We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay Good place to stay near calangute beach”
Review of Neelams The Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neelams The Grand
Ranked #41 of 125 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Neelam's the grand is a good place to stay near calangute beach in goa. Calangute and Baga are both the happening beaches in goa and Neelam's the Grand is situated very close to both the beaches. One can stay at Neelam's and can walk down to both beaches. The food at the hotel is worth tasting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brijeshvillaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 614 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Neelam's the grand is a good place to stay near calangute beach in goa. Calangute and Baga are both the happening beaches in goa and Neelam's the Grand is situated very close to both the beaches. One can stay at Neelam's and can walk down to both beaches. The food at the hotel is worth tasting.

Room Tip: Rooms near pool are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bulandarneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are still in the hotel. .. awesome location with awesome people. Few glitches are there but the overall experience was too good.
My friend obani says... Superrr !!!

Super thanks to viren and valentina at the front desk. Very friendly and helpful. People like them add up to make a good holiday.

Thanks to them



  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiteshTalawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Did not stay here but paid to use the gym and ate in the restaurant one night. Food was aimed at the residents. Usual hotel buffet food - uninspiring. If we were to go again we would have the a la carte menu and freshly cooked food.
Used the gym most days of the holiday.I had worked hard at my home gym to tone up and lose weight. 3 weeks in Goa where road walking not a safe option Iwas determined not to completely undo my hard work. The gym is not big but then very few people use it so it is adequate. My only gripe was the beginner barbell weights were too heavy at 10 kilos. However I guess it is aimed at men guests. Amit the gym's trainer was great. I enjoyed our daily chats. The general manager of the hotel was the only other person to use the gym regularly when it opened at 8am so being small was not a problem.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

not a very pleasing experience. was made to wait for 2 hours at reception for checking. said reason was that room was not ready. Wasn't even offered water till asked, the front office manager was having his lunch for 45 mins, will I asked him to be at front office as he is the front office manager, and they call themself 4 star..lol. lot of other point-
1. was bombed with a surprise 3.5k INR per person amount. Compulsory for the shabby new year gala night. was not told by any means during pre booking. i booked my room, best available with them, around 4 months before.
2. New Year Gala night, thts wht they called it, was a boaring affair. My apartment has better new year party then it. It was more of bad food festival and money laundering spree for the hotel.
3. Money laundering was visible everywhere. The compulsory surprise amount for new year party, checking at 2PM and checkout at 10AM(the booking site mentioned both as 12PM). The hotel management refusing to honour terms mentioned in booking e-mail since my booking gateway was axisrooms. TO mention here, i didnt selected the booking gateway, i was directed to it through the HOTEL WEBSITE. all and all, an overpriced stay experience. but thats India and Goa and New year. thats how we made up our mood for new year and put all the forgery behind.

Room Tip: Make sure the amount is clarified. Get a mail from the hotel mail id. If its new year, prefer a non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank prabhatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeelamGoa, General Manager at Neelams The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Sir,


I think there is a little disconnect here. Your very expression of Money Laundering is way out of context . You are referring to the practice which is prevalent across the board with virtually all the resorts in Goa . During the high peak ( Christmas / New Year ) anyone staying through those dates have to pay for the Gala Dinner/s which is/are compulsory and are conditional for the confirmation of accommodation. This fact is listed on our website, all travel portals and most of the tariff related merchandising material that we have.

You chose the busiest time of the year and the very program that you claim you didn't like was appreciated by most of the guests who stayed during the period.

Check In and check out times are correct and again those are listed on our website.

I wish you had brought these things to my attention while you were there so that I could have satisfied your concerns.

I am sure you must really be busy to report the matter nearly three weeks into the New year.

Warm regards

Avinder Chopra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

As all other hotels were booked, I had to book in Neelam The Grand , Calangute from 13.1.13 to 16.1.13. After reading reviews of the hotel, I was little nervous about the hotel and I found that ratings given to this hotel by Tripadvisor is really true. We were in at 1.30 pm and still our room was not ready. First they gave us a corner room with no view at all. After I complained, then they provided a room facing pool, but without balcony.. Hygine was good, but food was not upto the mark. It was not tastey at all. Also walking to calangute beach from is very hectic. Staff is ok. But overall I will not recommend this hotel to any one as it is not VFM at all...

Abhijeet Bhande, Nashik, Maharashtra

Room Tip: Dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abhijeet1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeelamGoa, General Manager at Neelams The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for having taken the time out and giving us your valuable comments.
Notwithstanding the irritants we hope you had a good holiday otherwise. Just to add our bit to your causes of concern we would like to state :

1. The check in time is 1400 Hrs as displayed on our website and all other related merchandising material still the room was made available to you before the check in time.
2. Rooms are allocated on arrival and on first come first served basis. On expressing your concern you were offered and provided a pool facing room
3. Our food caterers to the international flavor and perhaps not as much savored by you. I wish you had brought it to the attention of our food & beverage staff and they would have been more than accommodating.
4. We do provide the shuttle to Calangute beach at no extra cost and as far as the location and the distance to the beach is concerned we regret our inability in resolving this situation.

Thank you for your patron!!

Warm regards

Avinder Chopra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in the hotel from 12th to 15th January. We had our bookings done well before our arrival . However we were allotted room no G13 on our 1st day. To our surprise ,the room had cracks on the wall . Our rooms were changed only after repeated requests . The hotel staff were not willing to give us the pool side rooms even though they were available. The room service was pathetic. Our rooms were not cleaned even on multiple requests. When asked the housekeeping guys replied very rudely. Given the cost , it is not value for money.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have a better view but do not have lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BinodGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeelamGoa, General Manager at Neelams The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for having taken the time out and giving us your valuable comments.
Notwithstanding the irritants we hope you had a good holiday otherwise. Just to add our bit to your causes of concern we would like to state :
• Guaranteed pool view rooms are charged a premium otherwise allotted on first come first served basis. Since we didn’t have a pool view room we indeed acceded to your request by allotting you the room to your liking
• The rooms are serviced once during the day
• If you remember right I had met you on check out and had satisfied all your concerns.
Thank you for your patron!!

Warm regards

Avinder Chopra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.6 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#15 of 125 in Calangute
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#104 of 125 in Calangute
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#48 of 125 in Calangute
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#8 of 125 in Calangute
643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#54 of 125 in Calangute
375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#27 of 125 in Calangute
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neelams The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neelams The Grand

Address: Post Office Road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $53 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Neelams The Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand in its true opulent style and grandeur architecture is the blend of perfect hospitality and old world charm. Comprising of 143 contemporarily appointed rooms and suites with large swimming pool, health club, multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop and largest Sports Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Neelams The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neelams The Grand Calangute
Neelams The Grand Hotel Calangute
Neelams Grand
Neelams The Grand Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing