We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as the first time round, but would stay again!”
Review of So My Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
So My Resort
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not as good as the first time round, but would stay again!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our second time staying here. Our reason for returning was that we knew what we were getting, and was better than some places my mum had previously stayed in. I must admit that it wasn't as good as the previous year. The staff were not happy due to a new management team. This resulted in them not being half as friendly or attentive as the previous year. All the cups in the morning had massive chips and cracks in them, but some guy left us his cups he bought out there for us which was lucky for us! The Russians ruined a few of the folks holidays round the pool, but i must admit we never heard them or had any run ins with them. We stayed in room Q10 and our key was actually a screw driver! Same standard as last year, however 2 plates and cups stayed on the floor out side our room door and got moved after nearly 2 and a half weeks!! We find that this hotel does us fine and probably would stay again when we return to Goa.Other people we met there had found other luxurious hotels but they all had something missing that the somy had and that was a good sized pool! The pool is one of the best you will find in and around this area, and since my other half isn't a fan of the beach it did us fine :) Around the corner from the hotel is the cricketers bar where Abhi and his team work. It has free Wifi so we had a drink here most days to make use of this (it works faster in the afternoon). Also there is a restaurant called the spice rack which is well worth a shout!!! Please remember this is India and the standard here is pretty standard of what you'll get unless you pay a fortune for something far better!! Anyway Goa itself is FANTASTIC and I hope you love it as much as we do :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chimene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    141
    79
    17
    39
See reviews for
82
156
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were getting quite worried by reviews wrote about this place as it was our first trip to goa, although we had researched almost obsessively! We needn't have worried we settled in to the goan way as soon as we arrived. The somy resort is in our opinion a great base for exploring goa, we used the room mainly for sleeping and washing and occasionally used the lovely clean pool area. The rooms are very basic and dated but lots of space and cleaned daily if you want, the thing that makes the resort is the staff... They are all lovely and very helpful if your polite to them they will do there best to please you. It is basic and not for everyone but for us a great place in great location we would stay here again no problems at all! Food is not brilliant, good for snacks, but plenty of great places within walking distance. Taxi boys outside hotel all good too, ask for rock, lovely bloke. Abhis 24 hour bar the cricketers over the road is great for a beer at anytime, he's always got a friendly smile for anyone, wifi also available. Eating places we recommend are: after7, chef soumens, calangute and Jamie's in baga...top food more expensive than others but still cheap compared to home. Happy holidays

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

standard room 1 out of ten
staff 8 out of ten
pool area 9out of ten

this hotel is indian basic and not the ritz , you only get what you pay for, if you want clean luxury you will need to dig deeper into your pockets

Room Tip: look at reviews before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I read many reviews before I arrived at this hotel. 1.30 in the morning we arrived to a musty smelling but clean room( first hotel room We had ever seen in India) next morning our fully air conditioned two roomed accommodation looked better in the daylight. The bathroom was very clean and fresh linen and towels were given every day. I am recovering from a road accident and so sleep is difficult but despite being firm I found the beds wonderful for me. The pool area is surrounded by the hotel on three sides and trees and shrubs on the other. Other guests commented that this allowed a cooling breeze that many other hotels didn't offer. Breakfast was taken by the pool and if you took the time to speak to the staff and not summon them like many rude guests did they were very helpful. Two eggs garnished with chopped tomato and red onion served with toast was my choice most mornings.
My wife took advantage of the excellent massage, manicure and pedicure service offered at a ridiculously cheap price.

OK that's the good now for the bad summed up in one word RUSSIANS.......

Quite the rudest people you could ever meet. They spend their evenings eating dominos pizza bought from the local branch and drinking booze also bought off site. Next morning glasses bottles and food was all over the place. This was cleared away by the very annoyed pool staff .Smashed bottles were cleared away too. The problem is the Indian government like the Turkish , Cypriot and Egyptian ones before are welcoming these people with open arms unaware of what problems their fellow governments have let themselves in for. They treat the hotel staff terribly and NEVER leave a tip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank channiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were 3 couples (all vegetarian, I being an eggitarian) stayed here. The receptionist initially told us that there were only a few rooms left as there was a 25 rooms already reserved for some foreigners visiting the next day, but after 5 min of scanning the occupancy register they finally agreed to give us 3 rooms but all in different blocks. She told us that the rooms cost 3500 and without our bargaining she agreed to give us in 2600 for 3days. Check-in and check-out was 12noon. We were luckier to reach the hotel at sharp 11:50 am and checked-out at 11:50 am sharp.

The rooms were bigger than expected. Those were 1BHK flats with 2 balconies facing the pool and main road on the right, the Kitchen was of no use, we hardly used the living room. In the age of plasmas and LCDs their TV was the age-old regular one with analog cable connection which was non-watchable because of the poor reception. Room has a geyser with 24hr water supply and no timing restrictions for hot water though was not needed as we stayed in March (1st to 4th). Pool was always full of big bellied foreign (non-Indian) senior citizens, so we could not dare go in on anyday;). Breakfast was nothing extraordinary (regular egg omlette-bread-butter-toast-jam-tea-cofee with dips), breakfast timings are 7:30am to 10:30am.

Nearby: General store, HDFC ATM just opp hotel, Veg. restaurant Shri Kirshna (pathetic service with averge food) attached to the same building, Calangute beach (less than a km away), Club cabana (15mins far by bike).

Room Tip: Bugdet hotel if you are planning to be away the whole day and coming back to only sleep at night. Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pranavgangani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lets be straight up here - This is "budget" accomodation - There's no denying that - The place is typical cheap indian accomodation . The staff work incredibly long hours are incredibly friendly and helpful - The "resort" is on the main road between Calangute and Candolimn - there are plenty of bars eateries and shops within walking distance. For 100 rupees in a tuc-tuc or 5rupees on a bus you can be in Calangute centre .150 or 10 to Candolimn. The rooms are dated no doubt . But our towels and bedding were clean and towels were changed every day bedding once a week - This is not Europe - Don't expect european hotel standards. Be realistic.Have a great stay. We did,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewcastleStavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were only able to stay in this hotel after upgrading our room at the cost of £65. The first room we were shown to was beyond basic - no lightshades, just bare bulbs. We were moved to a room overlooking the pool. The hotel itself is adequate for a cheap fortnight in the sun.Be sure you get down early to book a sunbed though! We ate quite often in the restaurant or by the pool and had no problems. However rats were spotted on two separate occasions! One of our fellow guests ended up in hospital twice. The room was cleaned and fresh towels and bedding provided whenever you wished. However the word cleaned is an euphemism. The glasses weren't cleaned once during the 2 weeks we were there and the bathroom sink was only cleaned sporadically. I returned to the room early one day to find the cleaners sitting on chairs, watching TV. I have never seen 2 boys move so fast! Reception let us down when we asked for a wake up call - we were being picked up at 5.30. Still waiting for the call! There wasn't even anyone awake when I handed in our key - they were all asleep on the floor and I had to climb over them.
Would we stay here again? The answer is no, but then we wouldn't go back to Goa. Too noisy and stressful for us - you take your life into your hands when crossing the road. Dirt cheap though!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an upgrade. Best rooms are at the side of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Svea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.0 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#49 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santiago Beach Resort
Santiago Beach Resort
#23 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#27 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#14 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#6 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to So My Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about So My Resort

Property: So My Resort
Address: Naika Vaddo | Calangute-Candolim road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — So My Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your So My Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somy Hotel Calangute
So My Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing