We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veru good”
Review of Neelams The Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neelams The Grand
Ranked #38 of 124 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is very good hotel and staff is very good but it is not very close to beach
you have to hire somthing to visit beach

it will be good if you avail the package including day trip

It is very good hotel and staff is very good but it is not very close to beach
you have to hire somthing to visit beach

it will be good if you avail the package including day trip

Room Tip: It is very good for stay if you dont want to visit beach every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mukkiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 604 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for a business conf. Great value for the money. Clean and comfortable. Our room was nice and big, but bathroom was tiny. Conference room was good and served its purpose well. Grounds are nice. Breakfast was almost completely Indian food with an omelette bar. Omelette chef doesn't know how to make an omelet without overcooking and making it brown. Only 1 type of fruit per day and low quality at that. Internet only available in the nice lobby area. Pool is a nice facility. Privacy of the hotel to outside people is good. Taxis readily available outside the hotel. Walk to the beach is 15 minutes through a very busy, dirty, section of town. Beach is horrible, but you can take a taxi to other beaches. Nice restaurants about 2-5 min taxi ride away.

Room Tip: make sure you have a room facing the pool, preferably not on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms are really good. The food is enjoyable. The pool is clean. the price is a downer.. location is almost perfect. You get privacy and quiet. The ambiance inside the hotel is great although the staff could have been more polite in the dialogue..
Go for it but expect a hitch here and a glitch there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usnnoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nellams Grand Resort is a really nice and well cared place to be.
I know,,, "nice" but in this case it's not a negative "nice" :-)

The staff is more than friendly even if the breakfast and Lunch buffé's are a bit booring, but the restaurant food and the roomservice more than compensates for that.
We had both roomservice and ate at the outdoor restaurant and it was really tasty and perfectly spicy :-)

The hotel is just about 800m from the beach and if you don't take a taxy, the "stroll" there is equal to Indiana Jones movies and you need eye's in the back of your head since the traffic is CRAZY. AND they drive on the wrong side of the street (left) Well, most of the time anyways...
But It's worth the exitement :-)

There are much to buy on the way to the beach and for only 200 Rupies, you can take a taxi to Bagha Beach, or just walk along the beach all the way there, We did and it was great.

The rooms are spaceus, and the cleaning is really great, leave 50 Roupies on the pillow and the cleaner makes it even better with fanciful creations on your bed using the towels.
The poolarea is great but could have more sunchairs, bathtowels are available at the pool, and the pool is well taken care of.

I Highly recommend this hotel, and I know that anyone staying here will like it.
It's not Hilton, but in India,,, well, just about.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the pool is a bit noisy in the mornings due to all the kids in the pool that opens at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bengt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

About my hotel experience: 40 countries - rate range $1.50 to $350...since 1982...yep I've seen it all..this hotel is a jewel about a 15 minute direct-casual walk down a shopping street in Calangute. Anyplace else you would be dropping about $300/night. The management/staff is great (disregard the whiners) and the service, restaurant (unbelievable free breakfast with omlette chef...get a 4 egger with everything)...the pool is awesome too...also...don't be concerned about Calangute being too much (maybe for India)...unless you're practically dead stay here...otherwise I'm sure one of those quiet places in Goa is for you.

Room Tip: look....they party til 4 in the morning in Goa....ask for a quiet room off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Goa had been fun until this time i visited GOA. We were staying @ Cedade de goa which a great place to start with. Wanted to shift from central goa to north. Saw The Grand in Calangute and did a check in. Terrible service started after my card was swiped by the front executive. except the bell boy no one had manners or warmth in words. room was decent but smell started pouring in from the room restroom. morning paper was asked to take from the front desk instead of room service. short of coffee cups. lack of clean towers in bathroom. To my surprise back up wasnt available for 10 minutes after lights are gone. food served in the morning was pathetic and of sub standard quality. it was more of a survivor series for me and my wife than a leisure stay.

<<< AVOID YOUR STAY>>>

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohakgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

it's very bad service provided by the hotel it's below the standard. The worst thing felt by me when it give the breakfast parcel in simple black polythin without any box which contains sandwich. In rooms the AC is not properly working & room condition was not good. Only good thing is that it is near to calangute beach in goa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unnatikumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeelamGoa, General Manager at Neelams The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Sir,

The included breakfast in the package is for consumption in the restaurant only.
We have checked our records throughly and there is no complaint about ineffective Air Conditioner.
What baffles us is that despite your mention of the faulty AC unit you chose to extend your stay in the same room for an extra night and paying directly.

We would however thank you for your patron and comments.

Warm regards

Avinder Chopra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.6 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#14 of 124 in Calangute
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#9 of 124 in Calangute
638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#54 of 124 in Calangute
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#48 of 124 in Calangute
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#28 of 124 in Calangute
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#104 of 124 in Calangute
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neelams The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neelams The Grand

Address: Post Office Road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $47 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Neelams The Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand in its true opulent style and grandeur architecture is the blend of perfect hospitality and old world charm. Comprising of 143 contemporarily appointed rooms and suites with large swimming pool, health club, multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop and largest Sports Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Neelams The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neelams The Grand Calangute
Neelams The Grand Hotel Calangute
Neelams The Grand Goa/Calangute
Neelams Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing