We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beira Mar Alfran Resort
Ranked #68 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at the beira mar in November we asked for a high floor and our request was listened to.Our room was an ample size basic as we expected towels and beds changed daily when we handed our key in the towels were clean but dingy ,room cleaned to a decent standard . The view across the paddy fields was lovely .As to the restaurant my husband had severe food poisoning and all he had eaten was toast at breakfast and a mixed meat pizza at the beira mar by late afternoon he was ill two other people also were ill and thought it was from there. Thomas from reception was lovely also the security men infact all the staff were good we didnt see the room boys until the day before we left when they knocked the door to introduce themselves ! Location great if you want to be in the centre of everything for us a little too busy it will be better when all the pavements are finished .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    70
    69
    26
    39
See reviews for
30
86
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was the second time at the Beira mar for us last year we overlooked the fields and loved it so we emailed the hotel for the same room and got it. So yes they do listen to your requests.
Nothing has changed over the last 12 months.The room a bright airy yellow two single beds pushed together 1 wardrobe coffee table and 4 chairs and a balcony with a view worth more than any 5 star price. The room is cleaned and changed on request once a day or once a fortnight just hand your keys in at reception. The bedding is not Percil white however it is washed and clean may be a shock to some people if you are expecting European standards
The towels also sometimes had a slight Oder something if you are not expecting can be a bit off putting .Once you get used to the fact you are not in the Hilton It becomes a fun part of your holiday .The food grounds and the general upkeep of this hotel are well above average .The staff will do anything for you.We had a big problem with the toilet one day reported it at 9am was repaired before we returned full marks there
Another plus for this hotel is 80% of the guests are from the Uk that return year in year out so when you say good morning at breakfast you get a reply
We will certainly be returning next year as the location and value for money are one of the best in Baga
.
.

Room Tip: dont go with high expectations think of travel lodge in the UK as 5star
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clifftonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are looking for a 3star plus hotel with tv in your room and air conditioning, then this is not for you. This hotel is very basic but the food is great, the pools (2 pools) are clean and it is in a very central location in Baga. it is opposite East meets West restaurant, one of the most popular restaurants in Goa, it is only 5 mins walk to the beach and the restaurant and one of the pools looks out over the paddy fields where you can watch water buffalos and many varieties of birds. Also only 5 mins to main baga strip with bars n restaurants and short taxi ride to calangute

If you can choose your room then dont go for one in the main block with views to the paddy field as they are smaller

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopyloutaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've been to Goa 4 times now and stayed at this hotel twice. Myself and a few friends stayed there for 3 weeks last time and again I was neither upset or thrilled with the stay we had. But like with most things in life you get what you pay for, with this hotel being at the 'budget' end of the scale I would recommend it if your money can only go so far.

THE BAD POINTS; The food provided at the hotel was sub-standard and took far too long, i'm a patient man but I only had 3 weeks to wait and at one point considered eating my shoes to suppress my hunger pangs. Also for a similar price much better is available within a 10 minute radius I would recommend cafe lazy days (CSM ROAD) great service and food!

The room boys were some of the worst I've experienced, extremely rude and practically demanded tips for sitting on a wall all day and one point I thought they wanted to shake hands every time they saw me until I learned that it was tipsthey wanted- I refrained from the old 'don't eat yellow snow' line.

GOOD POINTS- the pool(s) were very nice and clean, the rooms were basic but accommodated for all the basic needs you might have. There was fresh linen put on the beds every day and the room was cleaned to a standard you'd expect.

The location was what really swung it for me. You are a 10 minute walk to the beach and even closer to the famous 'tito's road'! Restaurants are nearby... practically everything you'd need is on your doorstep basically.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyM1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is GOOD FOR NOTHING( BAD STAFF, BAD PLACE, BAD SERVICE). Please read the complete review. The worst ever experience in any hotel so far. I recently had booked this hotel by making a payment to cleartrip. I was expecting a smooth checkin, but it wasn't. Since they did not received payment from the travel site, they made us stranded for almost 2 hours. They were demanding advance payment which I refused as I had already paid to travel site. Instead of they calling the travel site, they made me call to travel site for several times. The cell phone signal quality is so poor, but still they even did bother to offer their landline to speak to customer care. The manager who sits there is the most useless nerd (forgot his name, but the mustache man, who wears a orange shirt), dont know why he is still employed there. Why the hell the customer should suffer the non-payment by 3rd party. If they don't trust their partner, why the hell they partner with them. I wish cleartrip should remove their hotel from their listing.
Just when we entered the room, there was so much dust. Their room are stinking so much. The tap water in bathroom also stinks badly like its coming from gutter.
There is no room service for cleaning rooms, changing towels, etc.
While the online brochure stated we would also have TV, the hotel room didn't have. I was seriously no mood in another argument to spoil my holiday, so I just ignored it.
There is so much of voltage flutuations there, looks like the hotel is withrawing more power than its capacity. Frequent power failures, There is no power backup for the rooms, especially in the night, not event for a single lamp, neither they provide candles or so.
The mineral water bottles kept in their rooms are 6 months old, stinks like medicines.
Always the same breakfast - raw bread (no toasted ones), butter and jam and some curry.
Another incident, we went for breakfast on 2nd day, at the same place we had breakfast on 1st day, some of their person asked our room no, after answering he checked with the hotel office and then allowed us to take breakfast, sometime after while we were having breakfast, another nerd comes over and says we are suppose to have breakfast at the another tent, and this was for some jayanta group, so we left our breakfast and went to other tent, their again the same nerd says since we already had breakfast at other counter, we are not supposed to have again. What the hell is this, this is how they treat their guests. How much is your hotel going to loose with 2 slices of bread and butter?

Room Tip: dont ever book here. this hotel is also known as Grand chandra resort, so please beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neelesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

its a two star hotel in India so dont book it for a honeymoon or take your gran here. If youre after value and a good location then its fine. There were ants in the bathroom but the room itself was clean enough although basic. Bathroom/shower was v basic but again you get what you pay for and we didnt go to India to stay in our hotel. We didnt eat at the hotel save for the odd snack but plenty of people did and i didnt hear any complaints, There are so many places to eat within a 5 minute walk that youre really spoilt for choice. Can hire mopeds from reception and get your washing done also, both are v cheap. Would reccomend as a base to explore from whcih we did as this was our first trip to india. Wouldnt reccomend if youre planning on staying at the hotel for two weeks. Great views from pool also. Dont count on breakfast either-was just tea,coffee and toast when we stayed

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jimlocallad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Please avoid this resport. Its pathetic. Rooms are leaking and walls are dripping and smelling yuck!
Housekeeping staff are on leave forever as rooms are dirty too.

One word: AVOID!!

If you are with your family or special ones looking forward to give them a good experience, please dont go here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nikhilrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bonanza
Hotel Bonanza
#11 of 24 in Baga
138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#40 of 110 in Calangute
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#32 of 110 in Calangute
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#5 of 24 in Baga
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
23.6 mi away
The Fern Beira Mar Resort
The Fern Beira Mar Resort
#1 of 28 in Benaulim
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beira Mar Alfran Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beira Mar Alfran Resort

Property: Beira Mar Alfran Resort
Address: Baga Road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beira Mar Alfran Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beira Mar Alfran Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beira Mar Alfran Hotel Calangute
Beira Mar Alfran Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing