We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but it needs to be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 119 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Estrela is good resort but not at the beach side as shown. There are cottages also which are beach side but actual hotel rooms are small lack of space. check in time is very odd at 11 am. Staff behavior was good and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to book as early as possible and try to take the beach side cottages there only you will feel th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debaasish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,525 - 1,531 of 1,964 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very good beach resort for family outing, good food , comfortable beach huts and rooms .
Hotel ambience is very poor, approach to hotel is very nerrow lane , disappointing reception, staff totally uncooperative, mainly booked through Make My Trip hence they dont give a damn to your requests or complaints, Lot of foreigner ladies can be seen in hotel.

Fooding is very expensive if not included in package .

Room Tip: Look for huts on beach,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sun_abhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I did not experience anything wrong here. My stay was pleasant and days I stayed were the best days. Whenever you choose this resort, select cottages. Ask for Cottage number 601 to 604 at the reception.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayur_Mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Though the name "Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort" is very uncommon and is hard to pronounce by a common Indian tungue :) . I booked this resort last month from www.travelguru.com for 5 days to carry out a business meeting. And I'm here to pay my highest gratitude to them for their utmost customer service and loyalty paid to us and other visitors. I'm very much thankful to them for the way the managed our party meeting till the end. This is one of best hotel I've seen in India ever.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Krrishna44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

we were 8 females and hd booked the place quiet in advance..about the hotel, location its 2mins walk from the beach and very close to baga market and calangute market, if you go by beach,.Food is also gOOD. luvely live music during dinner.during our stay they hd arranged dj party in their beach restaurant which hd a luvely ambience and ws safe for females,since only hotel guest were present.so party by the beach was also good.rooms were pretty good and clean.pool ws also well maintained..
now for the worst part of the hotel, its is the manager, who is number 1 CHEAT. we hd taken family room.we were received by the chauffer on railway station and as soon as we reached the hotel, the manager says that there is no booking on our name.isnt it funny?? ur driver picks us from the station who was holding the placard with correct name bt manager says v dnt have a booking.after arguing and stuff he says I will do the arrangement as if doing a favour.we get a room on first floor. we got a room which ws tiny wid only 1 double bed..when we got our second room(after almost 20mins.) the room was actually big and that was a family room, so we went back to the manager.who den gave us another family room on the ground floor(after loads of arguments) and den we realized our first room ws a couple room n again we went b to ask for actual family room again after loads of arguments we got actual family room but next day..the reception staff will not take you seriously unles u raise your voice on dem and fight.that is d only way to get ur things done in this resort.during our stay I saw many indian guest arguing wid the cheat manager and fighting wid him for some or the other reason..rest everything is good abt the place but reception management and manager, beware of his fooling tricks...

Room Tip: rooms I guess all are good but jst be alert about whethr u r getting d same for which u hv paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charms1686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have booked a beach cottage. they have provided very good facilities like locker, minibar, AC and yes very clean housekeeping . Staff was very friendly and supportive.
location of hotel is very good. the beach is step away from your room. you can enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of beach at night from your balcony. all other renowned beaches are near to this hotel location.
All facilities are very good and financially economical . and very best for spending time with friends and family. One can go for this hotel without hesitation good one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenishParmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had stayed in this hotel for 5 days in May first week of 2013. The housekeeping staff were okay providing us with drinking water whenever we wanted. The family room was very small. They had not provided us with four beds as written on the net. There was a double bed and one sofa bed to sleep on the floor along with one mattress again on the floor which made the room too small to move around once the mattress was put. The breakfast menu was also not so great.The juice which was provided during breakfast was a very diluted version not fit for drinking and variety of breakfast items need to be looked into. The hotel management needs to look into these aspects for people to go there and enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MI4GhostPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.4 mi away
Santiago Beach Resort
Santiago Beach Resort
#28 of 119 in Calangute
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
1.2 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 119 in Calangute
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#8 of 119 in Calangute
566 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#10 of 119 in Calangute
630 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 11 in Dona Paula
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Address: Khobra Vaddo | road opp to Our Lady of Piety Chapel, Khobra Vaddo, Bang on the Beach, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#9 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $80 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beach, at Estrela, your presence is celebrated, your individuality recognized and your tastes remembered. Our staff pampers you with impeccable service and showers you with undivided attention. The spotlight is always on you and your needs. This unconventional approach is the reason why your experience at our hotels and resorts is always full of champagne moments and sweet memories. Come, get used to stardom! The bright, cozy rooms, Swiss cottages & luxurious sea view cottages feature satellite TVs, minibar, hair dryer, electronic safe, tea-coffee maker, etc as well as DVD sets in some rooms. Free Wi-Fi in all our restaurants. Most of the rooms feature private balconies. Swiss chalet-style cottages offer garden views and some include sunloungers and bars. Room service is available 24/7. There's an ornate restaurant, as well as a beach eatery featuring live entertainment. Other amenities include a playground, a rooftop terrace and an outdoor pool with dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Calangute
Hotel Estrela Do Mar Beach
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing