We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the madding crowd”
Review of Palmarinha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palmarinha Resort
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Away from the madding crowd”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We have been comming to Goa since 2000 and this was our fourth visit to this hotel. Previosly we stayed at the Osborne but got tired of the majority of staff allways looking for tips and giving us a sob story. The Palmarinha is a totally different atmosphere. The staff attitude is tip them at the end if we have done a good job. and believe me they do. From the welcoming smiles, hot towels and welcome drink when you check in, reasonable exchange rate, service from the room boy, and the head Waiter Diago with the constant smile and all the others, who are all genuine and friendly. The room are reasonably spacious with fridge, sat TV with english speaking channels including HBO, Balcony, good air con and fan and decent shower room with.pretty near constant hot water. It might seem daft but the toilets allways flush on demand which can be a problem at other hotels we have stayed at. They are cleaned every day thoroughly. The laundry service is brilliant with shirts comming back clean and pressed and folded so sharpley you could cut yourself on the creases. The food in the restuarant is very reasonably priced. Breakfast a choice of fruit, cereal, toast, fried eggs or omlette with a choice of fillings cooked to order, endless fruit juice tea and coffee; plenty to fill you up at the beginning of the day. Bacon and sausages and beans are available at a small extra cost. Lunches snacks are OK with a bookmaker steak baggette with fries about 200 r/-.(£2.90). Evening meals are reasonably priced and good quality. They also cook to order things that arn't on the menu, such as beef curry or chicken korma which with rice and naan came to about 600 r/- for the two of us. Try the pork chops or the beef assado, but every thing is ok. If you dont want it too spicy then just ask and if you dont like it you dont pay. Entertainment is ok with the grill nights being good. Just remember its a BBQ and the meat might get overcooked a little. The pool boy Raj does a spectactular fire dance soits not just the currys that are hot! As for helpfullness from the hotel staff if something goes wrong here are a couple of examples. Thje first time we stayed here we had room 51 just behind receptionwhich was noisy in the extremeand after two nights of this we had had enough. at a polite request the house manager came and knocked on our door, appologised and escorted us to another room which was better on an upper floor at the end of a corridor and away from the road. 5 minutes later the room boys wer at the door and moved all our belongings and after about half an hour later the manager was back asking if there was anythin else we needed and if we were totally happy with the room. Stunning service!!! Another occasion occurred when the wife had a fish bone lodge in her throat when she had a meal at our favourite shack. Prompt first aid with dried bread and bananas dislodged it but she was still feeling a bit sore so back to the hotel and call a doctor which the lovely girl at reception sorted. advice was to get her checked at a hospital which again she called, then she got a taxi driver of the rank outside who took us to the hospital in Mapsa about ten miles away, waited with us for the doctor, took us to aniother emergency hospital for an x ray, waited with usfor them to be developed and back to the specialist who had come in from his evening meal to see us. Thankfully it had been dislodged and had just left the throut very sore so pain killers and anti biotics and back to the hotel. All done in four hours! The cost including taxi fares, waiting time, 2 digital colour x-rays, doctors fees and medication came to £28 including a sizeable tipto the driver. That was service so far above and beyond it got us hooked with this hotel. I also noted the last reviewer mention his wife suffered from night mares with malaria tablets. We found over the years if you take them at breakfast you dont get them. On the health side The hotel spa offer a brilliant range of theraputic massages we had a full body one with special ayurvedic pain relief therapy that lasted an hour and 40minutes for 900 r/- (about £12) and it worked no back or joint pain and we have been home for two weeks.
Shacks the best ones we have found are S2 at Ashwem/Morjim or Dunes at Mandrem. There are both an £800 taxi ride and normally an all day stay for the driver. the foodat both of these is cheapand reasonable and neither permit beach hawkers to bother the guests.
Restuarants for eating out Soumyens kitchen is up market for Goa but you can get a very good steak. Having said that I had two on the trot in the same evening tiurn out rough but a polite complaint about the old Indian cow that had been in the sun too long rsulted in no charhge being made. Fiesta is good for itallian. Souza Lobo is ok for cheap nosh quality is as a good workers cafe in the uk- totally acceptable and good quantity. For snacks ther are a couple near the Lu Ma suppermarket in Calungute, Maples and Babuttes which both are street side cafes and do good all day breakfasts.
Out and about we use Day Tripper for trips, run by an english guy, Eddie Forster. Much better value than the reps and better organised. The spice farm and elephant interaction is a good all in one day trip, white water rafting at Dandeli in the next state is a real hard core adventure with the journey absolutley mad but fun. Hampi is a good one for a three day two night job with a 9hour return train journey thrown in. And for tigers do the tiger and tusker which is a three day two night with train and minibus and visits an elephant sanctuary and tiger and lion sanctuaryTons of interaction with jumbo and tiger spotting close up is guarenteed with fabtastic photo ops.
Just a quick point on getting there and getting home. Do the health screening forms before you go and fill in the immigration forms properly on the plane before landing. it saves a lot of time for yourself and those in the que behind you. After going through customs the first time traveller is assaulted by porters trying to take your bags. best advise is to let them butmake sureyou know which coach you are supposed to be getting on. the pavement outside the airport is pretty rough and with the crowds you can easily turn an ankle and for two quid a bag after a long flight and an hour or more in a sweaty airportits worth it. If any hawkers come up to you a polite but firm no thankyou works fine. On the way back you dont need a porter its easy 15 m walk on good tarmac. And after checkin but before you go through passport control and security there is a decent restuarant where you can get a good breakfast so keep about 400r/- each for this. There is also a half decent book shop and souvenier shop in the same area. get in the que for immigration and security about one hour to one and a half hours before departure as this can take some time especially if you havnt filled the forms in properly
Thjere is duty freeshops ( ciggarettes on offer about 50P per pack) and a small snack bar for tee cofee and bottled water. The made up snacks are a bit rough. One final thing. If you are taking any booze bought in Goa home put it in your checked in luggage as ALL liquids and gigarettes lighters in had luggage or on your person will be confiscated.
Hpe any one reading this has a good time

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daddycoolKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    215
    109
    48
    49
See reviews for
154
219
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I stayed at The Palmarinha with my fair lady in the last week of November and we had a really lovely time- it's a bit further from the beach than the other hotels but we took this as a plus point since the ones in the town centre were amid hustle and bustle where there seemed to be no peace and quiet at any time of the day or night. It's a taxi ride to the beach or centres but there are drivers (like our friend Adnam) outside the gate at all times and it's only a 2 pound journey in.

We didn't spend much time at the hotel but the time we did spend there was comfortable, and we found the staff very friendly indeed. Bedrooms were cleaned every day and the public areas were spotless (although I did have an interesting run in with 3 cockroaches on the first night, coming out victorious and looking very brave in front of the mrs!)

We would have recommended the beach at Baga for the day and evening meal since the shacks are relaxed, friendly and good to booze at whilst the sea comes in past your table, over your feet in the evening. That said we got a taxi out to Ashwem beach for the final 3 days and this is definitely in my top 10 world beaches as it is less populated than the more touristy ones- the driver will take you there and back (and wait in the car for you all day) for about a tenner and the S2 shack is mint for fresh fish, vindaloo and chilling out.

In all, we picked this hotel because it seemed the best value for money and we like to think we made the best choice- as a twenty something couple (except for me who may possibly be 31 that is) we had all the fun we wanted, felt safe and had a really enjoyable time. We highly recommend Goa and Palmarinha to all as close enough to the action but far enough away to provide a retreat from the daytime beach frolics.

Ben and Aimee

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BandANottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2009

It was with a little hesitation that we booked a weekend here...but I have to admit, I was completely won over by the place!! It is a nice resort tucked away far from the noise and bustle of commercial beach areas, in the paddy fields. It also had all the facilities one needs like sparkling pools(for kids too), gym, table tennis, pool table and a nice restaurant. Breakfast was nice too, but the best part was the staff and service...friendly and always smiling. Made up my mind to visit every year!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raj_09NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We stayed here from 20/11 - 12/12 and it was just perfect. 3 swimming pools and a kids pool which my daughter was never out of, lovely gardens and surroundings. We had room 55 on the ground floor facing the pool and it was spacious and spotless and nice to sit on the balcony with a few honeybees when my daughter was asleep! The only criticism my wife had was that we were too close to the dining room/kitchens and it was noisy in the morning. This didn't bother me or my daughter but my wife was having nightmares from the side effects of the anti-malaria tablets so wasn't sleeping too well initially.
The bar staff staff, room boys, pool mand and gardening ladies are all amazing and so helpful and friendly and the security guards Cartick (daytime) and the infamous Bengal Tiger (night duty) are legends in their own lifetime. We had a great filling breakfast everyday and as we usuallly only use the hotel as a base the few evening meals and afternoon lunches that we did have were also very delicious. I was concerned at first about the location of the hotel to Calangute but it was only a 15 - 20 minute walk which was fine at the back of the hotel through the fields but slightly too busy at the front to walk with my 5 year old daughter.Overall it was an amzing 3 weeks in Goa again helped by staying in a well run, clean and very friendly hotel and I would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay just a bit away from the hustele and bustle of Calangute. Frank Liverpool

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STALEXLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

From our arrival at the hotel to our departure two weeks later we could not find a single criticism of the hotel,staff or facilities. The hotel is situated approx 15 min walk from the beach / centre of calangute. Courtesy bus or taxis available. This suited us for a nice relaxing holiday by one of the 3 pools provided but still not far from the centre. The staff could not do enough for you. Special mention for Diago (restaurant) Raj (towel boy) and housekeepers for most amazing towel displays (daily). Rooms were kept spotless. Some level of entertainment was provided in the evenings if you did not want to go out. All in all we would not hesitate in returning to the PALMARINHA. Forgot to mention the BENGAL TIGER security men. 12 hour shifts seven days a week but always a smile and a handshake

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JACKEITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Palmarinha resort was everything I thought it would be. The staff was very friendly right from before the accommodation till after we left. All our requirements were taken care of in a very professional manner. Very good co-ordination among the staff. We felt as if we knew the staff even before we met. Rooms were very good and our custom decorations were very beautiful. Dinner arrangement (for our honeymoon special nite) was spectacular. Food was superb. Drinks very well prepared. Staff were very courteous. All the surprises I had planned for my wife were done to perfection. Thanks a lot to everyone that made our trip memorable. We felt at home. Nice honeymoon place. A bit away from all the traffic, commotion and hubbub yet a walk away from all the activity. Already feeling all nostalgic about this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romcupl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2009

i stayed in palmarinha in oct 09. i am a goan settled in abroad,,, been with my wife der
was realy lovely staying in palmarinha.... as the reception people are really nice... there was always smile on their faces.. liked the room very much but was very upset with the food n the service boys... as they never smiled.. except digo was very kind...
breakfast was repeat everyday,,,, poor quality of food but no problem as there are many restaurants in calangute...
special thanks to little girl sneha for smiling everyday & n tall fair manager at thr reception( dont know his name properly but he bes on the reception all time) and paul and not forgeting digo.. you guys made me feel home

thanks and best of luck
MRS FERNANDES X2

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baby4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gocal99, owner at Palmarinha Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2009
dear guest....
Indeed !! our pleasure to have had you stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, we will endeavour to do our best and try & cater to all needs of our guest.
Thanks you very much....and see you again in Palmarinha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.8 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#28 of 110 in Calangute
237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#26 of 110 in Calangute
285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#14 of 110 in Calangute
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#47 of 110 in Calangute
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#7 of 110 in Calangute
541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#40 of 110 in Calangute
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmarinha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmarinha Resort

Property: Palmarinha Resort
Address: | Porbavaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#9 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#11 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmarinha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palmarinha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmarinha Resort Calangute
Palmarinha Hotel Calangute
Palmarinha Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing