hot toast. Bread displayed late so toast wasn’t an option whilst waiting. Condiments were not always available. Sometimes breakfast was not set up until 20 minutes after the time allotted to commence. The second, and last time at breakfast there, largely confirmed the first visit with insect life still visible and general apathy from the staff. Only two breakfasts in 15 was probably two too many.

Then there was the lift. It worked perfectly for three days, then nothing. Not even any urgency from the staff to get it fixed. My room was on the 3rd floor! When staff were quizzed the standard answer was “oh that’s not my department”.

Room housekeeping was haphazard and that is probably an understatement. Timing, well, that could have been at any time of the day or evening, though mornings were preferred. Cleanliness was not of Western standards. Stains were regularly on bedding, and I’m unsure if bedding was changed daily. Towels and bath mat not always changed despite them clearly having been used and dirty (all that dirt from the streets). Asking for clean towel from housekeeping became a daily ritual. And then there was the poor outcast who was made to deliver new toilet rolls, for some unfathomable reason, some hours after the room was ‘cleaned’. This occurred every day.

One of the main sockets was neatly positioned behind a large wardrobe…..very useful.

The gracious gesture of a small bottle of Indian wine was lost when there was no corkscrew available to open it. (it was however quite nice upon arrival home).

The telephone seemed an alien concept to reception staff who were unable to cope with the most basic of requests like how to get an outside line or could they please confirm an airline flight. When asked for the telephone number for Air India……..silence, saved only by the lonely planet guidebook.

This property is not a 4 star by any standard.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Well,to start with..this FOUR STAR hotel does not have a guest parking,and take no responsibility for the guest vehicles,which we had to park under a tree some distance from the hotel...next..the elevators are a joke!!!!you either have to climb two stairs or get down two to actually get to the first floor..meaning you have to drag /lift the luggage /pram/wheelchair two steps up or down to actually get to the elevator!!the rooms...the rooms are dirty and the walls definitely needed a paint job!!the AC was leaking and there was a pool of water in the room..now check this..the reception told us that the ac mechanic will come in..well...TWO HOURS!!!! obviously he never came until i made a complaint to the acting GM,some five hours later!!the pool...the pool for this size of hotel has only FOUR deckchairs!!some other cheap plastic chairs are spread around the pool!!the pool bar dilapitated and not functional is a safety hazard for kids!! the staff cafetaria is at a place that all the staff have to pass through the pool area to get there so..if you wanted some privacy if you were lucky to get a poolchair..well forget it!!The room service was pathetic and the food quality horrendous..a coffee took us about an hour!!The breakfast was sickening!!the crockery/cutlery was dirty and the breakfast itself cold and tasteless!!And yes the only waiter around had joined the hotel the same day and knew nothing !!the front office guided us to the taxi drivers outside when we asked for some local informationall ..all in all ...it was the worst stay ever!!we also noticed a lot of executives/managers of the hotel just roaming about ...doing nothing!!!

Stayed: February 2008
Thank mc02072014f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

we have just got back from goa and a lovely experience it was too,the people are so friendly,the beaches beautiful,the sea lovely and warm,the food devine ...................until you get to the mapple viva!!!!!!!!!!! such a shame............the room had a double bed,nice and comfortable,the room nice and cosy and cleaned daily,but the food .yuk,tough meat,salty curries,and the buffet food was ghastly,and the staff did,nt seem to want to respond to any requests,such a shame.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank joesa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in
one disaster after another
the managers have zero customer service skills
tried to overcharge us, and then wouldnt accept they were in the wrong
a loud techno party was allowed to go on in the restaurant next to our room into the small hours
food was rubish...we ate out even though it was included
staff were not interested in listening to any complaints
AVOID!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Best Hotel in goa. The mapple viva Iooks very nice indeed. room was nicely furnished and was spotlessly clean. lovely hotel,

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

ok - this place looks wonderful - but like i said don't judge a book by its cover - the rooms like nice - but upon investigation you will find your floors wet and covered in sand (experienced by all members in our party) and beds were damp and also sandy. Overall the reception staff did not respond to any concerns - whether it be requests for new bed sheets (or even an actual sheet), the fact that our fridges didn't work (convenient as we had a complimentary mini-bar) and that the rooms that did have working fridges didn't have a bottle opener. Once we decided to forgive these infractions and focus just on the beach, various members in our party noticed upon return to rooms that bags had been rifled through and in some unfortunate cases valuables taken (yes they shouldn't be left in the room but the 'cover' was very deceiving). The only redeeming feature was the hotel's restaurant the 'blue note cafe' the food was 8 times of 10 spot on - although service got a bit confused as soon as there were more than 3 tables occupied.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank HonestPolicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#104 of 125 in Calangute
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
#19 of 125 in Calangute
1,990 reviews
1 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#106 of 125 in Calangute
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grandeur De Sanchi Luxurios Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#54 of 125 in Calangute
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 125 in Calangute
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapple Viva Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapple Viva Goa

Address: Dr. Jack Sequeira Junction | Opp. Calangute Panchayat Office, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $155 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mapple Viva Goa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mapple Viva Goa is located centrally at the world famous, cleanest and widest beach with golden sand. The resort is about 7 minutes walk from the beach. Mapple makes you feel good about who you are, where you can unwind at your own pace. Mapple is what you wanted to be. Mapple is your style. The place where you can just be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mapple Viva Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mapple Viva Goa Calangute
Mapple Viva Goa Hotel Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing