We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great but not so bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingstork Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not so great but not so bad”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

After reading reviews, we went for 3 night stay here in April 2013. The room looked in good condition, but was smelling musty. AC etc was quiet and working fine.
On 2nd day when we returned in evening, the room cleaning was not done, and after repeatedly asking it was done at that time. Also, staff behavior wasn't pleasing. The owners were not there at that time so probably the staff let loose themselves.
Morning breakfasts were good. The lunch meal wasn't that good, but probably not their speciality as we ordered Indian veg.
Another odd thing we noticed that on one day, electricity was not there for 3+ hours. And in absence of it, only one light and fan was functional in the room. AC, TV, charging points etc were off. And as we know, it becomes difficult to stay in room in humid environment without AC.

A few good points:
1. very close to calangute beach
2. rooms and pool in good condition
3. Owners are very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Choose any but keep in mind that room service is not there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    69
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
60
110
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The overall experience of the hotel was excellent.

Cleanliness - The hotel is very clean (90%). The linen was very clean and fresh. The bathrooms well kept and clean. Towels very clean. The tiles in the bathroom are very good and the pot white and clean. I did find the kettle needed to be rinsed as it had dust on it. The cupboards smelt a bit musty. (this is a common problem with humid climates) So I wet wiped the cupboards and kept them open.

No separate area for the shower but the loo dries quickly. I carried a swab as I don't like to enter a wet bathroom/toilet. And that was very useful.

Food - at the hotel was excellent. The staff very helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed our breakfast. The menu is limited for breakfast but whatever is available is of good quality and taste. The fresh fruit was my favourite. There are other items on the menu you can order and pay for. We had one meal at the hotel and wished we had more. Even the fresh orange juice was excellent.The food was fresh and cooked well.

Ruena and Stanley, the owners, pay close attention to the cleanliness of the rooms/hotel and individual guests needs.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great! I preferred the room on the second floor. Less/No mosquitoes. The ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dez05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I went to this place in end of March 2013.
Things you will like about this hotel.
1.Very neat and polished and maintened well.
2.Location is just next to the calangute beach.
3.Hotel Staff and owner extremely helpful which definetely helps a lottt.
4.Rooms are big and all have balconies to have a nice feeling.
5.Owners keen to help and make sure trip is not a waste.
6.Mostly foreigners stay here so very good for family stay!!!

Room Tip: 1.Nothing much....keep up the good work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANAND_025361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our first time at Kingstork Beach Resort having been regular visitors to Goa for the last twenty years. The resort provided us with an oasis of calm from the hustle and bustle of Holiday Street. We only wish we had found this place earlier.
The personal, kind and considered management of the owners Stanley and Ruena made this a very special place.
The rooms were well appointed,all overlook the swimming pool and are equipped with en suite, tea and coffee making facilities, large flat screened wall mounted TV's with at least four English speaking channels. WiFi is complimentary.
The restaurant is open all day for breakfast,lunch and dinner. Our favourite meal was Sea Bass ..a speciality of the house..
The hotel is located 2 to 3 minutes from the beach along a good path. There are always sun beds available around the beautiful Kingstork Pool and this makes an alternative to the beach. Many alternative very good restaurants are nearby and there are a variety of shops within walking distance.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and the airconditioning is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was my 2nd stay with family at this lovely resort. The place is beautiful with clean and decent rooms, nice swimming pool and very friendly staff. The beach is just a 5 minute walk from the resort which makes it an ideal location. The breakfast is good, though the choice is limited. The cuisine is great too for lunch and dinner. Thanks to Stanley and his team for a wonderful stay. We look forward to visiting you again!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank as2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I visited the Calangute-Candolim area during a time when finding a decent place to stay was quite difficult. My cab driver took me to this place and I am glad he did, 'cos next time I visit the area I will be booking this place in advance.
The hotel has a decent pool, the rooms are clean and the manager is a nice person. The only thing that maybe needs some improvement is the kitchen. Food is quite good but just maybe a shade better.
Goa is all about beaches and this hotel is just a stone's throw away.
Just mind that this hotel is not bang in the middle of Calangute, but 2-2.5 kms further south. Amenities and shops are within walking distance.

Room Tip: I got a room on the first floor. But try to get a room on the ground floor. The back door opens up r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nabarunghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from my 4th stay at Kingstork. My room was my sanctuary. spotless clean, and cool with aircon that works beautifully. A rare thing in Goa. The gardens this year looked amazing. Well done Rowena.So much attention to detail throughout the whole of kingstork .
Thankyou Stanley and Rowena

Room Tip: If you have a problem getting in try November or March onwards. Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junedotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.1 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#7 of 110 in Calangute
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#14 of 110 in Calangute
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 64 in Candolim
1,669 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 110 in Calangute
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 110 in Calangute
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingstork Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingstork Beach Resort

Property: Kingstork Beach Resort
Address: Gaura Vaddo Holiday Street, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Calangute
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#7 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingstork Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Kingstork Restaurant' was established in 1968 by the Ferrao family at Calangute, Goa it was moved to its present location in 1999, where it has continued to flourish as the Kingstork Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kingstork Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingstork Beach Hotel Calangute
Kingstork Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing