We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elizabeth de Lessner A hidden gem - Pousada by the Beach”
Review of Pousada Tauma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Tauma
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elizabeth de Lessner A hidden gem - Pousada by the Beach”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Holidaying in Goa two years ago we came across this hidden gem, a restaurant by the beach with facilities to spend the whole day there. All set in exquisite gardens on the edge of Calangute Beach. The restaurant is well furnished with quality teak furniture and a wonderful view out towards the Goan sea. Kevin the Head Chef is a fantastic cook, both charming and engaging and he runs the restaurant assisted by other staff from the main Hotel. Pousada Tauma
The following year on our return to Goa we made several visits to our favourite restaurant by the beach. It was as we remembered, wonderful. There is no doubt about it you run the best Beach Restaurant in North Goa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    19
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
130
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Words cannot explain this place, its absolutly fantastic,both locations one on the beach and the other in the center of Calangute, i have been to most hotels in GOA from 5 star to 1 star and this location puts the cherry on the icecream, the personal touch no one will ever find anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fleming v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Whilst we have never stayed at The Poussada Tauma Hotel, we have frequently visited the property and have noted the exceptional style and quality of the accomodation. Indeed our experience is of visits to the Hoels Copper Bowl Restaurant and to their associated Beach Restaurant which are the main focus of our annual visit to Goa.
En route to the Hotel's Copper Bowl Restaurant you pass through the quiet oasis of Pool and beautifully landscaped groundst.Pre Booking is essential.
The open air pavilion restaurant fragrant with scent from the flowers that surround it is a delight not to be missed on a a visit to Goa. Some of the main courses need to be ordered the day before such as Lobster, Stuffed Crab and Chateaubriand Steak.The service is attentive without being overbearing and the personal management of the owner Neville make this a very special place.
Candlelit elegant dining with outstanding food and superb service are the keynote of this restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Thanks to Tripadvisor and reviews on the website we discovered Pousada Tauma on a last minute decision to stay in Goa (as we were on a road trip heading from Pune to Mangalore).
As soon as we arrived we were made at home and were informed that there were rooms available. It was a quick check-in and were shown to our rooms.
Both rooms were clean, beautiful, well decorated, functional and ready for occupancy (there was no waiting around for the rooms to be cleaned and etc.).
The property is beautiful (architecture, art and plants) and tucked away from the hectic-tourist-feel of Goa. It is different and soothing experience.
Neville and his family (owners of Pousada Tauma) made us feel at home. Neville was very attentive and made sure that everything we needed was cared for. This made a huge difference to our stay .The food was great and service was quick.
It is noticeable that the property is cared for with attention to detail. This was refreshing compared to other places we have stayed in before.
Thanks to Naville, his family and staff at Pousada Tauma we look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maria_DSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I visited Pousada Tauma in February and the overall experience was unforgettable. A variety of dense plantations across the site and a beautiful pool were the highlights. At night, the dim lights enhanced this beauty and made it look very ravishing.

The resort holds a very hospitable staff - yet ones that respect privacy of the guests – that made the trip more than endearing. Matthew and the team (The staff) made us feel like we were not new to them and made us very comfortable. They made all necessary arrangements beforehand and gave us timely service during our stay.

The rooms were also good; everything that one needs is available. The food is good too!!

So if you want to experience serenity - combined with privacy and absolute satisfying service, Pousada Tauma is the place you need to be in. It’s totally worth your money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ashish_believer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I went to a short trip to Goa with my friends and we booked this hotel first time. It was really an amazing experience for all of us. We really enjoyed a lot. It was so relaxing place. The staff was so good and very helpful. The service was so quick and good. The rooms were so beautiful and spacy. The food was also good and a wide variety of dishes. We really enjoyed a lot and we found it's a perfect place for vacations.

Room Tip: All Rooms are so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CoolPraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After a tumultuous 2 weeks in India, we showed up at the Pousada Tauma ready for - nay, in desperate need of - some relaxation. This was the 7th hotel we had stayed in; we had stayed in a range from large hotel to boutique and from really nice to horrible, so while I had previously been very excited to stay here, we walked in with fingers crossed (as many other hotels had turned out to be nothing like they advertised). But alas, this hotel was everything we had hoped for, needed, and more!

We were the only guests there, as it as monsoon season, and we were very grateful that Neville had us. It truly became home for the short couple of days that we were there. The service was wonderful. Matthew was one of the best that we encountered in India. He was very mild mannered and good natured, and took care of us without being too overbearing.

The grounds were absolutely immaculate and there was so much attention paid to every little detail. We loved the lost city/old Goa feel that this hotel has. You can go anywhere and stay at a big resort with marble and tile everywhere, so it was great to have this unique experience. Our favorite detail was the flowers sprinkled everywhere, each flower laying as if it was exactly where that flower had to be.

The only drawback (which wasn't a big deal at all) is the location. It would have been nice to be directly on the beach, or in a neighborhood that you could walk to things (restaurants, shops, etc). But it wasn't a huge deal, as we were looking to veg for a couple of days and were perfectly happy laying by the beach or chilling in our comfortable room.

Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel if you are going to be in Goa. Heck, even if you aren't going to be in Goa, I would suggest you go to Goa so you can stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.0 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#8 of 110 in Calangute
521 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 110 in Calangute
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
#10 of 110 in Calangute
784 reviews
23.5 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tauma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tauma

Property: Pousada Tauma
Address: Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#2 Family Hotel in Calangute
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Tauma 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Tauma is the first 12 suite Boutique Hotel to open in Goa in the 1998.Built from scratch from1995 on a two acre plot,it is known for our traditional Goan hospitality,with plenty of privacy ,lots of open spaces and a lush tropical garden .1)Room rates are inclusive of B'fast ,lunch or dinner, excluding the Tax's.2)We never offer packages and we never discount " one rate for all our guests " Requests our guests not call or emails for discounts,special offers ,packages etc.3)Meals are served keeping in mind that most of our guests enjoy the local regional cuisine, prepared from fresh seasonal produce,meals which are included in the tariff Lunch or Dinner are served in the hotel restaurant Copper Bowl and not at the beach front restaurant.4)We are not located on the beach ,but we have our own beach front restaurant "Pousada by the Beach " 2 km away from the hotel which is open from 11.am.to 7.pm.There is a free shuttle service to the beach and back . Pousada by the Beach has deck area with sunbeds,umbrellas shower and changing rooms.5) Yoga and Ayurvedic treatments are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Tauma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tauma Calangute
Pousada Tauma Hotel Calangute
Pousada Tauma Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing