We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pretty Average experience”
Review of Palmarinha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palmarinha Resort
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Pretty Average experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hello All,

Stayed in Palmarihna in Feb 2013. I found it average in fact below average in some areas. The biggest disappointment was room and overall cleanliness of the resort. There was huge cigeratte bud and smoke smell in the room. They do not have non smoking rooms. We had to open the balcony door and main door for quite some time to let the smell go away. Wall paint was off in some places in the room wall. Blanket was literaly not clean and was not usable. Fortunatley we had our own blanket so we used that. Room furniture was also average including bed quality. You can easily spot dirt in the walking areas in the resort and in the area between buildings. Also given the standard of resort, restaurant was pretty expensive. Overall point is that the standard of resort is not matching with the high price of room and restaurant and the fact that resort is bit off located. I am ok to pay higher price but in return i would expect good value which I did not feel is there in the resort. Breakfast was also just decent though. However missing options were sausages, multiple indian options like poori subji, idli, dosas, cheese for omelate etc which I had in previous resort i stayed. Swimming pool water is kept clean but you can easily see some dirt between pool floor tiles.
Though room size was pretty big. Room balcony is also pretty big which is good thing to have. Restuarant sitting area was also decent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoaLover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    215
    109
    47
    49
See reviews for
153
219
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We travelled to Goa as a party of 6 (3 couples) on 2 February and stayed for 14 nights at the Palmarinha hotel. When we arrived (around 9 am) one of the three rooms was ready. Unfortunately however the booking had not been made for one of the rooms (we booked via cosmos on a group booking). The staff were very good and asked us to go to the breakfast room have a drink and some food and to come back to reception. This we did and on our return a room had been allocated and was being cleaned.

We had all three rooms on the 4th floor (416, 425 and 427). Rooms 425 and 427 overlooked the main pool and 416 overlooked the fields at the back of the property. The rooms were quiet, clean and functional. There was a ceiling fan and A/C in each room. The bathrooms had a shower, basin and toilet and again were clean and functional. The hot water was variable as was the water pressure so if you were getting showered any time between 6 and 8 is was a lottery as to whether you would get any water and if you did whether it would be hot. If you put the shower on and just waited a few minutes it would usually start to run. Only once did we have water which was uncomfortably cold. On a number of occasions it was tepid but it was so hot outside it didn't matter.

The breakfast is fine but very limited. It consists of juice, tea/coffee, toast and either fried eggs or omlette. Other breakfast items are available, most of which come at an extra charge. We often had poached eggs and we were not charged for them.

The pool itself was clean but the pool area is dusty and quite grubby. There are bird droppings under the palm trees and whilst the area is brushed daily it wasn't hosed during our 14 day stay. The sun loungers are also in need of some tlc. They are tired and the cushions are grubby. The pool towels however were clean and the supply of them was plentiful.

In all honesty you get what you pay for and everything is relative. Compared to the surrounding areas of Calengute the hotel is very clean and well cared for. Compared to european standards it requires a lot of work. However, at £20 per night per room (including breakfast) it's hard to complain. The staff work very hard to fulfil your needs and the hotel rooms themselves are perfectly adequate. We didn't spend much time around the pool (it was far too hot) and most of the activity in Goa is on the beach so the pool area didn't impact on us at all.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening only once but the food was very good and reasonably priced.

We visited a number of friends who were staying in Goa at the same time as us and the Palmarinha was without exeption better than the other hotels. So - if you want a clean, functional hotel are a reasonable price this one is for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is a but out of town but definitely worth it. A taxi to town is only 100 rupees (don't let the taxis outside the hotel rip you off) tell them 100 take it or leave it. (The walk is only 15 minutes but a taxi will almost certainly see you walking and offer a lift.
Cangalute is not the best area - Bagga is best. But a taxi to Bagga is still only 150 Rp.
Hotels in the main areas Candolim, Calangute and Bagga are way too busy. Too close to the busy main road and not generally as nice.
Staff at Palmarinha were very good. Very keen to help. The best rooms are overlooking the fields at the back - very nice - we were in room 420.
Food is very limited in the restaurant so eat out - some great places. However, although basic the breakfast is about one of the best around there.
Would I go again - YES

Room Tip: Rooms 420, 418, 416 etc are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

First of all I must say thank you to all the staff who looked after us during our 2 week stay they bent over backwards to make sure our stay was perfect nothing was to much trouble for them, from asking for a kettle, to a hair dryer all of which were supplied.

On arrival, which was in the early hours we were checked in, and our bags taken to our rooms, which was nice as we were quite tired from the journey.

House keeping was brilliant we had a lad cleaning our room, we had clean towels every day and the room was spotless.

The restaurant staff was good as well even though there was no orange juice on show at breakfast you only had to ask and they got you some. The meals were nice and a varied choice prices were very good I know they are cheaper if you went into town but never the less very fair, our room bill for the 2 weeks inc food and drinks and mini bar came to just under £300 we were on a bed and breakfast tariff. BBQ and sizzler night was my favourite.


In and around the hotel was clean and tidy the grounds are well maintained and the pools are sparkling clean and a joy to swim in. There were always sun beds and brollies and on the off chance there wasn’t the pool boy would go and find you one.

We didn’t do as much as we would have liked to as we went to Goa for a wedding but we did go into town a few times and I can recommend the Tai restaurant in Molly Malone’s and one I did not get to but others in our party did was Le Jardin they are both on the little map you can get in the hotel.

There is a nice little walk across the fields where you can see a few animals and birds and on one occasion in the town we saw an elephant.

The Taxi driver’s are fair although some charge a little over the top compared to others but im only talking about 50p so that’s nothing really, all round cheap enough example a bottle of old monk dark rum will cost you 137 rupees about £1.50 same goes for the honeybee brandy. All in all a great stay maybe we can go again one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room 624 its at the top nice and quiet on a corner with view of fields and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davedlb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hello and thanks for reading this review. As you can see from our earlier reviews this is not the first time to Goa and not the first time to the Palmarinha Resort. First and past experience meant that my wife and I returned back to this resort as a location that we knew well and that would service our requirements whilst in Goa.

This hotel has not changed from our last visit and what I can say is that the staff were at all times happy, smiley and responsive. There was not one occasion in three weeks where we needed a cause to complain about the hotel and it's staff.

The rooms remained the same and we did send and e-mail before departure requesting a certain type of room and location - this was addressed and our request accepted and provided.

There is an earlier reviewer that has been to this resort a number of times that adds comment to the breakfast selection and the lesser and lesser of items being available. I must confirm that this is the case however on request if there are many items of food that if you need the staff will provide. Looking back to over twelve months ago there is reasoning for this and this continues to be the case in what I saw, ie PAX taking items from the breakfast room and in bulk.

There is a certain nationality that appears to forget manners - their ignorance does not tarnish the attitude and the friendliness of the staff though. We had a great time at the Palmarinha this year and although we kept ourselves private there was ample response from the staff.

Location is as ever - but Calangute out of the hotel turn right, first right and follow to the end and left is a pleasant walk now that the roads are improved. This hotel is located outside of the main hussle and bussle of the towns and is a quiet haven away from the daily buzz and madness.

The one noticeable difference this year is the increase of Russian 'guests', that did on several days choose to return back to the hotel in the early hours of the morning shouting and banging and being inconsiderate for other hotel guests. These too used the rear grassed area at the back of thee hotel to serve their own drinks and get drunk before going out, leaving empties behind. This has been a big influence on the hotels normal 'tranquil' environment.

We do really feel that the Palmarinha has all that you need for a stay in Goa and the correct team and staff that are always at hand. You will see the negative that I have referred to are not in any way directed to the hotel and its team, it's the grade of certain clients that use this resort.

Would I return - yes and all I would say is sometimes best the one you know rather than the one you don't.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank F1RNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Palmarina has mostly fantastic staff. Sadly if I mention all the negative things about its management then it will reflect on the service of the Bar, House keeping, Pool, Security & Shuttle, so I will say only this:
I stayed here 21 Jan until 5 Feb. My 2nd room was comfortable (1st was looking onto main road , too noisy)
The location a little far out but a nice walk in the daytime.
Food was nice
Bed was comfortable & room was clean
Pool at back was quieter and cooler due to breeze from fields,
Would I go back? No
My Tip......Higher management should read this site and take comments on board

Room Tip: Do not accept any room looking onto the main road, it is impossible to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5heryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 1st trip to Goa, we stayed from 13th Jan for 2 weeks.
Our initial thoughts on the Palmarihna were a bit disappointing, it looked a bit seedy from the road, the rooms were very basic however the Hotel grew on us.
We were in room 412 which faces out to the side overlooking the side road to Calangute and the main road, it was noisy obviously because of the traffic and the local dogs having a midnighy bark which is one of those things. The noise from the other residents,mostly Russian, rocking up drunk in the wee hours was a constant pain and was the one downer of the holiday.
The back swimming pool was ok, i dont think that it was treated and there was some noisy construction going on behind it, the beds got "reserved"early doors which is always a bore.
The food in the restaurant was of a good quality although more expensive than town, the service from the waiting statf was fantastic, the lads Surya, Itiod, Ashkay,Rama and Vinod and the lovely Janice, the superisors Diogo, Derek and Russ and the boss man Mr Ramee, always smiling always helpful even to rude ungrateful people.
The Breakfast was very basic, with a lot of things being extra and at a cost, even fruit which is a bit out of order.
The entertainment was a bit samey if you stay more than one week.
The location of the Hotel is great, 2 minutes by Taxi(100/150 Rupees) or 15 minute walk to Calangute, the walk, left from Hotel then left down the side of the Hotel was great, seeing the Kingfishers, Cattle Egrets, Peacocks , Woodpeckers and Cattle
The town itself is very noisy and very busy but a great experience.
Some restaurants that we would recommend, Sousa Lobo(Calangute Beach), Over the Flames, Tamarin, and The Himalaya(all in Candolim).
We did the trip to the Spice Farm for the Elephants and Spices, was great and the Waterfall, the cost was £50 each, with hindsight we would have hired a taxi for the day.
We did a day on the beach at Ashwen by taxi for the day(1000 Ruppees) this was a real highlight, very quiet and pretty.
The shacks on Candolim beach are good we used Ryans Shack, no pestering from the beach vendors allowed, the food was great the Pancake Suprise and the Onion Bhajeess were awesome.
Top Tips use the taxis not the package trips works out cheaper, Toothpaste , Suncream, Coconut Oil, Tiger Balm, King Eddy Cigars, Fags, Malaria Tablets, Dentist, Health MOT, and many other all really cheap
Overall would recommend the Palmarihna, great location, great staff, good food, good value, however some of the Russian guests were overly noisy and rude especially the the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdamG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.8 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#28 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#34 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#47 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#6 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#37 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#49 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmarinha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmarinha Resort

Property: Palmarinha Resort
Address: | Porbavaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#7 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#10 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmarinha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palmarinha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmarinha Resort Calangute
Palmarinha Hotel Calangute
Palmarinha Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing