We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost, basic and good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tivai Beach Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Tivai cottages caters to your basic necessities for a comfortable stay at a low price. They do not serve food or have room service. But you get to be right on the beach (well, exaggerated - its around 50mts from the beach) and there are shacks and restaurants very near and all around you. If you are looking for luxury rooms, room service, waiting upon, and high quality food in the room, this is not for you.

Personally, I feel the place might be suited for groups - family or friends and couples if you dont mind cottages made of wood and lack of thick walls. ;-)

Pros:
Around 50 meters from the beach. Yes, the beach and that is why you are in Goa!

And the water sports. Walk to the beach and you have it all there

Food is all around you - there are many shacks on the beach. Though Tivai themselves do not serve food, there is a restaurant nearby serving decent food and can bring food to your room when you ask. They were better than many of the shacks around.

The rooms are small but nice and the bathrooms too are fine. Good quite place to stay and sleep peacefully.

The guys at the cottage - Alistair and co, are non-intrusive and get to you when you need them. Unlike hotels where they look for tips only.

The Bad:

The non-AC rooms can be quite warm, especially in the afternoons. make it your choice if you cannot get the AC rooms. Goa can be pretty warm from late Feb until the monsoons.

The bath and toilet in the non-AC cottage has its the top open to inside the cottage itself. Dint smell bad but depends on your roomie too. And there was this small frogie which visits the last cottage bathroom every night. No harm - just ignore.


Tips:

Make sure you opt for AC rooms - the others are pretty much like an oven from late mornings up until nights. This was in Feb and Goa gets warmer thereafter until monsoons.

It can be difficult to reach from the main road if you do not know your way. Once you have your cab or rental vehicle you are good to go. And if you are there for the beach, why bother for the route - the beach is right next to you.

Most cabs and taxis find it extremely difficult to reach the place as the place is not well known. So, ask the cottage guys for the cab (Ibrahim - good service, nominal rates) or trust your Google map route.

Food at the shacks are good but there is a restaurant (or shack or whatever), right next to Tivai and they serve better food than the on-the-beach shacks. Ask the guys at Tivai.

Room Tip: Make sue you opt for the ac ones - the others are way too warm during the day
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DonThomasJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Tivai Beach Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 150 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Had a nice cool vacation.....Good people...they are perfect when it comes to planning vacation...you have babash when it comes to reservation...you arrive at airport and you find ibrahim,..the perfect taxi guy...you enter cottages and you have Aliston n Sunil....till you land on airport for departure they make your vaation a memorable one....though the cottages are simple with basic amenities these guys go to the extra mile to give you the best....i have given 4 rating because i want these cottages to be the best ....the location itself is so beautiful and silent together with a good staff.....

Room Tip: Go there if you want a simple life right next to the beach
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrishnaDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangutebeachhuts, Owner at Tivai Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Krishna,

Thank you very much for visiting Tivai and writing a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to learn that you liked our stay.
Its all Teamwork here and we know we have the best of team to give our guests a memorable vacation.
We are renovating next year with complete Sea facing cottages just as our south Goa property Casa Fiesta.
Once again, we would like to express our appreciation and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Thanks & regards,
Babash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

i satyed in tivai for 3 nights
for me goa means beach beach and beach
and tivai is just on the beach.u can have ur breakfast lunch dinner or whatever u wana
good shacks....good food...good atmosphere...beer ....not so crowded..beach and best is SUN SET frm beach....gr8 feeling
so overall a good place to stay
BUT CAN B BEST PLACE IF OWNER MAKE SOME EFFORTS
1.arrange water inside the cottages
2.minimum personal attention to guests
3bathrooms need proper water drainage.may b my cottage had drainage problem

but all these things go to side if it comes to beach stay
a fantastic place with basic aminities
no VIP treatment

overall fantastic place if goa means beach
if u wan luxury,then go to other expensive hotel and miss beaches or arrange taxis for every visit

Room Tip: choose tivai only
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanujgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangutebeachhuts, Owner at Tivai Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Sir, thank you for your awesome feedback. We We are glad you liked our place. We hope to have you with us again. Regards to your loved ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

No wonder we all would like to GOA but it works out well when we get the best place to stay, Tivai Beach Cottages gives you that amazing experience you would ever desire for. I would remember Sunset and Sunrise view from my cottage throughout my life OMG its so amazing. Let it be water sports, shacks, pub everything is happening at this place with few minutes away. Hospitality is awesome and i made lot of friends and will definitely visit them again without any doubt.

Thanks again for making my stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrishydparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Simple and comfortable wooden cottages bang on the beach. That's how I can describe the Tivai beach cottages. The cottages are at a less than even 50 meters from the beach. The rooms are very basic and simple with basic requirements like a comfortable bed, TV and a clean bathroom. Don't expect a 3 or 5 star luxury from them. They are purely meant for souls who are in Goa to enjoy the beaches and beer and are hardly going to spend any time in the rooms.

The cottages are located somewhere between Candolim and the Calangute beaches. All the major attractions like Anthony's, Brittos and Titos are at a distance of 10 mins drive from the cottages.

The staff of the hotel aliastar and Sunit are extremely helpful and courteous. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tivai beach resort and will recommend the place to all those who want to have a good clean simple place to stay on the beach in a small budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddharth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Tivai beach resort – Simple but real fun Wooden cottage stay for those who want to enjoy the goa beach. The cottages are simple, clean with basic requirement like bed, clean bathroom, hot water showers and air-condition are made available. The cottages don’t have a kitchen but the proximity to the beach makes up for it. You get up and walk 30 steps from your cottage and you are at chellesa shack on the beach which serves yummy food (veg and non veg) and drinks. Alistar and sunil both the guys managing the cottage are very helpful and ensure all your legitimate needs are taken care of. Please note that the feel good factor for this place is not by seeing it but by staying there for at least 24 hours. Also note that it is not a 3 or 5 star property so don’t go with expectation of finding a pool or a carpet room or great interiors. It’s for those who wanna stay in a clean neat place on the beach. The cottages are placed mid way between Calangute & condolium beach which ensure you the fun without too much crowd. Also all main attraction such as Titos club, Anthony restaurant at bagha or britto or calangute market are within 10 minutes drive on the bike.



Note that the approach road to the place in the night becomes lonely and deserted but we had no problem travelling at 2am in the night on all 3 nights we were there.



Being a property on the beach, you do have an odd frog come in your room but don’t worry frog don’t harm u and if u still afraid shout for sunil or alistar and they will drive it out.



We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tivai beach resort and will recommend the place to all those who wanna have a good clean simple place to stay on the beach in a small budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jitushah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangutebeachhuts, Owner at Tivai Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Hi Jitu,

Thanks for your review.Its nice that you liked your stay at our property.

So far,this is the best feedback that we received in detail.

We are making a lot of changes next year with roof top sea view balconies and good quality beach cottages.Also we have installed lights on the road next to us with the help of local Panchayat.Genuine feedback like you will surely help us grow to No.1 in Calangute.

We will continue to strive for excellent value and higher satisfaction levels of our clients.

Hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Babash
Tivai beach cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have been there for my honeymoon for 7 days, well i like it very much. They have all basic services like TV Fan etc.
its just 10 steps away from the beach and it fabulous to have breakfast/lunch/beer right on the beach in different sacks and best thing is they provide you bikes on rent.
I enjoyed it a lot. thanks a lot for awesome services and location
recommended for others who love to adjust little bit for an awesome trip of Goa ;)

Room Tip: Its very hot in day time and very cold in night time so either go for ac one else ask for blankets
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahulvpandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangutebeachhuts, Owner at Tivai Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Hi Rahul,

Thanks for your review.Its nice that you liked your stay at our property.

We are making a lot of changes next year with sea view balconies and good quality beach cottages.

We have one more property in south known as Casa Fiesta and we are making it exactly like those cottages.

We try and offer the best and not the things which you said in this review and that's why we are in the top ten in specialty accommodation in calangute for last two years.

We will continue to strive for excellent value and higher satisfaction levels of our clients.

Hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Babash
Tivai beach cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.8 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 116 in Calangute
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#45 of 116 in Calangute
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 116 in Calangute
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
2.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calangute Residency
Calangute Residency
#18 of 116 in Calangute
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivai Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivai Beach Cottages

Address: On the beach,Near paradise Village beach Resort | Landmark:Near St. peters bakery,Tivai Wado, Calangute, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Price Range: $32 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tivai Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tivai beach cottages,calangute beach Goa are located right on the beach.With 10 individually designed cottages on the beach it gives you everything you need to enjoy a memorable holiday. There is the sound of the waves breaking in an unending continuum and there is this superb view of the Arabian Sea that will leave you thrilled beyond description.With a awesome sea food beach restaurant attached to this property you will also get a choice of almost 200 plus beach shacks on the beach.Saturday night market,Titos,Mambos,Watersports are just 5 minutes away yet this place is quite silent compared to the busy calangute main entrance.We are just 400 mtrs towards the left of calangute beach entrance right on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Tivai Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivai Beach Cottages Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing