We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decades”

The World Famous Decades Bar
Ranked #2 of 7 Nightlife in Calangute
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a British owned Bar and Restaurant offering excellent food in beautiful scenic surroundings with good service at reasonable prices. We have live music Monday, Thursday and Friday with all premiership football shown on multiple screens at the weekend. We also have two pool tables. We are only ten minutes from the roundabout at Calangute Beach Road Bus Station.
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decades”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

On my first visit to Go in Dec 2012 my partner and I whiled away many happy hours in Decades Bar, even with the roadworks going on !! Jackie & Brad and all the staff were the most wonderful hosts, - can,t wait to see them again this year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecadesBar, Owner at The World Famous Decades Bar, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks pam for taking the time to give us a review. we are glad you enjoyed your frequent visits with us and hope you continue in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    10
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Night out!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went to Decades last night for the first time. The Goan "season" hasn't started yet so it was good news to find such a venue trading in the monsoon (it is pouring down as I write). Decades is conveniently located on the Calangute/Arpora Road.

We had a great night out. The owners, Brad and Jackie, introduced themselves very pleasantly. The food was excellent, one western dish and one beautiful vegetable curry with jeera rice to die for. Large Kingfisher (660ml) was just 70 rupees (70p-yep, it's 100 rupees to the £ at the mo, great news for the Brits!). Large local G and Ts were just 80 rupees.

Enough of the prices etc.....the atmosphere was warm, friendly and welcoming with a terrific live band playing from 8 to midnight with just one short break. They played a huge range of great music-reggae, rock, pop, motown, indie, heavy metal, soft rock-with great skill and lovely harmonies. They are Decades' regular Friday night band. Not to be missed.

There was a good balance of both European and Indian customers, all friendly and welcoming to us "newbies".

We are visiting again tonight for more live music. And for any of you cynics out there, we are not facebook friends or personal friends of the owners. We simply took a punt on a venue new to us in Goa, and struck gold.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecadesBar, Owner at The World Famous Decades Bar, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our bar after your visit with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We have successfully maintained our live music three nights a week throughout the monsoon period and it has been a great pleasure for us as owners to be able to take the time to speak and get to know our customers a little during this time. We look forward to seeing you and Barbara here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worlds greatest”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great bar, with great food, great atmosphere, just get there, its great. pool area, great hosts in jackie and brad being evertonians.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chrischris40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great nites in decades bar”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

we went to this bar on numerous nites,had some great nights playin killer,pool game were evrybody in the pub got involved,we sat with the hosts many a nite who gave us some great tips on were to go in the local area around calangute aurpora,friendly peeps great bar,we were there nov 2013 jus as the bar opened,we would definatly call back again on are nxt trip to goa,cheers evry one king kenny liverpool.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kingkenny1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic bar and restaurant”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I have spent a few great nights in this restaurant, firstly in November when i travelled alone as a single female and the second time in April with my partner. It was the only place I felt comfortable going alone for something to eat and drink without the risk of being pestered and knowing there was some good company in there. I can certainly recommend the prawn masala and the egg fried rice is to die for. Entertainment is great and there is something on one of the nights that would suit everyone. Brad and Jackie are great hosts, and definitely run it is a thriving business. Toilets are clean, free wifi, food is good, drinks are sensibly priced, staff are happy as are the clientele who return night after night. One night after suffering from a dodgy tummy all day, a cheese salad sandwich was sent home for me with my partner as they knew I hadn't eaten, where else can you get that service?? I will definitely be returning next season and hope Decades Bar reaches the success is deserves.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The World Famous Decades Bar also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to The World Famous Decades Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing