We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel on great location”
Review of Neelams The Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neelams The Grand
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Noida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good hotel on great location”
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I booked Neelam's the grand for 3 nights 4 days as a part of my honeymoon trip to Goa, I found this hotel very good, the best part is its location in GOA , its just on 5-10 mins walk from colungute beach. Its clean, have good staff, nice swimming pool and restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash_shrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    223
    96
    51
    78
See reviews for
168
221
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

The first impression of the hotel was good; the reception is very nice, the area around the pool is wonderful, with light-covered trees and lots of sunbeds. The restaurant is also nice, the food is good and not expensive. The staff is very friendly, always smiling, and they are very helpful.
Our room was separated into an entrance room/living room, with a couch, a table and some chairs, TV and frigde; bedroom with TV; and a bathroom. They were all spacious. We used the entrance room as a place to put our shopping bags and our swimming equiptment/towels, and the frigde was great as we could store our drinks there. The bedroom was great; we had a separate extra bed placed on the side of the other two beds, so we could all together sleep in the same room (we were 3 girls in one room). Both the entrance room and the bedroom has aircondition (a very noisy one..) When I saw the bathroom I was quite shocked. Even though it was tidy, it was absolutely not clean. The mirror had toothpaste left-overs all over, and the bath tub and its cover/curtain was stained and had discolourations. Not very delicate. Nevertheless, I have to say that after only a day I was very satisfied with this bathroom, since toilets in India are quite nasty; dirty and often with no toiletpaper our soap and water. So being in India I guess this bathroom is quite good.

The spa area/ayurvedic treatment was very nice. Again,the rooms were the treatment occured was not very delicate, but the treatment was so nice that I can really recommend it. Comparing with European prices it is also very cheap.

The breakfast: a buffet of Indian dishes; soups, curries, Indian breads, all very spicy. You could also get toast, with butter and marmelade. Coffee/tea and juice. One can also order omelette/other egg meals and bacon.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We went to goa recently and decided to stay in Neelam after hearing lots of praises about it but reaching the hotel we realized that rates were higher compared to other alternatives. No doubt the hotel is big and grand but that alone doesnt matters. There were many other hotels offering similar or better rooms at lower rates and the beach isnt really that very close to the hotel that we could walk down to the beach. We stayed for one night in this hotel, rooms were good but service wasnt up to the mark so there are other alternatives you can find near calangute or baga beach with similar or better rooms and better service.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Our stay at Neelams the Grand was for 3 nights . We booked superior club plaza room through travelguru and requested for the room at 1st and 2nd floor at the time of booking itself. They allotted rooms at ground floor even repeated requests but assured in the evening they will shift to higher floor.

Repeatedly on a daily basis we were requesting to shift the room bcoz our kids are less than two years and the rooms are at ground floor and near to pool and there is no barrier to pool. (pool is at grnd floor level). If you do not watch your kids regularly they may fell down in the pool and there is no life guard. shamefully, staff is even insensitive about the kids.

Not spacious hotel. It seems one room kitchen residential apartments has been converted into a hotel. Hotel look like a residential complex which has only rooms nothing else. there is no space for the children to play around the hotel. Very thin corridor. Mumbaikar will feel they just have been temporarily shifted to another congested society of flats.

Television in my room was not working and instead of repeated reminders they just changed the TV on 3rd day. I had to ask for about everything to get them, right from towels, bath mat, coffee m/c to a proper housekeeping

In the morning at 6 o clock they start cleaning of swimming pool so there is no need to have an alarm clock, it makes terrible noise so you can’t sleep. On request to stop the machine, reception staff will answer our guests will use this pool from 7:30 so we cant stop, Please bear with us as you are not guest. Breakfast is too bad after spending Rs. 245 you will get oily puri - bhaji(aalo), chole, Poha, bread jam butter, Tea/Coffee.

The quality of food was average. On the whole our stay was not a pleasant one and I would never recommend anyone to plan their stay at the Neelams

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rangeela07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2010

I went for my honneymoon in the month of march 2009 and my hotel stay was for 4 nights and it was wonderfull.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kanojia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We were at this hotel for most of January and the first thing that comes to your attention is the amazingly impressive entrance and the incredibly friendly staff to greet you. We arrived kind of late and they gave us a room in D Block, it is the old part of the hotel and the rooms really are a bit grubby, it really is more of a three star at a push. Whilst we were in the room they phoned and offered us an upgrade to F Block. You get a lounge with flat screen tv and a bedroom with tv, both rooms have great air con. But still they are a bit faded and could do with renovation. It seems that they have concentrated all of their efforts on the new block right at the front and forgotten about the rest. However, this didn't ruin our time here. It is right at the top of the street leading to Calangute beach and taxi's are so cheap to go anywhere else.
I do agree with one writer's comments that the pool appears permanently cloudy so I didn't use it. Think they need to get their filters checked. It is also amazing that for a hotel that argues it has a business centre that there was no wifi for the whole time we were there, we had chosen it because of the wifi aspect for business whilst abroad so were really annoyed that it didn't exist. The staff in the hotel are really helpful and even though it is a self service breakfast they want to get you everything. There is a small assortment of Indian foods for breakfast and the resident chef is not exactly hard worked , he either stands by the toaster feeding bread or making only an assortment of omelettes.
The Russians now make up the most tourists in Goa therefore if you can put up with their pushy attitude as guests you will be ok. One tip, don't use the taxi pre=paid counter inside Dabolim airport. Use the one directly outside, it is cheaper and you also get air con in the car

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank th0mgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune/Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2010

neelam the grande is an excellent place to stay..although a little crowded..but it offers a complete value for money..i booked in advance and got in real cheap...The rooms are awsome with all the facilities...very neat and clean and well decorated..They throw in a 32inch LCD in all the rooms..so thats cool for those who want to stay in a lil more than others..always a plus...this place has a couple of inhouse restaurants,but ill advise not to dine over there..they have a sports bar too..u can catch some good games on there.. a nice swimming pool..but its all enclosed..situated close to calangute..its like in the centre of candolim and calangute..service was excellent..
room had almost everything in place when we checked in..they had shampoos,soap,mineral water,towels..everything preplaced.
highly recommended to stay if you dont want to stay opposite the beach..but its close by..

  • Liked — huge rooms and LCD's
  • Disliked — very much closed
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leo_vj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#6 of 110 in Calangute
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 110 in Calangute
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azzure By Spree Hotels
Azzure By Spree Hotels
#11 of 110 in Calangute
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
#35 of 206 in Calangute
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neelams The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neelams The Grand

Property: Neelams The Grand
Address: Post Office Road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Neelams The Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand in its true opulent style and grandeur architecture is the blend of perfect hospitality and old world charm. Comprising of 143 contemporarily appointed rooms and suites with large swimming pool, health club, multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop and largest Sports Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Neelams The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neelams The Grand Calangute
Neelams The Grand Hotel Calangute
Neelams The Grand Goa/Calangute
Neelams Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing