We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A natural healing place”
Review of Pousada Tauma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Tauma
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
1 review
“A natural healing place”
Reviewed March 1, 2009

What a change! From snow and ice to pure sunshine at this wonderful place like Pousada Tauma. The welcome and the stay for us three ladies (one from India, two from Switzerland) was more than we ever expected. In need of a rest we found recovery in many ways: from the very beginning the personal care about our well-being was exceptionally lovely.The beautiful garden is a natural peaceful healing place. The decor in each suite is unique! Swimming in the pool was just fantastique and the food, daily fresh prepared according to our wishes, was excellent. Fourteen days were definitely not enough to discover all the beautiful spots in Pousada Tauma. We hope to get the chance to come again.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Akalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    19
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
130
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

This was our fifth stay at Pousada Tauma and remarkably it was even better than all the other trips we’ve had so far. I cannot say enough of great things about this place. The hotel is beautiful; each room (we have stayed in five and seen and love them all) is unique but shares a common Goan - Portuguese style with Neville’s (the owner’s) eclectic, artistic touch making all the difference. It is quaint and personal but has all the trimmings you would want without any of the loud excesses. The location is outstanding…secluded yet convenient. Food is great, service is prompt, the pool is super and surrounded by beautiful flowering plants that are seen all over the property. This time, we stayed in the Palm suite, which was the best yet…lovely room with four-poster bed with an outdoor and inside sitting area, which allowed us to entertain some friends. But it’s not just the place. It’s the warmth of the staff (Matthew outdoes himself) that makes all the difference. It like staying in you own personal villa! Every time, before I write a review, I wonder whether I should keep this relatively unknown hotel to myself or share its secret with other travelers. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

This was my first visit to this place and it turned out to be probably my best visits to Goa. Pausada Tauma is a 12 suite boutique hotel with the most friendly people, the most serene surroundings, the best food and the most wonderful architecture.
I had gone there with my husband and friends and we absolutely enjoyed it, so much that we almost always were within the property.
What I loved about this place the most was that they let you be. This place understands the meaning of holiday in a true sense. You get up when you want, have breakfast when you want and where you want, do whatever you want and that too in the pace you want, no restriction of any kind. Everyone at that place had a sweet smile on their face and we were never told "No" for anything. They all did their best to make us feel special and welcomed, from the time we entered till the time we checked out. Its a place where you would be pampered to the core.
I have stayed in other properties in Goa but by far this was my best and the most memorable experience. I dont think this place requires any ratings cos I feel its beyond all that.
I would love to go back and stay there.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PayalUchil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2009

I spent absolutely gorgeous days in this very beautiful hotel. I enjoyed the extreme amiability of its staff, the top-service and got very interesting insights in the Indian culture during my dinners with the hotel owner.
With its big and very beautiful tropical gardens includig orchids, butterflies, all kind of birds, parrots, a big pond of koi carps and the funny mongoose, the hotel is like a paradiese in the middle of Calangute.
The city centre is just a few minutes away, the beach, too, but the hotel was so great, that I spent my time in the calm pool area during my whole stay.
The garden, pool area, the very romantic bungalows ....all is very neat and the restaurant is for sure the very best from Calangute.
The Pousada Tauma is a great place to enjoy unforgettable holidays.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank Tiwanaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Pousada Tauma for four nights at the end of December '08. The hotel was gorgeous. You walk through lush gardens to a beautiful pool around which 12 or so suites are situated. It was a very peaceful and beautiful place to stay. We stayed at a suite on the ground level that was huge! India is an incredible country but it can get slightly overwhelming at times with so many people, the dirt, etc. But, somehow as soon as you walk onto the hotel grounds, you feel very mellow and happy. Everything was very clean, the service was excellent, and the food (traditional goan) was delicious. Literally, anything we needed-internet access, sunscreen, a private car etc-we had access to. And, the owner and his staff gave us great recommendations for beaches, day trips, restaurants, and shopping that were very hip and memorable. We would definitely go back to this hotel!

  • Liked — The grounds of the hotel and the pool!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DCgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

A delightful experience and a week at Pousada Tauma is definitely not long enough!! My husband and I loved every aspect of this Boutique Hotel, the beautiful gardens, the tranquil swimming pool, our beautiful deluxe suite and the ever attentive staff. Matthew, who was available 24/7, who attended to all requests instantly and efficiently and who is delightful, courteous and friendly. Neville (the owner) will advise on what to see, where to shop and which beaches to relax at and one should take his advise, we where never disappointed. The suites are tucked away in the garden with their own private patios, they are all unique and furnished with beautiful pieces that Nevill has taken time and care to choose. The linen is crisp and fresh, the beach and bath towels are changed daily, shampoos, conditioner and soaps are provided. All our meals where delicious....the pineapple juice just doesn't get fresher!!! For a tranquil peaceful getaway from the hustle and bustle of the town you could not make a better choice than Pousada Tauma. Take the time to chat to Neville who is interesting and extremely knowledgeable on not only Goa but India in general. If it is furniture you are after...he might even take you shopping!!!

  • Liked — tranquill and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas texas
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2009

My wife and I were seeking a few days of rest and relaxation after our long journey from Dallas Texas. After our days at Pousada Tauma we were beginning 12 days of touring in Mumbai and Rajhistan. Pousada Tauma turned out to be the perfect place. We arrived one week after the attacks in Mumbai only to discover many people had canceled their reservations.

First of all there could be no safer time to travel than right after an attack. While the country may have been lax before the attacks, everyone was on alert after the attacks.

The hotel is a complex of suites built around a gloriously large swimming pool surrounded by incredibly beautiful dense trees loaded with birds. We stayed in the AquaMarine Suite.

The staff was wonderfully attentive to our every need. They are literally at your beck and call 24/7 and ready to answer any question or solve any problem. One day we asked for croissants at breakfast. They didn't have any but when the bread basket came out the next morning three beautiful croissants were sitting on top. They arranged transport from the airport in Panjim to the hotel, had a driver take us to the beach of our choice and pick us up when ready to return. On another day they arranged a tour around town and various places in the region.

The restaurant is top notch, small and intimate.

One side note. Pousada Tauma is not opulant. It is not like staying at the Plaza in New York or the Four Seasons in Thailand. Pousada Tauma is a tranquil, intimate, clean inn with caring service.

Best of all is Neville, the hands on owner. A gracious host who is around and visible. He treats guests as if they were guests in his own home. He has acquired a large home directly on the beach and is transforming it into a splendid guest house for two couples. Stay tuned.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — Showers weren't great
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank waldo16400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.0 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 113 in Calangute
542 reviews
2.2 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
0.7 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 113 in Calangute
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
#9 of 113 in Calangute
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tauma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tauma

Property: Pousada Tauma
Address: Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#2 Family Hotel in Calangute
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Tauma 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Tauma is the first 12 suite Boutique Hotel to open in Goa in the 1998.Built from scratch from1995 on a two acre plot,it is known for our traditional Goan hospitality,with plenty of privacy ,lots of open spaces and a lush tropical garden .1)Room rates are inclusive of B'fast ,lunch or dinner, excluding the Tax's.2)We never offer packages and we never discount " one rate for all our guests " Requests our guests not call or emails for discounts,special offers ,packages etc.3)Meals are served keeping in mind that most of our guests enjoy the local regional cuisine, prepared from fresh seasonal produce,meals which are included in the tariff Lunch or Dinner are served in the hotel restaurant Copper Bowl and not at the beach front restaurant.4)We are not located on the beach ,but we have our own beach front restaurant "Pousada by the Beach " 2 km away from the hotel which is open from 11.am.to 7.pm.There is a free shuttle service to the beach and back . Pousada by the Beach has deck area with sunbeds,umbrellas shower and changing rooms.5) Yoga and Ayurvedic treatments are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Tauma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tauma Calangute
Pousada Tauma Hotel Calangute
Pousada Tauma Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing