We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Palmarinha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palmarinha Resort
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have just come back from Gorgeous Goa after staying in this hotel fro a fortnight. As we were in Goa before Christmas we went to the hotel to check it out as we had booked it without checking the reviews. All seemed well and I asked for a room on the first floor, preferably a quiet one. On arrival on 3 Jan we had been put in what must have been the dirtiest grottiest room they had on the 4 floor (418). There was 2 bottles of water in the fridge - refilled, no labels and no seals, no way were we touching that! Next morning we asked to be moved and were to a second floor pool facing room, which was a lovely room, clean and spacious - with 2 bottles of sealed water in the fridge. Babu kept our room lovely and clean. For the first 2 days we never seemed to time our showers right, always getting just lukewarm water, so after speaking to the manager we were told hot water is available 24 hours, so there was obviously a problem. Maintenance came up and fixed it that night. The hottest water we have ever had in Goa for the rest of the holiday. Brilliant.

The T.V had english channels with at least 2 showing films in the evening if you wanted to have an early night in.

We were unable to sit on the balcony most nights because of the pigeons, the hotel obviously has a problem as they were on our balcony making a mess and building a nest in the light Although on one evening we just wanted to sit there and watch the entertainment so housekeeping came over and cleaned the balcony for us. There was never an issue with them.

The entertainment was typically goan, but having eaten one meal at the hotel's grill night we decided it was enough. The breakfasts are average. not a lot of choice but eggs cooked to order daily, cornflakes and toast. Dinner, well the best I can say is you can buy a meal for less than half the price which is of much better standard and quality, If you don't want to eat too far away, walk to curries. Less than five minutes walk from the hotel, the food was lovely, the staff attentive without being in your face and the owner will always ensure you have a good experience. It is beautiful so much that when we return in March (stayin in Baga) we will be back. Why not Tashi is another restaurant within a short walk, this is also a very nice restaurant, but if you go later on or on a quiz night, bingo night, you will have a wait. It is good entertainment and worth the wait - my husband loved their fish and chips with real mushy peas!

Anyway, I digress, The hotel is cheap and you get what you pay for. The staff seem to have difficulty in understanding English, although you think they understand. The safes are only accessible between 9am and 9pm, so if you are planning on going out early and back late the night before it could be an issue. You also need to supply your own padlock. The shuttle bus to the beach is small and often people had to wait for a second trip. It goes into Calangute every hour between 9 - 12 then stops until 3 - 5 . There is no return journey, although you will be told they are available on request, I think they forget to tell the driver and the bus only goes into Calangue if someone is leaving the hotel. A tuk tuk will cost you100Rs from Calangute, as will most taxis but the taxis outside the hotel are charging more. There is a price list up in reception so check it before you use them.

All in all a clean budget hotel worth what we paid. A bit out of the way but only a short taxi ride or a nice walk away from the hustle and bustle, so could be quiet in an evening.

Room Tip: Although the hotel said the rooms facing the paddy fields were quieter, we found them quite noisy du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    215
    109
    48
    49
See reviews for
154
219
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights during the xmas holidays in 2013. 3 families (with kids) occupying 3 rooms.
First, the location - unlike many other hotels, it is away from the beach, you need to have your own vehicle to go out anywhere. Its about 2 kms from the busy Calangute beach.
Rooms - are ok. Spacious even with the extra bed and probably this is only good thing about this hotel.
Room service, cleanliness etc - just ok. Since we went during a jam pack season - we had to wait tolerantly for the room service and housekeeping guys to turn up.
Food - really bad. Extremely bad spread for breakfast. Worse for vegetarian - need to be happy with bread and omlette and for that too pl. be ready to stand in long queues.
xmas eve party - there was so much of hype about this, but it turned out to be quite a disaster, bad music (may be the foreigners enjoy it). They charged a bomb and had just 1 option for the Veg and when we yelled at the manager, he himself went and got some stuff for us.
Overall ambience, pool etc - this place has long stay flats (proper homes) also and hence some blocks are poorly maintained.
The nail in the coffin was the food poisoning that many of us had on the last night. I gave a written complaint which the front desk staff said that they will get it investigated. And we were not the only ones with this issue...so be careful.
For the price they have on their website - dont even look at it. Try this only if you get 30-40% discount (bcos its not worth more) and that too when no options left...

Room Tip: If you want privacy - ask for a room facing the back side pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SatBang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

On check in no drinking water was provided in the room. On asking they said drinking water is provided after 8 pm...though during my 5 days stay never was that done..I bought water botttles from outside. Not only this , on check-in , drinking water was provided in room after 3 hours that tooo after asking for it thrice and yelling at them..reception and room service give stupid answer for every delay, most common is staff is busy...god knows what the staff is busy in if not in attending the guests. once I asked for 3 cups of tea, the waiter bought just one to the room but gave me a billl of 3..when the rest 2 cups didn't arrive even after 30min, I had to go down to the restaurant, this was despite calling them twice n again the same reply, waiters are busy. On check out they don't even help with luggage. ..over all pathetic in hospitality..They don't even deserve one star

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_to_Taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel, is yes not in the throng of Calngute, but a short Taxi or Scooter Hire away..The middle of Baga Beach is less busy, and Ashwem, Morjim,is within a Taxi journey..

Right the Hotel is absolutely great, we had a great room, a great warm reception and a surprise Birthday greeting from the Hotel. The place is clean, the service is attended to, and the multitude of languages the staff get requests in, are met with help and courtesy. The room has a fridge, a mini bar, still reasonable prices ( small tax added ). The breakfast caters for Indian and western appetites, or both. The cereal, fruit juices, and tea, both normal, and chai, and of course coffee, and hot and cold milks. Service and waiters are there to please. There is a great kitchen staff, who do cook extras that are shown with a price on a chalk board ie ( Nutella Pancakes, Fruit Salads, yogurts and/or anything cooked, like certain foods from your own country ). The eggs are included with the Breakfast at no extra charge, and can be requested to be cooked how you like, as it is done in front of you in the restaurant, on gas and Guerridon Service .. So it's Omelettes, again Indian with all the spice, or just plain, or a pinch of whatever combination you would like added. Scrambled eggs are easily made, poached, hard boiled, etc etc...The toast machine keeps churning out the hot toast, the butter is on ice, and the Jam and Marmalade a plenty.. The Indian choice breakfast is interesting, ranges from home made Hash Browns,or Puri, or a mild curried type potatoes, and as you help yourself why not try a bit of all..
Our room and how often we wanted it cleaned and replenished with fresh towels, including changing the bed sheets (every other day), was also down to us on how regular you wanted house keeping to come in, by way of a do not disturb sign..The balconies are nice, again cleaned down. Any extra attention to detail if needed is always addressed when asked about. I have stayed all over India and I was pleasantly surprised how well the Hotel ran..There is a BBQ and some entertainment on certain nights, and they are ticketed..The evening food menu is reasonable, so a main meal £2-£3, but there are loads of restaurants within 5 -10mins some cheaper, some exotic and even gastronomy standard ( at a price ).. The pools are clean, and are maintained, a main pool ( with baby bit too ) and a smaller one around on the rural side of the hotel. Excellent for relaxing as a waiter will walk round and wait for a signal, unlike Hotels that constantly ask/pester you to buy. If you charge food, drinks to your room, it is the same as room service, ie a small charge and Tax on top ( this can cause confusion ). The pool was open from Sun Up, BUT ONLY UNTIL 7.30pm. Strictly enforced, as this becomes a danger, due to drinking etc. There are games of Water Polo in the front pool, there is a games room, free to use and well equipped. This type of Package Tour or otherwise can have the Reps being overly involved, with entertainment, games, music and drinking, this Hotel is the Opposite, the rep comes and greets just the once, he gives a leaflet with tours ( I objected to the SLUM DOG MILLIONAIRE EXPERIENCE' but the Waterfalls, or Hampi, etc are competitively priced.. On the Palmarinha complex there is a Tailors, who will make, adjust, and will haggle fairly. A jewellers ( again haggle and shop around ). Also very useful is a lady onsite who rents Scooters, and sells fuel in litres ( 20p more than the garage, normal in Goa ), the Scooter is the going rate in Goa, £3.00 a day 300rps, if you take for longer, then a haggle to £2.50 is achievable.. Remember the taxi's outside, are separate to the hotel, ( its important to agree the price with them before hand, to not be intimidated by them, they are a lively lot all over India ). Why not share with other guests...The Hotel has a running Shuttle to take you to the Beach, and it will collect, ( it is a small mini bus, FREE so is very popular ). When you check out, often you may need to rent the room for half a day until your later pick up and flight. This isn't a must, but it is cheap and alternatively the Hotel will lock away your luggage for saftey to allow you freedom on your last day, either by the pool, or last minute shopping...
The price of this Hotel is so reasonable, it is safe and has security ( tuff ). The pick up at the AIRPORT is a godsend, and the return for homeward bound flights are fed to you via a Chalk Board in the Games/Info room. I simply relaxed at this Hotel, I slept well, the AC worked, the fan was ample. I am not long back from a 12 day visit with my partner. Breakfast included was a bonus, and eating inside or outside was great. Onsite is a Spa, it offers Goan treatments, Ayurverdic medicinal treatments, a steam room. The prices were very reasonable, £13 for an Hour body massage, and a little chat will get you a discount im sure, or at least a free half hr in the steam room..So there were no green swimming pools ( as I read in a review before ), no ants in the room, and actually very little insects, and I wasn't bitten, which is a bonus ( it is Asia after all). a 3* Hotel. Just remember, what is it you expect for your money???, a kettle is a small extra charge, and the large 5ltre Water was 10p more if bought in the Hotel, so that stops you having to carry it for one.. The receptionists will aid you with whatever they can, Internet- WIFI is 100rps for 1 Hr and available only in the library type room, its handy but there are plenty of free Wifi bars/restaurants..There is the ability to phone the UK or any country and it is clearly displayed how much you are spending ( digital clock ). A local call is usually possible via reception and usually free, or maybe a small tip... I give this 9/10...I was pleasantly surprised..
Great place, would visit again...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ritch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Arrived Goa Dabolim at 1100hrs, took the local Taxi service, do use the Taxi office straight across from the Terminal exit, the cost was 900inr (£9). At the Resort offered room 401, fourth floor overlooking the pool, we like the quieter side, the north overlooking the Paddy. The request to move was carried out the following lunchtime, to 318 very pleased. (See room tips)

The resort is moving forward, new solar heating meant scalding water at least in the North wing. Fridges, TV`s, and Sun bed re upholstery all being attended to. Hopefully later reviews will mention this happening.
It is always a good idea (See the mainstream India Guides) to use the packaged water, Housekeeing do sell a 5ltr bottle for 60inr (60p) so why rough it??

Do visit the Calangute main market for fruit and Mona`s Spices (excellent value & variety) remember to ask for a Receipe leaflet.

We will return again next year.

Room Tip: Quiet, North Wing overlooking the paddy. Sunny and Busy, pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My experience to the palmarinha Hotel was not very pleasant as staff was not helpful very unprofessional and our stay was very unpleasant no hot water for 7days very poor customer services no staff communication with each other very unexperienced no customer service skills.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitakay2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Suites were clean and neat. Service at the restaurant was awful and you can expect starters to come after the main course. Breakfast was also average with options of good egg preparation from live counter.

Overall good place to stay for few days but nothing too fancy.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RainaNitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.8 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#27 of 110 in Calangute
237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#28 of 110 in Calangute
285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#14 of 110 in Calangute
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#47 of 110 in Calangute
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#7 of 110 in Calangute
541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#40 of 110 in Calangute
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmarinha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmarinha Resort

Property: Palmarinha Resort
Address: | Porbavaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#9 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#11 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmarinha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palmarinha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmarinha Resort Calangute
Palmarinha Hotel Calangute
Palmarinha Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing