We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not such a Paradise anymore...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Village Beach Resort
Ranked #62 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We first stayed at Paradise Village a couple of years ago and it was a delight. Rooms are basic but spotlessly clean and the staff were always very smiley, polite and extremely helpful. Breakfast was brilliant as you could have buffet choice of cereal, toast, eggs or even from an indian style menu. Lots of juice, tea, coffee and fresh milk. The beach location is amazing - just a 5 minute walk through the resort and you're on the beach. Beach shacks are plentiful and we didn't have a bad experience at any one.

However...we returned the following year. What a change and what a disappointment! Hotel had been bought by new owner, so all the staff were different - not helpful and quite miserable to be honest. Our room was below par with a wardrobe that threatened to fall apart and tip over. Management's solution: they propped it up with some wood! The worst part was the overall feel of the place - not as happy and carefree. Sadly, lots of very rude Russians and Indian holiday makers were staying the same time as us. Waiting to order boiled eggs or an omelette for your breakfast turned into a bun fight - sharpen your elbows! One 4-slice toaster for a few hundred hungry people just wasn't good enough. The pool was dirty for the first few days of our stay. The water did clear eventually. Anyway, we will be off to Goa on Thursday and we are at the Hotel Osborne. Have checked out the reviews and it sounds OK...fingers crossed!

Room Tip: Try not to get the blocks near the entrance/reception as it gets a bit noisy. We stayed in A block t...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swinners137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Village Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 388 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We Booked this hotel for 2 weeks.
We arrived at the hotel, a nice welcome and was shown our room. The guy who showed us our room expected a tip which he didn't get.

As soon as we got into the room it was like a prison cell, really dark and bars on the windows. I attempted to open the curtains, which obviously hadn't been opened for a fair few years. There were cobwebs all over and ants crawling all over the bars, window ledges and wall. The wood frames on the windows had also been eaten by something.

The bed covers were filthy, a dog wouldn't have laid on those. The bathroom was filthy, looked as tho it hadn't been cleaned.

Now the living room sofa looked as tho it had belonged to about 50people before the hotel, stains and filth all over it.

I was really upset when I got there as after spending so much on this hotel, it definitely was not paradise.

We complained to reception who told us they didn't have any other rooms, basically tough! The guy on reception then got someone else to speak to us who managed to magic up a new room.

This one didn't have any cobwebs behind the curtains but was still like a cell and the bathroom still wasn't too clean. But it had been newly painted and was a lot better than the last one. Also the couch and bedding looked better. We both said to ourselves this Is India, not Dubai or somewhere posher!

So whilst staying in the room, cleaners came and cleaned. They did the floors very well, changed the sheet on the bottom of the bed and the pillows and towels. In the 8 days we were there they never once changed the duvet, it had holes in it! Also about an hour after the floors were cleaned, Everytime some sort of eggs turned up on the floor by the bathroom. Also the bathroom tiles were never cleaned, the grout was black. You had no option to close the bathroom window and could always hear workers behind snooking and spitting!!

My partner had been bitten quite a lot whilst we stayed there. At first we thought it was Mosquitos. So he decided one day to spend the whole day in the room so he wouldn't get bitten. I spent the day at the pool and heard several other families complaining at how bad it was!!

Anyway the final straw was that night. My partner took his t shirt off and found about 15bites all in a row down his back! The only place he'd sat that day was the couch in the room!

This was enough, we finally went and booked ourselves into the lemon tree hotel in candolim, this was when we felt our holiday started! Clean rooms and finally no biting! My partner was not bitten once after this

You probably wonder why we didn't complain to our rep about this, reason being when he left his letter we could see he clearly worked for the hotel. No point!

This hotel, paradise village resort, doesn't even deserve one Star! We had to pay twice just so we could enjoy our holiday

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlaRoxann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had been in this hotel with my family member during summer vacation of my child. It was a splendid experience. Although this time tourists are very few, but we enjoyed the hotel stay for their nice behaviour, co-operation. The resturent of the hotel must be appriciated for their quality of food, cleanliness and menu selection for buffet meal. Beach is just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. swiming pool and spa added its charm.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are prefarable specialy during rainy, hot season so that you can be away from inse...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayanta1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

the location was the main advantage or main point of the resort ,and it look like coloney/village the campus is nice and fine and on the beach property ....
the situe rooms are good and bed size is big ,,,
good stay
but the main point you have ask or demand the item which are in your package ......
and most of think on net about resort in not there for example the disco t' the snooker take ,gim(only two not working machine are there) .

Room Tip: better take the siute room F or H apprt. the cottage is also good but it small in size
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights in Dec 2012 and being the first stop on our trip and being sleep-deprived thanks to 3 flights connections (Nairobi-Addis Ababa-Mumbai-Goa), on the first night the hotel looked and felt very welcoming. With more time on the second day, we were able to appreciate the surroundings and noticed that there was a lot of litter in the compound and many parts were under construction or maintenance! Not the ideal settings for a holiday.

Their saving grace is the location with a beach nearby and great staff especially in the restaurant where one of the waiters- Tirtha become my family's friend. He was always at hand to interpret the dishes and to relay our requests to the kitchen staff. We will always remember him.

Room Tip: We stayed in the maisonettes, but on another visit I would love to try the wooden beach cabins.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmworia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went there for our honeymoon on Feb-11. The Beach Cottage was amazing, situated at very good location, just 2mins walking distance from Calangute Beach. Clean and open swimming pool and surrounded by Coconut trees, which remains open till 6 pm.
If you want to enjoy beach and have fun then I strongly recommend this hotel. Though this is not a 5 star hotel but you will enjoy staying there.
Awesome flower arrangement in the room, well decorated for honeymooners. They were being cleaned up every day.
Food served is rally tasty, can try some sizzlers, sea foods. Breakfast served is good enough and with nice variety in it. If you want you can also carry some for the day.
Their staffs were really helping guys mostly from West Bengal with quick room service, ETA 2-3mins.
Even the resort is pretty big; it's difficult to get a room on arrival without a booking in peak seasons. For us also even when we tried to extend our stay for a day, we couldn't get a room.
Don’t take the beach route while coming back to hotel from the Shacks during late night as stray dogs may create problems.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank UtkalBarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

just come back from calangute 3rd time in the paradise village last year the hotel was a nightmare there was rubbish all around the pathways were all broken and the swimming pool was scruffy,this year the hotel has changed, all the rooms have been upgraded new beds better showers the furniture is not broken,the management has changed for the better nothing is too much trouble for them.the swimming pool is cleaner even the food is better than last year.if your looking for a beach holiday you will be disappointed the beach shacks can only have 5 sunbeds now and the police are realy enforcing the new rules,if you try this hotel try the rovers return shack the food is very good, its at the beach entrance from the paradise.i would stay at the paradise again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geoffbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.7 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 116 in Calangute
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#45 of 116 in Calangute
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calangute Residency
Calangute Residency
#18 of 116 in Calangute
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 116 in Calangute
353 reviews
20.6 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Village Beach Resort

Address: Tivai Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $36 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Village Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Village Beach Hotel Calangute
Paradise Village Beach Calangute
Paradise Village Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing