We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beira Mar Alfran Resort
Ranked #68 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Please avoid this resport. Its pathetic. Rooms are leaking and walls are dripping and smelling yuck!
Housekeeping staff are on leave forever as rooms are dirty too.

One word: AVOID!!

If you are with your family or special ones looking forward to give them a good experience, please dont go here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nikhilrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    70
    69
    26
    39
See reviews for
30
86
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England - West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

A group of 11 of us stayed here for 2 weeks in April (Easter holiday) let me just say ignore the bad reviews you are in a second world country you dont expect paradise! Yes the building looks old from the outside but it is just b&b it's just somewhere to rest your head at night.

The rooms are fairly accurate, air con was great, fridge was always cold we relied on the fridge we put shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste the lot in here because everything was just melting in the bathroom it was that hot! The cleaners did a great job and would clean everyday for you if you wanted they were fab with us, I rate them for cleaning our room because even though it was very hot and humid they didn't care they carried on with their job and not everyday do you get your room cleaned when you go abroad but here in goa they did!

Breakfast was basic just toast, bread rolls, coffee and tea however you could pay for anything else such as egg on toast, cereal, full breakfast etc.. At just a small cost a full English breakfast would be like £1.50 that's how cheap goa is! The food is great here yes it takes a while for it to come but at least you know it's been cooked properly! You can have your breakfast, lunch & dinner here.

Staff are ever so friendly at this place I have never met so many nice people even outside this place they were friendly such as people in the street, taxi drivers, bar and restaurant staff everyone is friendly in goa

Now let's talk about outside the hotel. You are literally only have to walk outside the drive/ pathway and you are right by everything, shops, bars, restaurants everything! The beach is literally a 5-10 minute walk it is not far at all! You take a left out of the hotel, carry straight up and take he first right and you will be in titos road & you can on straight down that road & you are on the beach. I would recommend cafe del mar on the beach it's a little bit further down the beach but it is the cleanest shack I have seen on the beach, they have lots of Sunbeda at the back not only just at the front! Staff are very friendly especially ronnie, the food and drinks are little bit more expensive than the others but it is worth it because the food is absolutely fantastic here and you can see them cooking, it is very clean with extremely clean toilets that has dettol soap!! And showers!

Baga is very busy and I dont think they have any road sense at all! I've never seen anything like it before it is a once in a lifetime experience, like they say once you go there you can't resist yourself to go back

Anyway it's how you make your holiday, yes it looks like dirt when you get there but it grows on you & you'll love it

Oh and try and go on trips the elephant trip was the best never ever would you get a chance to ride an elephant and get washed by one, don't book it with your rep or anything like that it is cheaper to book with taxis they will take you there stay all day with you & you pay when you get there for the trip all together out of 3 of us it was £15 each with the taxi as well where as if you booked with your rep it would of cost us £45 each! Go and see the markets as well you can get some wicked bargains in perfect conditions!

One quick tip women if you go in the sea be very careful!! By bikini came off the waves are very strong & could literally float you off into the sea the death rates are very high for the Indians because they dont know how to swim!

If there is anything please don't hesitate to ask we all had a fab time & would defintly recommend goa and this hotel we had a wicked time here!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hannah-Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of march and had an amazing time. Was a bit worried by some of the bad reviews at first but do not let them put you off!!!
The hotel cost us a few quid each a night and was definately worth it, the rooms are basic but quite big and only get cleaned if you give the key to the room boys, they didnt do the best job and would hang round waiting for tips, but we spent hardly any time in the room anyway. The location is perfect, right by everything, the food in the hotel is lovely, we ate there many times and it was lovely and really cheap. Staff are really nice, especially on reception and the security guards, the pools are fine, there were a few negatives which you would get with any hotel but you really cannot fault the hotel for the price and location, I dont know why some people moan on here it is a 2 star hotel in india, you get what you pay for and more, we would definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone going to Goa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed at the beira mar at the begining of april and all i can say is it is basic.The room we got had no air conditioning just a fan the beds were rock hard with about a 2inch mattress on and the rooms locked with a bolt outside. The rooms got cleaned daily if you give your key in but they didnt do a good job and just wanted a tip mainly for doing next to nothing.The hotel is large but very rundown it has 2 pools which were cleaned daily but most days a couple of frogs joined us in there.The food at the hotel was good but we only tried light snacks if we were by the pool otherwise we ate out as there is a lot of places to eat.The hotel is ideally situated for the beach and bars and shopping and you can always get a taxi to get out and explore which is what we did most days.There are plenty of trips to do and we found them cheaper by just getting a taxi driver to take you we used the same one for the 2 weeks we were there he spoke good english and showed us all the sights.The waterfall fall trip was good and a trip to see the crocks on the river and the drivers know lots of good quiet clean beaches to take you to as baga beach isnt the cleanest with lots of dogs roaming about that are friendly enough but they leave there mess behind as do all the locals broken glass rubbish etc.hope you find this review helpfull.

Room Tip: never accept the first room they give you its usually the worst they show you first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazngaz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was the second time at the Beira mar for us last year we overlooked the fields and loved it so we emailed the hotel for the same room and got it. So yes they do listen to your requests.
Nothing has changed over the last 12 months.The room a bright airy yellow two single beds pushed together 1 wardrobe coffee table and 4 chairs and a balcony with a view worth more than any 5 star price. The room is cleaned and changed on request once a day or once a fortnight just hand your keys in at reception. The bedding is not Percil white however it is washed and clean may be a shock to some people if you are expecting European standards
The towels also sometimes had a slight Oder something if you are not expecting can be a bit off putting .Once you get used to the fact you are not in the Hilton It becomes a fun part of your holiday .The food grounds and the general upkeep of this hotel are well above average .The staff will do anything for you.We had a big problem with the toilet one day reported it at 9am was repaired before we returned full marks there
Another plus for this hotel is 80% of the guests are from the Uk that return year in year out so when you say good morning at breakfast you get a reply
We will certainly be returning next year as the location and value for money are one of the best in Baga
.
.

Room Tip: rooms facing the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jipph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn lancs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

just returned from beira mar goa as the title says it was please go with eyes wide open as you are in india so 5 star is a no no but you are not paying 5 star prices it was very clean,helpful and lovely staff,5 star food very extensive menu and also food themed nights and very cheap agree with posts about room boys a bit nuisance but if you tell to sod off they do and suppose they are just trying to make a living cant wait return next year you must go to bongo beach beach for excellent service and food and will reserve you sunbeds so say hi to salvo and the boys also jamies restaurant but good idea to book in advance

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nellsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

we have been back to the beira mar for the last 4 years.we cannot understand why alot of people are slagging the hotel.wat you have got to remember is that you are in INDIA.if you want something posh then go pay for it,the staff are fantastic they will go all out to help you nothing is too much trouble (and thats not because they want a tip)the guys in the bar and restaurant and brill and that includes raymond (bar manager)we always stay for 8 weeks and we never want to leave.we book for the next year as soon as we arrive there/we would not consider staying anywhere else but at the beira mar we treat it as our second home.the loction is great .the beaches are lovely.we have got to meet some fantastic people over the last 4 years and all these people are repeat customers to the beira mar.all i will say is give it a try i can promise you will have a great holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpc5036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bonanza
Hotel Bonanza
#11 of 24 in Baga
138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#40 of 110 in Calangute
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#32 of 110 in Calangute
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#5 of 24 in Baga
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
23.6 mi away
The Fern Beira Mar Resort
The Fern Beira Mar Resort
#1 of 28 in Benaulim
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beira Mar Alfran Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beira Mar Alfran Resort

Property: Beira Mar Alfran Resort
Address: Baga Road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beira Mar Alfran Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beira Mar Alfran Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beira Mar Alfran Hotel Calangute
Beira Mar Alfran Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing