We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money..”
Review of Dona Julia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dona Julia
Ranked #12 of 224 Calangute B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It was a very nice and comfortable stay. A good Budget resort, nice and clean, we had two rooms and both of them were excellent. I would definitely go back to this resort. I would strongly suggest everyone to visit this place once.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Himanshu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 227 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed twice in the last 01 year. A review... better late than never.
A wonderful little resort in a perfect location, the beach in between Calangute and Candolim. ~03 mins. walking distance to beach, ~05 minutes walking distance to market place.

Resort : Small, with lots of greenery, clean and value for money for the price paid. Deluxe/ Superior/Standard rooms with options of A/C & Non-A/C, prices from 1000 - 2200/- depending on rooms and time of year. Deluxe rooms though newly built, but view is garden facing, Standard and Superior A/C rooms are pool facing. Cute little clean swimming pool with lots of shades, so no issues swimming during summer afternoons. An in-house restaurant with good food, secured parking, little children play area.

Would like to mention here that Dona Julia charges only 01 night in advance for booking (irrespective of the no. of days one is going to stay), also, the remaining payment can be done while checking-out, unlike some other Goa resorts/hotels where one charges 50% for booking and full payment before getting into the room.

Rooms : Have stayed in the Superior rooms - A/C, Fan, TV, Fridge, Balcony, enough wardrobes, clean. All works perfectly, if any issue, inform the reception and staff are more than happy to help. I had one instance, where I called the reception at 10:30pm and Mr. Kishore was more than happy to help switching on the A/C.

Restaurant : Good restaurant, though a lot can be improved. Overall, I preferred having evening snacks / dinner at the restaurants. The restaurant staff are smiling and happy to help with any Goa queries.

Others : Hardly ~03 minutes walking distance to the beach. This part of the beach is not so crowded even during peak season, with lots of shacks, water sports etc. Approx. 05 mins walking distance to market area with all kinds of shops one needs, lots of restaurants nearby. Hotel provides 02 wheeler on hire (never used it though), swimming pool is open at mid-night too. Reception staff always helpful, overall staff are quite friendly and ready to help, special mention to reception for Ms Clitta and all.

That;s about it. Next week visiting this resort for the 03rd time, hope the experience would be fantastic as usual.

Suggestion : Accepting card payments would be good, though the resort have secured parking space, last 02 times the parking was full of construction materials etc, a more clean parking place would be good (also as it is the main entrance to the resort)

If you are looking for a budget resort, travelling with family, need an excellent location, you may try this resort once... won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Superior a/c room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongDrive111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in DJR for 4 nights in nov and I must say the experience was delightful. Beach is really 3-5 mins walk as promised and the location is very nice. The best thing for me was very neatly maintained rooms and serene ambience. Highly recommended if u r looking for a budget hotel. Definitely coming back whenever I visit goa next.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Anuragdwivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It was a great experience with Dona Julia Resort, location/accommodation was very good, staff is very cooperative. Good place to stay in Calangute-Goa which centrally located with pleasant environment and access to beaches.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Mukesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Goa wouldn't be the same if I didn't stay at the Dona Julia.
The staff are friendly and welcoming and would do anything you ask of them. Nothing is too much trouble.
The pool is cleaned regularly.
The location is perfect.
Great value for money.
What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jogirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I suggest everyone to visit hotel when you go along with families/couple. I always felt very safe in this location. and this is the budget hotel to stay in Goa, when i go with Family. This is one of the best hotel around calangute area with reasonable price.

1. Best Location with colorful rooms, Swimming pool
2. Nice Maintenance
3. Nice and Friendly Staff

I would like to come back here again and again when i visit GOA.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Durga Vara Pras... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I wanted a budget hotel for Goa and going by the reviews, I went for Dona Julia and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is in-expensive and great place to live in. The Calangute beach is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The swimming pool is clean and nice. The staff is really friendly and helpful and you can ask them anything about Goa and they will be happy to help.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank montylee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#49 of 119 in Calangute
372 reviews
0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#105 of 119 in Calangute
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 119 in Calangute
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#97 of 119 in Calangute
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#28 of 119 in Calangute
125 reviews
1 mi away
La Vie Woods
La Vie Woods
#1 of 224 in Calangute
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Julia

Address: Gaura Waddo Holiday Street | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range: $34 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dona Julia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 minute walk to the beach - swimming pool (please carry appropriate swimwear) -Garden bar serving your desired beverages - bed & breakfast service available - self-contained rooms (attached bath & balcony) - air conditioned & non-air conditioned rooms - refrigerator, TV & intercom phone in all rooms - mini pantry facility in deluxe rooms - 24 hour hot / cold water - situated in lush green surroundings - parking facility - laundry service - doctor on call ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Dona Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Julia Hotel Calangute
Dona Julia Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing