We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst travel experience ever. Terrible unethical service; food had bugs and gave me stomach ache; leaking ceiling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 119 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Firstly... Terrible food. There was a bug in my food the first day i stayed. food is stale. Even toast isn't fresh. I got attracted to this place by the reasonable price and photos on google but its a farce. Place stinks of pee and is terribly unclean. They charge extra for everything so they make up for the so called reasonable price. The first night we stayed there the room in my parents ceiling was leaking with dirty brown
water. We asked them repeatedly for a change and they gave us one on the third day after repeated pestering. On several occasions we had showdowns with the staff who are rude unaccomodating and unethical. Would advise all to avoid this place and not ruin your experience of a place as amazing as goa

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kritika_saxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,482 - 1,488 of 1,960 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

we stayed other to seven nights and 8 days but wot Hall gave us complimentary is just a small cup of schezwan sauce Thats It and it was disappointing that u cudnt gave us a bottle of water at least as a complimentary keep bit n mind it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavitachauhan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I visited Goa in mansoon, July and stayed with estrela do mar for 3 nights. It was a wonderful experience. The location is good just near to calanguate beach. Food is best the catering is also good. A fine orchestra played in the evening. Rooms are best and service is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satish U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Though I stayed last year as well the rates I still get online are far better than what I was offered directly so I guess no point in direct booking and I guess u should improve on your night room service quality,food is ok but I guess u should have night staff to improve.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raoritesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here from 31st December till 4th January. The room was ok. It was clean but the shower in my bathroom didnt even have hot water. When we complained they tried to fix it but never actually happend. Luckly we had the family room wich had 2 bathrooms so we had to use the other shower. The staff were ok. Its an ok hotel if ur on a budget. The food was nice and breakfast was good aswell. The location is good. You walk 5 minutes and you have everything close by.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yasmin13388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

that was awesome experience in Estrela do mar resort.we have found this on internet and though good to stay and it was awesome when we reached at Estrela. Good Healthy breakfast... clean rooms... service was excellent.. Prices are bit expensive but we got great deal. Overall we had superb experience in Estrela.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankithonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hi.. I had been to the property in the first week of July of 2013 with my family.. Its a good place for couples and family.....

Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort is located very close to the beach; about 5 minutes walk from the room. you can spend time in the beach area near the hotel for privacy or walk towards calangut or Baga. Avoid walking to the hotel from the beach side after 10 as it may be risky due to the dark.. I didn't tried that…

Hiring bike or car service is also convenient as there are many people waiting just at the gate of the hotel.... Rooms are well designed and clean....

One suggestion to the hotel would be on the breakfast timings- If it can be extended till noon :)

The place is a value for money... Loved the time spent there.

Room Tip: if booking for the luxury rooms go for the one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NINADKPATIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.4 mi away
Santiago Beach Resort
Santiago Beach Resort
#27 of 119 in Calangute
405 reviews
1.2 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 119 in Calangute
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 119 in Calangute
566 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#8 of 119 in Calangute
628 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 11 in Dona Paula
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Address: Khobra Vaddo | road opp to Our Lady of Piety Chapel, Khobra Vaddo, Bang on the Beach, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#9 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $79 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beach, at Estrela, your presence is celebrated, your individuality recognized and your tastes remembered. Our staff pampers you with impeccable service and showers you with undivided attention. The spotlight is always on you and your needs. This unconventional approach is the reason why your experience at our hotels and resorts is always full of champagne moments and sweet memories. Come, get used to stardom! The bright, cozy rooms, Swiss cottages & luxurious sea view cottages feature satellite TVs, minibar, hair dryer, electronic safe, tea-coffee maker, etc as well as DVD sets in some rooms. Free Wi-Fi in all our restaurants. Most of the rooms feature private balconies. Swiss chalet-style cottages offer garden views and some include sunloungers and bars. Room service is available 24/7. There's an ornate restaurant, as well as a beach eatery featuring live entertainment. Other amenities include a playground, a rooftop terrace and an outdoor pool with dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Calangute
Hotel Estrela Do Mar Beach
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing