We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PLEASANT HOTEL - CONVENIENT LOCATION”
Review of Mira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mira Hotel
Ranked #60 of 117 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed December 15, 2011

A nice, clean and cosy place in a very convenient location. Moderately priced. The staff are very firendly and very helpful - typical Goan attitude. An AC room is a must specially if you plan to check in during April, May or October. The pool, though small is clean and comfortable. Linen is not changed daily, if you do require it - request for it. A drawback is that as you enter, the rooms emit camphor odour. A walking distance to the Calangute beach and the famous Eateries Infantaria and Souza Lobo.

Room Tip: For the rack rate you can find many a hotel in the vicinity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank apintolobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 214 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

On our 4th trip to Goa (2nd this year) we stayed at the "Mira Hotel" It is a lovely little hotel very close to the centre of Calangute.The first morning we got there was 01.45 am and they gave us a poor room on the 1st floor.This was not what we asked for and a move was on at 08.30 the same morning..brill room P04 directly next to the pool.Superb,overhead fan,shower,toilet,sink payable A/C if reqd...no fridge or tea/coffee equip tho...
We had a word with Santos on reception and he had a fridge installed nxt day at a cheaper deal than they were offering...result.Santos also acts as a taxi driver and is a great help to people if they fancy a trip out.
All the people working there are very polite and helpful,even Salma the dog is a laugh.The breakfast is the only downfall with twice-done toast,but the boiled eggs are nice.
We would recommend this hotel to all but only on a ground floor level.It is a very clean place and the bed covers and towels are regularly changed...well done to all at the Mira..
Kev & Alicia from "BORO"

Room Tip: Ground floor-pool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My wife and I have been visiting Goa for many years now and have stayed at lots of different budget hotels but I have to say I think this was one of the best. We arrived early hours of the morning and were greeted by friendly smiling staff and check in was smooth and efficient. The stairwells of the hotel were spotless as were the rooms and a really nice touch were the many plants dotted around the hotel giving it a lovely tropical feel and showing the owners pride in the presentation of this lovely hotel. I'm not sure if I will ever go back to Goa because it has definately lost some of its charm in recent years and Friday to Sunday when the Indians hit the town it is mad busy making walking or riding on the roads more dangerous than usual. All that said we used Petes Shack on the beach at Candolim which is probably the best I have eaten in, proffessional clean and relaxed.We have done Goa to death now but there is something about the place that gets in to your soul so as the title says, Never say never and happy holidays.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We arrived at 2 a.m. after a long day's travelling. The coach from the airport to Hotel was so old, we were begining to wonder if we're would ever get there! Reception staff very efficient and cases rapidly taken to your rooms. We asked if we could purchase a drink to be told the bar was shut. Please note, hot, tired travellers would very much appreciate a cold drink, if only water. After all, first impressions go a long way.
Our room was hot, no air conditioning. Clean but an overpowering sense of mothballs. After 2 nights we transferred to another room with air con. Unfortunately it over looked the main street. Noisy doesn't even begin to describe it. The traffic is bedlam with constant traffic, all blowing their horns constantly ( only goes quiet between about 2 and 5) Could just about coped with this but the worst was a tree directly opposite with hundreds of crows roosting on it, squawking from about 4a.m. Add to this wild dogs fighting for their territory, you will be lucky to get more than a couple of hours sleep. This is even with the help of alcohol !

The staff are all friendly, speak very good english and make you welcome.

Breakfast consists of 2 pieces of toast with individual jam, marmalade, butter, fruit juice and 2 urns containing hot water and milk to make tea or coffee. Served from 7 till 10 a.m. Additional items can be purchased at very reasonable prices.

Meals are served in the afternoon and evening. Ate here a few times and quality and prices both quite good.

Swimming pool and area appeared clean. Only downside is only a small area for sunbeds and mostly in the shade. Used the pool a couple of times and was always quiet (apart from someone whoose knocking down a property behind) Alas, both times my eyes were very sore after. Too much chlorine maybe? Also up one corner there is a strong smell of sewage.

Rooms very basic. 2 single beds and wardrobe. 2 plastic chairs. A kettle and couple of mugs would have been nice.

Calangute itself is mayhem. The worst is the constant harranging from taxi drivers and people trying to sell you stuff. Just be firm and carry on walking.

Has been a real culture shock but grew to love the place.Would definitely go back to Goa but somewhere less commercial.

The Mira is ONLY okay if you want a low budget holiday, but please make sure before you go that you're not at the front of the hotel and you have air con, else is unbearable.

Room Tip: Avoid road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank northantshelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Not my first trip to Goa. I arrived at Mira Hotel on 17th. Nov, 11, and was initially surprised by the overwhelming smell of moth balls. I soon realized that it was to over power the smell of the bathroom and drainage. Towels were in short supply, only one per person, and not changed very often. Bedding was changed only once during my two week stay. I booked on a B & B basis, but breakfast consisted of two slices of toast, passed to me by hand {no utensils used} and the means of getting myself a cup of coffee or tea from a container full of luke warm water. Sunbeds were plentiful, as they were used very little, {the smell from the drains being unbearable}.
I was in Goa in February of this year, and had a very pleasant Holiday staying in another Hotel that cost me approx. twenty pounds more for the fortnight, and well worth it. I must say that I would not stay at Mira Hotel again free of charge.

Room Tip: This Hotel is not basic, it is inadequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 548PatriciaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Bill and Pat, Coventry / Reading some of these reviews I cant help but think there must be another Mira Hotel that I missed. The first thing I noticed on entering the room was the smell of mothballs, they were everywhere. We were to learn later that they were to mask the smell of the drains.When we went down for breakfast it was two slices of toast and luke warm coffee. We found the pool almost unuseable because of the smell of drains and smoke drifting over from nearby residents burning rubbish. Dirty towels were the norm and bed sheet changes only once in a fortnight. I could go on, but it would take to long. My advice would be, avoid this Hotel at all cost, even if it means paying a bit more. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BILLSYLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

There was 20 of us went to Calangute for my daughters wedding and 6 of us stayed at the Mira it was the best hotel out of all the others in fact another couple stayed at the Ticlo and finished up leaving their hotel and booking into ours where they were very happy after a nightmare stay at the Ticlo. Staff are friendly and very helpful and the taxi drivers out the front of the hotel were fantastic guys Vincie and Nana and Michael , we will defo go back there

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanniekevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.2 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#33 of 117 in Calangute
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#35 of 117 in Calangute
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#101 of 117 in Calangute
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#46 of 117 in Calangute
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#32 of 117 in Calangute
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#41 of 117 in Calangute
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Hotel

Address: Umta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 117 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range: $50 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Hotel Calangute
Mira Hotel Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing