We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel uncooperative staff and never ever try food here if also in ur plan”
Review of Neelams The Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neelams The Grand
Ranked #35 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed December 8, 2010

.i have been staying there for 4 nights with ap plan the rooms were good but the staff too uncooperative as all the enjoyment will be lost due to uncooperative staff they have to give pick up and drop they came to pick but when came to drop they clearly refused or they sayed their vehicle has fixed timings so u go at 12.00 pm but my train was at 3.15 pm so 3 hours at station what will i do they said no i paid 350/- to go to station and it was just 25 min away and i gone at 2.00 and reached 2.25 then also around 1 hour before and talking about food dont ever try the AP plan as u have to eat daily same meals all the 3 times same lunch same dinner same breakfast only rooms were good as compare to another hotels as i have seen paradise village and estreladomar thanks

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punit04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for Neelams The Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 588 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

Neelams The Grand sits at a junction/rounabout close to the north end of Calangute Beach, near the start of the busy Baga Beach. The beach itself is actually about 20 minutes walk away, but you are walking through a buzzing commercial district so its pleasant enough, i heard the hotel has a shuttle but we never used it as the walk was always entertaining.

Breakfast is a buffet mainly catering for Indian tastes, but they always produced whatever we asked for including bacon omelettes and bacon, eggs sausages and beans.

We noticed that this was a very biusy hotel with Europeans and Indian Families, whereas many simi8lar hotels were very quiet, so we would guess they ofer good prices.

The hotel has a well sheltered pool in the centre, so if you get fed up with the sun you can always sit around the pool.

We hired a bike for a week which with a bit of negotiating came down to 175 Rp per day (3€) and drove up and down the coast inlcuding one long distant trip to the very quiet North Goa Beaches of Aramble and Marjen. Hotel has secure parking for hired bikes next to the hotel.

Cant really think of any downsides to this place!

2 restaurant tips Souza Lobo on Calangute and Brittos on Baga

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelJunkie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Booked this hotel as part of a one week package deal. Not my first choice but it was all that was available a week before departure. The reviews I had read were pretty spot on: The pool was filthy but then I never intended too use it anyway. The hot tub (that is if you want to share iit with the Russians) is a dirty potential disease hot bed and I never saw the gym (if it exists). They didn't have my reservation when I arrived (booked through thelonghaultraveller.com) and had to sign a disclaimer that I'll have to pay for the week if it's not sorted out by the next day. I got a grotty standard room in G block (G17) instead of a superior deluxe room for which I had paid for the first two nights. The room looked nice but was just minging, even for Indian standards. Whenever I touched something my hand got stuck to the grease. There were shoe prints on my bedsheet, hand prints all over the window, and dust and dirt everywhere. Room service probably takes a week if they ever come so I didn't bother and wouldn't trust them with my laundry. Always lock your door, and even if you do, housekeeping will suddenly stand in the room. That is if they ever come, three times out of 7 days. I got a room with balcony and pool view in E block (E34) for the remaining five nights. Again, the room looked nice but was just as dirty with the added bonus of pubic hair in the bath tub and the tab water smellier. The safe door was open but locked and I had to wait in the hotel for four hours till 2.30PM until someone fixed it. This would have been ok if they hadn't told me that someone is coming 'now' four hours earlier, to be continued at regular intervalls. I even slipped them some money to speed it up! I never ate at the hotel. Their open plan restaurant kitchen got a plexi glass front which was, again..guess.. just minging and gave a haze of a glimpse into the kitchen. A word of warning: You will find a water flask in your room upon arrival, apparentlly containing drinking water. Don't touch it! Even not for brushing your teeth. In fact, never have any water/water based drink, ice cubes, milk shake, yoghurt, salad in India unless it comes out of a sealed bottle / can. The same goes for the water dispensers throughout the hotel. Instead, exit the hotel to the right and there's a couple of shops 30 secs away selling bottled water, a Western Union money exchange (good rate), a cash machine etc. (Have your banks international phone number ready as they will block your card!!)). I was dreading Calangute based on the reviews I had read but actually really liked the place. This was my first time to India and really just wanted to get a feel. Calangute is busy and noisy but a great experience. I always walked to the beach and back home on my own at around 1am. It's generally very safe but be streetwise. The walk takes approx 15min and goes past shopes and stalls along the high street. Exit the hotel to the right, turn right, walk two minutes and turn left straight down the high street. A couple of hundred metres down is a chemist on the right hand side where you can buy a converter plug for 50 Rupees, approx 70p. Just watch out for the trafffic which can be at times a bit chaotic. Down at the beach, turn left towards Candolim. There are a couple of nice beach shacks.The Rovers Return, (approx 5min walk, that is without stopping for the touts) does nice suckling pig and apparently very good fish and chips. Two minutes further down is Alistos which does a nice Chicken Jalfreezi. All of these shacks I visited have good European toilets, clean and with toilet paper etc (Rover's the best!), apart from Typsy Shack which hasn't got paper nor water. However, Typsy Shack is highly recommended for a table, candlelight and good food two metres from the ocean at night. Another highly recommended place for dinner, serving the best food I had, is The Tibetan Kitchen off the high street on the left towards the beach. There's also the 'Hungry Horse' serving excellent lunch time food with a friendly service (turn left ad Redonda and David's Corner at the High Street, continue walking along the road for five minutes). The only drawback is that these place crawl with rude and obnoxious Russians such as most other restaurants. If you're after 'English only', try the 'Flying Dolphin' and restaurants next door half way between Calangute and Candolim, 100 Rupees by taxi but also acessible from the beach, though easy too miss. It's more sophisticated with no Russians in sight. A good way to meet locals and ex-pats is to try one of the bars which are set back from the upper part of the High Street to the left as you walk down. Corinne's Corner a bit set back to the right even before you get too the high street and the small bar on the opposite site of the street (all green tiles) next to the octagon barbeer's are also very welcoming places. In general, Indians are very friendly, curious and talkative if you're the same. If you fancy a bit of culture or a quieter, nicer beach try the following. Trip1: Set off 8am by taxi to Old Goa Churches, The Spice Plantation (400 Rupee/person incl meal, arrive 9.30am to avoid obnoxious Russians), Tambdi Surla Temple (no tourists at all!), and village sightseeing on way home.. stop for the best bananas and coconuts on the side of the road... 2000 Rupee taxi fare. Trip 2: Gaude Waddo Beach, Morjim. Take a taxi at 10am and ask to be picked up at around 6pm. 30min drive from Calangute and 700 Rupee. food and drink at the place is a bit pricey (4 Mojito, Chicken Vindaloo, Rice, Naan for £12) but the location it's wort it. There are mainly older Russians which are bearable. The water is incredible warm and cleaner as in Calangute. Taxi from/to Airport is 650 Rupee(use the pre-paid counter as you leave arrivals. They let you pay once you arrive at the Hotel and had a chance to change Money at Western Union if you ask the driver nicely. All in all, Calangute is not as bad as the guide boook said it is. I actually prefer it to Candolim and it's definitely worth the experience. Just don't let yourself get wound up and spoil your holiday by the hotel. It is what it is, a room in a dirty and badly managed complex (nicknamed 'the prison' by the locals). You'll be fine if you keep that in mind and to be honest, it's quite nice sitting on the balcony (Avoid the corner with the couple cm thick pigeon faeces).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theintrepidfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

My wife and I paid for a 5 day stay here in Nov 2010 and walked out after the 2nd night with no hope of getting a refund. And frankly we didn't care.

The hotel advertises itself as a 4 star hotel - but it's not worth even one of those stars. We complained about no hot water in our bathrooms - someone came to fiddle around, never did fix the problem. We complained again and the manager had the gall to say "I understand your problem but you're the only one among our guests who is complaining"! The service in general is awful, the location of the hotel is okay but but there are many better options so please dont make the mistake of showing up here. It's not worth it and if you do end up there please dont say we didn't warn you.

Goa is a beautiful place and completely worth visiting but do not spoil your experience by staying in this apology of a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManzZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Goa was on my charts for a long... N when visited we had been to this GRAND hotel. Its actually GRAND, huge like its name .. My room had the Pool view :)
The best part of this hotel is the location with beaches nearby. The staff & the reception were good with always a smile on their face. They had maintained the Hygiene throughout the hotel. Which made us go for the food.. n must say its was super delicious.
Been there was really refreshing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adesh_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

The stay in this hotel was rather disappointing. I will not recommed this hotel to anybody. They made to wait for 45 minutes and then gave a room which was untidy. Pillow covers were dirty and bed was untidy. Staff was rather prompt in saying that this is
a basic room and its only pillow covers that were dirty. After shouting alot, they finally changed the room. The rooms are more like apartment than a hotel.

Suit might be better.

Staff was unfriendly and uncourteous.

Food was not good so stayed away from hotel food.

Only good thing was its proximity to Calangute beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amitvilla2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Horrible and despicable service. Overpriced and we did not get what we booked. At some point I was at the reception asking for a refund so I can stay elsewhere, and they gestured for the security guard to be present- who came brandishing a cane! What kind of hotel does that?
In the room, the a/c wasn't working for 5 days straight, it was only by the fifth day that they managed to arrange another room. Housekeeping actually showed up every third day and you must specifically beg for fresh towels. And the breakfast buffet that was supposedly in the booking turned out to be non-existent.
I still can't say that it ruined our trip, only because Goa is such a beautiful place. But lesson learnt: Stay away from Neelams.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MzTb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#4 of 116 in Calangute
980 reviews
0.6 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 116 in Calangute
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#8 of 116 in Calangute
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.1 mi away
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
#37 of 213 in Calangute
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#7 of 116 in Calangute
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neelams The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neelams The Grand

Address: Post Office Road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $42 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Neelams The Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand in its true opulent style and grandeur architecture is the blend of perfect hospitality and old world charm. Comprising of 143 contemporarily appointed rooms and suites with large swimming pool, health club, multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop and largest Sports Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Neelams The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neelams The Grand Calangute
Neelams The Grand Hotel Calangute
Neelams The Grand Goa/Calangute
Neelams Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing