We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Good Hotel”
Review of La Calypso Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Calypso Goa
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Good Hotel”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our 7th trip family to Goa in last 10years and first time we stayed first time in La Calypso, let me share with you one of the best location in North Goa with one end on Baga-colangute road and another on Baga beach.
Airport Pickup was prompt, check-in was smooth with ever smiling staff and an welcome drink. We stayed in the Suit room with an extra bed for kid. Neat and clean room facing the inner lawns, very peaceful, bed was little jumpy as i like little stiff springs not one of the best but not too bad. Bath room is clean with change of towels and hand towels daily, shower very good with hot and cold water 24hrs. Extra bed arrived on its own in evening very good.
Breakfast is an decent spread + good taste and even till 10:20 servers were bringing stuff from kitchen. Although in rush hour getting seat can be time consuming but there is extra seating outside near pool so no complains.
Ordered room service couple of time for kids and very prompt + good taste.
This hotel has an in house casino we did try couple of times in night and it was good fun, you can choose how much you want to play and we returned little richer only :).
Since location is on the beach and we do not like doing anything else except spending all day on the beach - very convenient and lots of good shacks just as we step outside the hotel. They have there own La Shack restaurant which we tried one satisfied evening.
Go ahead and try on your own......

Room Tip: Suit room is very good, but if you can afford try the beach facing Villa - excellent location and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docvini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Calypso, Baga, Goa!!

First & foremost we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at La Calypso, Baga , Goa and also for sharing such a complimentary review about us on TripAdvisor.

Our prompt service right from the Arrival at the Airport, spacious rooms, our delicious food, our helping & courteous staff and our Casino have been a continual source of appreciation and your compliments reinforce our faith in the same.

It is compliments like these from our guests that go a long way to encourage us to work harder to achieve the highest levels of our guests’ satisfaction.

We would love for you to return to the hotel soon. Stay with us and make some precious memories that you may cherish forever.

Warm Regards,

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
fo@lacalypso.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    114
    26
    16
    18
See reviews for
115
65
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

One of the best experience in Goa. The property is awesome. The villa we stayed in was next to the beach and perfect for our family. The hotel staffs are super friendly and helpful. Food was amazing. I would recommend a full board stay in the hot as every dish we ate was cooked to perfection and included Goan, North and South Indian cuisines, The kitchen staffs went extra miles to prepare not on menu dishes for us. The beach it self was a little crowded but the hotel was quite and relaxing. I would recommend this hotel to all visiting Goa.

Room Tip: I would recommend renting a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Calypso, Baga, Goa!!

It is a matter of great pride and delight that you chose to stay with us at La Calypso, Baga, Goa. Also, we would like to thank you for sharing such an incredible review of your experiences here on TripAdvisor. The fact that you have enjoyed and appreciated our courteous staff, our impeccable service, our beautifully maintained & comfortable villas that are well appointed, our delicious prepared cuisine, brings in a bout of happiness.

Such generous compliments showered upon us go a long way to motivate us to work with a redoubled energy to achieve the highest standards of guests’ satisfaction.

We await your return with great enthusiasm and hope to be able to serve you yet again so that we can help you make some fond memories here with us

Warm Regards

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
fo@lacalypso.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

It was our first wedding anniversary n we stayed at la calypso...from 31st jan - 3rd feb 2014...i must say fantastic hotel...right on d goa's best beach BAGA...awesome hospitality...superb food...excellent rooms...n service..loved d beach villas n cottages...excellent view of baga beach...also it has a very famous casino...known as casino palms...if u r staying near baga....then dis is d best hotel to stay...loved d stay here....wil surely visit next time ...

Room Tip: i would recomment to stay in beach villas or wooden cottages...it has garden sitting outside n also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishalnagda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Mr. Nagda,

Greetings from La Calypso, Baga, Goa!!

We are greatly delighted to have received such a generously appreciative review about your stay with us at La Calypso, Baga - Goa which you have shared on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have liked our hospitality, courteous and friendly staff, our delicious culinary delights, our spacious rooms and the wonderful Casino (Casino Palms).

Your appreciation of the efforts that we put in every day goes a long way to encourage and to motivate us to work harder to achieve the highest level of our guests’ satisfaction.

We would love for you to return to the hotel soon. Stay with us and make some precious memories that you may cherish forever.

Warm Regards,

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
La Calypso - Goa
fo@lacalypso.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It was a nice suit with the sea view. Excellent food, lovely casino & bar. Hospitality at it's best. The best experience at Goa. A must stay place if you visit Goa. It was one of the best holidays with friends.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Archana500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Calypso, Baga, Goa!!

We thank you for a compliment ridden review about your experience with us at La Calypso, Baga – Goa, that you have shared on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have liked our courteous and friendly staff, our delicious culinary delights and the location.

It is compliments like these from our guests that go a long way to encourage and to motivate us to work harder to achieve the highest levels of our guests’ satisfaction.

We await your return with great enthusiasm and hope to be able to serve you yet again so that we can help you make some fond memories here with us.

Warm Regards,

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
fo@lacalypso.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have been to Goa 7-8 times & personally I am more of a South Goa person, however this time I was out with a group of guys & we couldn’t have chosen a better resort. This resort is right on the beach (check the attached pic), walk out from the resort & you are at the most happening part of North Goa, a 300 meter walk to the left of the beach will take you to the famous Titto’s street & a 100 meter walk to the right will take you to Britto & St. Anthony Shack. The water sports are right on the beach. And you can get all the beach, sun, music etc. right at the doorstep of the resort. So if you are in any sort of dilemma on the choice of the resort in North Goa give this one a try & you will not be disappointed. Since our package with the resort included breakfast & one meal at the resort, we did take them & the food is above average to good. They have their own beach shack & a nice sit area on the beach & while we did use the sitting area we didn’t try their shack. Since we basically used the resort as a parking place, we didn’t use too much of their other services & therefore can’t comment on them. But imagine you sitting at St. Anthony shack till 3 in the morning & at 3.05 a.m you are in your room…. What more you want… Kudos to location…

Room Tip: Go for premium beach villa or wooden huts, avoid beach villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Calypso, Baga, Goa!!

We thank you for a compliment ridden review about your experience with us at La Calypso, Baga – Goa, that you have shared on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have liked our courteous and friendly staff, our delicious culinary delights and the location.

It is compliments like these from our guests that go a long way to encourage and to motivate us to work harder to achieve the highest levels of our guests’ satisfaction.

We await your return with great enthusiasm and hope to be able to serve you yet again so that we can help you make some fond memories here with us.

Warm Regards,

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
fo@lacalypso.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

amazing.....it could not b better holiday....Special thanks to Mr Napolian and other staff , they were always there on our side for all requirements.
we were there as from 9-13 jan,2014, group of 5 couples and had wonderful time together, beach villas were awesome but still we would prefer premium villa next time....
food quality 100 %.
location 100%
service 80%
value for money 200% for sure

Simply a must visit again........

Room Tip: premium villa is the first choice or wood villa ........beach villa u need to walk a little but in c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeepseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Seth,

Greetings from La Calypso, Baga, Goa!!

We are greatly delighted to have received such a generously appreciative review about your stay with us at La Calypso, Baga - Goa which you have shared on TripAdvisor. It is no less than flattering to know that you have so minutely observed and appreciated our impeccable service, our courteous and pleasant staff, our best location and overall value for money.

Your appreciation of the efforts that we put in every day goes a long way to encourage and to motivate us to work harder to achieve the highest level of our guest satisfaction.

We would love for you to return to the hotel soon. Stay with us and make some precious memories that you may cherish forever.

Warm Regards,

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
La Calypso - Goa
fo@lacalypso.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My family and I ( two daughters) spent 8 wonderful nights here. The hotel is run by a wonderfully helpful chap called Napoleon who can never do enough for his guests. The service crew in the restaurant in the mornings are very friendly and helpful , as are the chefs, who will accommodate any requests. The food is great if you enjoy Indian cuisine, as our family do. Only neg we had was the noise of techno music every night which , we guess, is goa over the New Years. I felt that la calypso could have offered more chill music at its beach outlet as the crowd there is more sophisticated and mature compared to most if baga. Housekeeping was good. By and large, a comfy central hotel to stay at, with super duper staff in all departments..... Ps thanks to the executive chef that went out of his way to give us cooking lessons. Hope he had a beer on us!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tredclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

THANK YOU !!!

It is a matter of great pride and delight that you chose to stay with us at La Calypso, Baga - Goa. Also, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your review about your experiences here on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to you and your family giving us more opportunities to serve you in the future and your comments to make us better professionals.

Once again thanking you for giving us an opportunity to make your stay here with us at "La Calypso - Goa" memorable.

Warm Regards

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
La Calypso - Goa
fo@lacalypso.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.6 mi away
The Baga Marina Beach Resort & Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 110 in Calangute
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
1.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Calypso Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Calypso Goa

Property: La Calypso Goa
Address: 7/129 B Saunta Vaddo | Calangute - Baga Road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#19 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Calypso Goa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves, sun & lots of fun is what La Calypso is all about. Doesn’t matter if you are a globe trotter, corporate guest, a family on vacation, foodie, happy go lucky wager or if you are looking to organize an event, party, wedding.. La Calypso is the place to be! With resorts, hotel, restaurant, casinos and many more offerings, Our group is one among the best in Hospitality industry of Goa. At La Calypso, our top priority is comfort and convenience of the guests. The facilities and amenities provided, not just satisfy the necessities of our clientele, but also indulge them in luxury. At La Calypso, with the numerous options we have for types of stay, amenities, setting and pricing, we strive to anticipate and fulfill your desires. With beautiful place, warm hospitality and excellent service it’a a given that your time spent at La Calypso will be the most memorable moments! La Calypso also promises a whole new experience of calmness and serene, through Swarn Spa, which brings together the wellness and well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Calypso Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Calypso Resort
La Calypso Calangute
La Calypso Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing