We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Noida, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average resort!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The stay here was booked through make my trip. Had stayed at the beach cottage.

The cottage is cramped and the washroom is small.
The hotel reception is too slow and takes ages to process your bills and reservations.
The food is decent.

The morning buffet is ok, the best part being their live omelette counters. The room service is good though.

Overall an average choice for the price they charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    691
    370
    128
    222
See reviews for
629
682
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stay was pleasant. Staff was friendly. Location was great just 2 minutes walk from the beach. Rooms were well equipped and clean. Food was good. Good value for money. Will stay there next time I visit there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hitesh1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Most unprofessional attitude and support from cleartrip support. The Hotel room condition was worst NO LIGHT NO FAN working, room was not made up. Even after contacting CLEARTRIP support all I was given STUPID Arguments and eve phone was disconnected. For this I am defnitely going to THE COURT OF LAW

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
7 Thank Rajan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Pleasant stay off-season, but some updating to bathroom required..

Cleanliness – not too bad. (4)
Fixtures/fittings – Paper thin walls, can hear everything from adjoining room. bathroom could do with a makeover (see point below under interesting notes. (3)
Proximity to attractions – ‘The beach’ – 200 yard walk from the concrete roomed part of the hotel. To be nearer select a beach hut. (4)
Food – Excellent; room service same price as restaurant…! (5)
Wifi/Facilities – Poor bandwidth and plenty of drop outs and expensive. Good access to channels on TV, good air con (3)
Staff – Very very helpful particularly when Barclaycard blocked me out of my credit card. let me use office phone and wired internet connection (5)
Total Score - 24/30

Room Tip: Good A/C and TV in my room in the main block. Room Service same price as restaurant, restaurant had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSkippman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunawada, Gujarat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Location, the internal climate, the staff - awesome. The resort is right on the beach. Both Baga and Calanguate Beaches are walking distance from beach to beach. no need to go by road. Even Club Tito's is near by from beach road. Rooms are better and staff is polite.

Room Tip: Rooms are better option instead of beach cottages. But if you wish yo stay near the shore that beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pragnesh_Trivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

hi my name is sandesh koli.I went this resort on 25-5-13 to 30-5-13 f for my honeymoon.
It was a very nice experience.its a very lovely place with just 5min.far from beach.
2good things about this hotel is at the time of breakfast and dinner silent music was running.
like some time singer,some time violine player.
I REALLY WANT TO MENTION HOUSE KEEPER SHAMBHOO.HE DONE HIS WORK WITH CUTE SMILE AND ALSO THE TOWEL WORK DESIGN WAS AWESOME.some art I was seen that GANPATI ART,THEN CROCODILE ART.shambhoo told me this type of 60 art they have.

I am very happy with this resort.

BEST WISHES FROM ME AND MY WIFE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have been to goa for many times likely 14-15 times. As it has been my favourite destination for holidaying after my schooling till date( 2000-2013). I have stayed in all kind of hotels 2-5 stars season and off seasons.

This time I was with one of my cousin. We started from Delhi to mumbai then Goa and back to Delhi. Mumbai Was official trip so planned for Goa for 2-3 days just for a small holiday.

My Cousin opted to book all the arrangements through makemytrip.com. from which he usually does for his official weekly trips. We saw this hotel Estrella Do mar while booking on makemytrip.com as being the lowest and makemytrip's best offer hotel among top 5. We immediately booked the hotel.

Due to some circumstances we had to shift the dates for entire tour previously it was 30/05/2013 - 1/06/2013 in mumbai and from 02/06/2013 - 04/06/2013.

The 5 Star hotel Grand Sarover Premier in Mumbai easily shifted the dates without any charges or anything to our help. When We contacted makemytrip to shift the dates estrella do mar they kept on hanging or kept on waiting and told us they are not able to contact the estrella do mar.

Then we contacted directly to the estrella do mar. The manager there( I think Aniket was the name) spoke very rudely and told us that they will not shift the dates as it on short notice. we told him that Makemytrip charges Rs. 250 for shifting and we are ready to pay that amount but he said NO even after we were informing him 3 days earlier. And then we told him that you are not at all customer friendly. His manager said go and file the CASE. We told him that we are coming to Goa for small holiday and not fightings. We are spending some money why would we want to ruin it and then he hanged up the phone.

We gave the number to makemytrip to contact him, they told us that they have spoken to him and
the dates are shifted and sent us a confirmation mail.

We reached Goa on 3/06/2013 and then began the ORDEAL. We took the cab from Mapusa we entered the lane joining this hotel between Calangute and Baga. The road was full of garbage and unconstructed road. I assured it would be very difficult to come to market every time through this road on night as it was no lighting and garbage dump as the main market is on this baga-calangute road. Then came a surprise unplanned unconstructed walls and pillars without any lobby or anything one desk two pencil shaped guys standing. I was shocked to see such a thing.
Then we had the printout of the makemytrip confirmation mail of date changes gave it to them.

They sent a boy to show us the rooms at the extreme corner Rooom no. 417. The room was near a garbage site and there was an opening without window doors for exhaust. The bathroom and bed room smelled like hell. When asked for other rooms they showed us rooms much more smaller than Room 417.

We said let it go as what can be done at this last moment and this hotel staff is already non cooperative and unfriendly. We went to market and bought us some beers. We took them to our room. In the room we asked in-room service to send some ice. We were told it will be charged Rs. 40 for a small portion. I have never seen any hotel or restaurant asking to pay for ice until and unless we buy from departmental store. But When it comes to beer FINE we ready to pay. Second time we ordered for Ice the room attendent took Half and hour to bring becuase of the delay we had warm beer. And then we he came he said now you have to pay for this because we said you are late and now I dont accept it.

He asked us to call on the number of In room service 222. We called him and the person sitting on the other side some Goswamy told that you will have to pay for Ice and beer. We Shocked Why beer he said that the outside beer is not allowed anywhere in the hotel. We asked him to show us the terms and conditions at the time of booking or anywhere at the entrance. He said no but you will have to pay.

We went to the manager room there we met this guy Aniket and Goswamy. The matter after a 1-2 hrs of long debate.

The very next day i.e. 04/06/2013 we got a call from reception that we have a checkout. we told them that we had dates shifted and also you have the Booking letter from makemytrip.com. but the same guy Aniket kept saying NO your booking was for 02/06/2013 to 04/06/2013 and now you have to checkout and the hotel registration form's carbon copy which is filled at the time of check in was manually changed by the lady at the reception. We kept calling makemytrip.com to resolve the matter and they kept on insisting the Estrella's manger Aniket to solve the matter. He said no way we have other confirmation doe for this room and I have let your guests to stay till 1 Pm whereas checkout time is 11Am.

Then Make my Trip did something very very supportive for us the paid the money on their behalf and asked us not pay anything to the hotel and they are paying for the room. This Manager Aniket was telling just 5 mins back on the phone to makemytrip.com and to us that we are totally sold out and we dont have room as soon as makemytrip was ready to pay he was okay. He immediately calculated taxes and everything and confirmed the booking.

Well we made sure that no where in our wildest dreams we are gonna make any stay to this hotel. And Wont even recommend it to anyone.

Other Traits of this hotel:-
1. Dirtiest Swimming Pool ever seen no Filtration at all
2. Dirty crockery
3. smelling breakfasts.
4. no cleanliness
5. And yes one thing Even after you leave the hotel or Goa the Garabage smell you inhaled in this hotel wont leave you. ;-)

Room Tip: Why would I ask someone to hit his or her head on the wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nikhilgarg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.2 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
666 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 110 in Calangute
522 reviews
3.2 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 64 in Candolim
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
924 reviews
2.6 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Property: Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Address: Khobra Vaddo | road opp to Our Lady of Piety Chapel, Khobra Vaddo, Bang on the Beach, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beach, at Estrela, your presence is celebrated, your individuality recognized and your tastes remembered. Our staff pampers you with impeccable service and showers you with undivided attention. The spotlight is always on you and your needs. This unconventional approach is the reason why your experience at our hotels and resorts is always full of champagne moments and sweet memories. Come, get used to stardom! The bright, cozy rooms, Swiss cottages & luxurious sea view cottages feature satellite TVs, minibar, hair dryer, electronic safe, tea-coffee maker, etc as well as DVD sets in some rooms. Free Wi-Fi in all our restaurants. Most of the rooms feature private balconies. Swiss chalet-style cottages offer garden views and some include sunloungers and bars. Room service is available 24/7. There's an ornate restaurant, as well as a beach eatery featuring live entertainment. Other amenities include a playground, a rooftop terrace and an outdoor pool with dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Calangute
Hotel Estrela Do Mar Beach
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing