We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best shacks on the whole Calangute beach”

Rudys Golden Mermaid Beach Shack
Ranked #35 of 409 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy our wide range of cocktails, shots, seafood, multi cuisine food and drinks. We organize beach barbecue, beach weddings, buffet and setup on special occasions with dj music, bonfire, fireworks and fire jugglers.
Calangute, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best shacks on the whole Calangute beach”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

One of the best shacks on the whole Calangute beach. This shack is something different.. the owner Joseph makes the stay worth it.. the shack is one of a kind.. the cottages are excellent.. something for y'all to look forward to if y'all are coming to just chill on the beach whilst having a good night. He also has his signature shot aka The Rudy's special which is mind blowing which he makes himself.. the food is really good. Its barbeque Fridays on Friday(obviously) and also on other days if requested, but its just wow! This is one place I love coming too..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SherwinPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephrodrigues, Owner at Rudys Golden Mermaid Beach Shack, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Guest, appreciate your kind words and time taken. We too enjoy guest like you and hope to have you more often with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    14
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
1 review
“Superb location with great Truly memorable experience..!!!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The aura of this place makes you feel full relaxed and getting into your own comfort zone.
I was totally amused by the rustic features and sound of sea waves at night, after a good sleep at night the morning was so fresh and beautiful, I stayed there for 3 days and enjoyed throughout with superb food and drinks, good music with superb sea view.
U won’t be tired even after spending a whole day at the same place! right from early morning breakfast to late night party...... It was the only shack kept opened for us till wee hours. the view , the up and down of sun and the flowing ocean, and the BBQ ofcourse!
Beach cottages are right on the beach and are very good and maintained well with 3-star facilities.
the owners-Joe and his wife and the staff service from Solomon was supppper-first class.
:)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank immi361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephrodrigues, Owner at Rudys Golden Mermaid Beach Shack, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us and being part of Rudy's. Appreciate your kind words and time taken. looking forward to having you again with us and enriching your experience !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BBQ / Goan Delicacy's @ It's Best... Rudy's Golden Mermaid Shack”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Absolutely amazing BBQ, the lobster was the best I've ever had. Fun place to drink too as its just like the second home to me...Great atmosphere whether you just want to relax or party all day and night...The place is run by Joe / Jyoti with diverse experience from different spheres of life...
Must visit place if you are in Calangute... Rudy's shack has also started with the unique concept of "Beach Huts" the only at calangute stretch which every one should try out without fail.. Cheers !!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anish_kadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephrodrigues, Owner at Rudys Golden Mermaid Beach Shack, responded to this review, January 15, 2016
Dear Guest

Thankyou for your valuable time and kind words. We love to serve and make the guest holiday memorable and are really satisfied to hear of happy experiences. Thankyou for your regular visits and hoping to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Nice play to stay and Party :) :)”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Beach cottage is very good and maintained well. The shack is completely towards the beach. Well treated and tasty food. Rudy Shot is must try

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anoop C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephrodrigues, Owner at Rudys Golden Mermaid Beach Shack, responded to this review, January 15, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for valuable time and kind words and recommendation. Looking forward to having you with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, great food and service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great atmosphere whether you just want to relax or party all day and night. The food is excellent, we tried various meals and snacks over a number of weeks and still find different ones each time we visit to whet our appetite. We have never had cause for complaint on any front and the staff are always eager to help, but not in your face as on many other shacks in the area.
Rudy's is run for the guests enjoyment, pure and simple and this resonates from the owners-Joe and his wife whom we cannot praise them and the staff enough.
Thanks again and we will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ASA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephrodrigues, Owner at Rudys Golden Mermaid Beach Shack, responded to this review, January 15, 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable time and great praises. Your kind word do touch us and keeps our purpose going and spirits high!! This place is purely by the people and we boost of our regular kind and supporting guests. We look forward to having you this year and giving us the opportunity to serve you better and add to your memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudys Golden Mermaid Beach Shack also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Rudys Golden Mermaid Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing