We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The facts”

The World Famous Decades Bar
Ranked #2 of 7 Nightlife in Calangute
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a British owned Bar and Restaurant offering excellent food in beautiful scenic surroundings with good service at reasonable prices. We have live music Monday, Thursday and Friday with all premiership football shown on multiple screens at the weekend. We also have two pool tables. We are only ten minutes from the roundabout at Calangute Beach Road Bus Station.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the first season this bar has opened and considering you have to book a table generally a few days in advance speaks for itself. Reading through other reviews, it's plainly obvious it's not a night club, so if you wanna go clubbing go and hit the over priced tito's road. Here you will get excellent food, excellent entertainment, in a friendly atmosphere . And still have enough money left over to go back the next night. As I pointed out this bar has been open since November , considering you can drive all round north Goa and find most other restaurants with no more than a couple of tables full, then I guess there doing something right.

1  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecadesBar, Owner at The World Famous Decades Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our bar. We are glad to see you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"book a table"
in 4 reviews
"tuesday night"
in 2 reviews
"beef burger"
in 2 reviews
"visit goa"
in 3 reviews
"live music"
in 3 reviews
"north goa"
in 2 reviews
"brad"
in 20 reviews
"karaoke"
in 9 reviews
"proven"
in 2 reviews
"arpora"
in 3 reviews
"goan"
in 4 reviews
Filter

50 - 54 of 63 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

this is a very well run clean bar and restaurant with a very friendly helpful british couple.. has some really good entertainment most nights with a massive screen to watch ur favourite football team play or watch the cricket.. nothing is too much trouble for them and the staff.. the food is great would recommend the crispy chicken.. this will not be the place for everyone but remember... its not a nightclub like someone commented and as for cockroachs in food, the bar wasnt open in oct 2012 when he says he visited.... i would suggest u make up ur own mind and any problem tell the staff.. overall one of the best bar/restaurants in goa... keep up the good work guys

2  Thank natalie6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecadesBar, Owner at The World Famous Decades Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you Natalie for taking the time to review our bar. We are so glad you enjoyed it and can promise you that we will maintain our excellent entertainment and service next season and look forward to seeing you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Thankfully we found Decades at the beginning of the season in Oct/November and have loved every minute my friends and i have spent there on a weekly basis since... this was just what Goa needed,
Almost Famous the live band on a Monday night are brilliant and the place really rocks!!! other evenings were equally good fun with a comedian on Fridays and various other entertainments through the week,
Its also one of the few places i feel really comfortable going to alone in the day time for a drink, or snack to relax and the WIFI is a big bonus too... the owners Jackie and Brad have always been really helpful and friendly and the food is good & reasonably priced...what more can you ask??
The place really took off this season proven by the fact you couldnt get a seat if you doidont book!!! and we shall look forward to its continuing success :)

2  Thank chillyandKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecadesBar, Owner at The World Famous Decades Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks Gilly for your review, we have looked forward to your regular visits to our bar and thank you for your support. The nights here on a Monday are made so special by people like you who dance and thoroughly enjoy the entertainment, they would not be as good without the participation of the audience. we look forward to providing more great nights next season and look forward to seeing you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I would like to recommend a fab little bar on the Apora road called Decades bar it's out a little bit which is fab because you get a lovely breeze while you are watching live music and karaoke and comedians . They also do food English and Indian . The staff and the owners run round you to make you most welcome and every time I visited you have to book to get a table . For a new bar they have cracked it . Every time they had entertainment it was packed cant wait to visit Decades next season

2  Thank Pompeychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecadesBar, Owner at The World Famous Decades Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks Christine, enjoyed your company and your great sense of humour. We will be providing entertainment again next year and look forward to seeing you again, we are also going to fix the step.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Definitely not worth a five point rating, nice to sit in for a short while but not a happening nightlife spot at all. I went on to some other bars with nicer crowds after a single beer, which is not really a point in this places favor. To have a good nightlife experience I would recommend going to a proper club or at least a more happening bar than this one.

1  Thank Beerbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecadesBar, Owner at The World Famous Decades Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We are sorry you were disappointed and as you say you should go to a nightclub to find what you were looking for not a bar/restaurant providing entertainment as we do. We are not a nightclub and find the majority of our customers enjoy our great range of entertainment and music from the 50s, the 60s, the 70s, etc. Hence the name Decades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The World Famous Decades Bar also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to The World Famous Decades Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing