We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Calangute
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We traveled to Goa in Jan 2013 and opted to stay at Estrela Do Mar, mainly because it was the first hotel that popped up when I typed in GOA.

We had opted for the luxury room, which because of on season, came to around 4200 bucks a night. Frankly, i don't think its worth that much. The check-in was hassle free and with minimum formalities. The location was okay, but since construction was going on, it was a little messy. The property is good, and the shack restaurant on the beach is the best part of this hotel. Especially the dinners, where they have live performances going on, and a variety of excellent sea food. The prices were quite reasonable too. The staff were quite friendly and amicable.

Overall, its an okay place to stay and a good location for easy getting around.

Room Tip: They have new hut rooms, right on the beach. The only problem will be that the rooms are on the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_Koshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    704
    373
    131
    226
See reviews for
642
694
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jaipur
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

when we booked this resort after viewed website we were expecting a lot but as we enter in resort we were surprised to see almost every thing different.as we arrived goa airport driver was ready to pick us but car was so ordinary.while chek-in they provide us compact family room .later on we came to know they have larger room but refused to transfer us.rooms are average clean and tea coffee maker are available but they provide 2 set of sachet where as we were 4 members.room service are o.k. but you have to call every time for their requirements like drinking water,towels etc.swimming pool was full of leaves and flowers.water was not clean and no compulsion of swimming costumes .no guard was there to look after children and to give towels .no change room was there.restaurant was good but very bad thing is that they used ordinary crockery every plate and cup,bowl has nick. food is costly as compare to taste.yes beach side restaurant was at perfect .but they provide very limited items for buffet .location is the biggest plus point and water sports are within the reach by 5 min walking.market also near and you can have lunch and dinner in market restaurant if not including in package.everyone should enjoy water sports which are costly [1000/- for para sailing and 300/- for jet ski]if you choose para sailing no need to spend on jet ski because they will carry you by jet ski to the boat.staff was humble and cooperative but rooms are not same as in web site.after chek-out they provide better car on time .over all we disappoint to stay in this resort.

Room Tip: only beach shak and poolside rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mukulbhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were 3 guys staying in the beach cottage and there was a theft in our cottage costing arnd more than a 100k. 2 cannon dslr camms. 1 dell laptop. 1 samsung galaxy cellphone and a cash of 6k.
on investigation it was found that CC TV footage of around 10 mins was missing during the theft period and the hotel never took the responsibility to go ahead and even appologize or compensate us for the same.
this happend on 24th May,2013.
i would request all not to go for this hotel just coz its cheaper. it will cost you more.
we have proof of all the case and investigation.
to get that email me at naman.poddar@gmail.com

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank naman108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The stay in the hotel was an Average Experience - Nothing great and nothing bad either. Although when you visit Goa, you don't tend to stay in the hotel for long, so it didn't bother much. The Beach Cottages were nice and the hotel staff too was helpful. The best part was its proximity to the Beach. Though it can considerably improve on its Bar, Restaurant and the Beach Shack. Must improve on the Breakfast too. All in all - An Average Experience.

Room Tip: Go for a Beach Cottage only if its a Beach Facing one, else prefer the Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aditya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

At this price its very difficult to get such beach cottage resort just next to the beach. Service was pretty ok. Although food was not that tasty so its better to discover other restaurants outside. There is a buffet breakfast in the morning which generally gets too crowded. The resort is located close to both Calangute and Baga, hence you can cover both on foot. It was a pretty nice experiance to stay in a beach cottage. The resort also offers scooty on rent, however its better to take it from outside at a cheaper rate. Most important advise, please check the AC before you check into a room as most guest complained about the disruption of AC service.

Room Tip: room 609 where we stayed was better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halder_anirban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

WORST hotel..dont want others to face the same problem..theft took place from our room ..the room was opened by the staff using a master key...the cctv footage was made missingfor complete 10 min and the theft was performed well by the hotel staff..noo cooperation by the manager..this could be the worst experience one can ever have..guys dont go to this hotel to waste ur trip and instead of njoying u come home loosing ur valuable...worst experience ever...god knows how can he call himself to be the manager of the hotel...

Room Tip: dont choose this resort...its a open theft place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ankur299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Worst hotel you could book. Worst staff. They have a bouncer who threatens you if you argue with the manager. They're money hungry people. No respect for guests. Gave me a very late checkin. Gave me a cottage with an AC which didn't work. Got my room changed after begging the next day. Pool is very unclean. Flies infested breakfast. Don't book.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room at all. Horrible people. The worst experience. They threaten you. Do not go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanjay1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.2 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 113 in Calangute
681 reviews
1.2 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#14 of 113 in Calangute
346 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#8 of 113 in Calangute
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
251 reviews
3.2 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,684 reviews
3.0 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Property: Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Address: Khobra Vaddo | road opp to Our Lady of Piety Chapel, Khobra Vaddo, Bang on the Beach, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beach, at Estrela, your presence is celebrated, your individuality recognized and your tastes remembered. Our staff pampers you with impeccable service and showers you with undivided attention. The spotlight is always on you and your needs. This unconventional approach is the reason why your experience at our hotels and resorts is always full of champagne moments and sweet memories. Come, get used to stardom! The bright, cozy rooms, Swiss cottages & luxurious sea view cottages feature satellite TVs, minibar, hair dryer, electronic safe, tea-coffee maker, etc as well as DVD sets in some rooms. Free Wi-Fi in all our restaurants. Most of the rooms feature private balconies. Swiss chalet-style cottages offer garden views and some include sunloungers and bars. Room service is available 24/7. There's an ornate restaurant, as well as a beach eatery featuring live entertainment. Other amenities include a playground, a rooftop terrace and an outdoor pool with dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Calangute
Hotel Estrela Do Mar Beach
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing