We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”
Review of Pousada Tauma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Tauma
Ranked #22 of 125 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I booked a short trip to Goa at the end of April/beginning of May, and had foolishly taken advice from a work colleague to stay in another hotel in Calangute. I checked out after just 2 nights (my first hotel was awful) and came straight to Pousada Tauma after reading excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. Yes, it's more expensive than other hotels, but my goodness it's worth it. I was seeking peace, calm and tranquility to relax, and Neville has created the perfect oasis for just this purpose. Neville and his team (I met Matthew and Albino) were the perfect hosts for my 3-night stay, and are skilled in reading their guests to anticipate needs - they are always around if you need anything, but not at all intrusive if you want to chill out. Meals are very relaxed (eat when you want) and food quality was great. Neville went out of his way to help me with a personal request, and he even took me to see a beautiful church which he'd designed (it was opening just after I left). I was there in low season, so the hotel wasn't busy - I felt like a princess in a private palace! If you're looking for a noisy, beach party holiday, then you're in the wrong place, but if what you want is complete relaxation and calm, you would be foolish to go anywhere else in Calangute. Highly recommended, and I really hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scottishmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 245 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

On second trip to Goa after Leela Goa in December last decided to change and went for this small "boutique " hotel in north Goa . Had stayed in very very nice boutique hotel in Sri Lanka in November (Serene Pavilions in Wadduwa) and expected something similar .

It proved very disappointing and checked out after two nights . As shown on the pictures there is a very charming pool ... however bungalows are VERY basic with minimal comfort , basic bathroom basic shower (no toiletries) and te price is therefore completely ridiculous. Staff is pleasant but minimally trained , food on menu is good but basic.

Hotel is not by the beach . To go there you need to ask manager to drive you (te minutes) then you reach a poor very tired beach bungalow with tired lounges and minimal service for food and drinks.

People are pleasant and it would not be unpleasant if : a) we had not been so misled about the level of the hotel , b) the price was not disproportionate .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank rktripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pousada, Owner at Pousada Tauma, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guests,
We thank you for reviewing our little Pousada.Taken back by your review since you expressed great level of satisfaction during your one night stay and not two nights as you claimed.At that time you were convinced that you should not be expecting the same level of amenities which are provided by City hotels,since it is the beach destination. As explained to you upon arrival we do have toiletries,but we do not place them in the bathrooms since most of our guests don't use then ,upon your request ,they were instantly provided..

Your review keeps mentioning that our reviews are misleading and it is not on the beach. We have no intention of misleading any of our guests,since we always say we are a 12 suite hotel on a two acre plot,known for our traditional Goan hospitality,with lots of privacy .No where do we say we are located on the beach.Every guests who sends us a reservation requests,which should also include you are informed that the Pousada beach front is about a kilometer away.

Request our guests to please read our other reviews to have a fair idea that we are not as bad as were are reviewed to be .Our service is in par with any good hotel.The complementary B'fast Lunch or Dinner which we serve is fresh and off the region.The beach front is the best we can do keeping in mind that Goa is evolving as a destination .The above review also seems unfair to us since the reservation was for two nights.The reviewer was very pleasant at the time of the sudden departure and we did not charge him retention knowing very well that the room would go vacant .

Looking after all our guests and the service we provide gives us endless satisfaction .Maybe the big age difference between them made them stand out and uncomfortable,since we did have a lot of couples of the reviewers age group during that valentine week staying with us. We might sound arrogant in our response,but that is due to the high professional level of commitment we have towards our guests .We are here to respect the "Holiday Time" of all our guests,those who have stayed and especially those who might choose to stay with us in the future .Lastly, we have no intentions of misleading anyone which is a definite "No! No!"ours is family run business of 14 years, built from scratch ,always around to look after our guest needs and even drive them to the beach front.We strongly believe in HAPPY GUESTS ,MISLEADING...NEVER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A lovely, very quiet hotel with superior service. Calangute is a dynamic and noisy holiday village. You will find shelter in this hotel which is quiet, chilly, clean and you will be able to rest there. People who work there are friendly, can adjust to your needs, will make your wish, will help and make you feel really well serviced. Room are clean and spacey. Food is excellent. They will drive you to private beach whenever you wish. I spent there really relaxing holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Orientana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had a fantastic stay @ Pousada Tauma. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. All fundamentals of the hotel are of very high standard. Full of bamboo fencing, minuscule streams and plants completely everywhere. The pool is fabulous; huge, rambling around corners with large rocks in piles around the edges.

Special mention of Viagoa.com which gave us a good deal on many goa hotels nd we selected Pousada as it wsnt as costly as we hd thought..Their agent Norah picked us frm airport nd we landed staright here after 2 hours new delhi bound flight. Transfers to and from the airport were comfortable

Rooms have essential amenities. For us the bathroom was really nice. First off all we had a great breakfast buffet with lots of fruit and slight varying menus. The coco bar presents Fresh Fruit Juices, Mock tails, Shakes, Rich Flavored Ice Creams and Coffee set in an exciting ambience of music and decoration.The staff are first class in their passion and keenness to please their customers. Pools are great and wonderfully maintained, and restaurants, bars are.

There is no disbelief, however, that the best stay of the year will be the days that I spent in Pousada Tauma.. In my opinion at least visit the place once with your family. Overall i would definitely return to this resort we received admirable customer service from all the team and it was a truly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MumbaiIndiaVineet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pousada, Owner at Pousada Tauma, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guests..please ignore the above review ,this guests did not stay with us and have posted his review in the wrong location.
As a policy we never offer any discounts or special rates since we have one rate for all our guests
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I still can't come to the terms with the reality of the stay i was subjected to...magnificent...simply majestic...it takes a while to come to terms with the pricing of the suites available n i wud recommend the owner to look into dis aspect...but to everyone out there looking for a peaceful n romantic time wid ur wife or fiancee...dis is da perfect paradise...n tat too in da very heart of hectic goa...great service...amazin food...fantastic private beach front...very nice hospitality...it is jus a perfect spot...need not think twice...i chose the garden suite which according to me is da best one among all da suites.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SajiD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Pousada Tauma is definitely the heaven on earth. I can not find the right words to describe the beauty of the garden. The owner Neville put his vision and hearth on this beautiful property and they deserve all the compliments. they are taking care of all their guests on individual basis and make sure that you receive an excellent service. the food is also spectacular. If you are looking for a unique, relaxing and tasteful experience in Goa, dont loose your time to look for something else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ece T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Food is awsme, genuine price with good ambience. i personally like the view and place near to the calangute beach.

specially the doggy, chill bear, nice food. 1 must go.

as it was our 1st trip in goa, i find bit of difficulty finding the place. but, reaching there it was a good experience.

i wish i will go ther next time also.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunal171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.1 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 125 in Calangute
582 reviews
1 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#8 of 125 in Calangute
643 reviews
1 mi away
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
#1 of 125 in Calangute
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#9 of 125 in Calangute
561 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
#12 of 125 in Calangute
448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tauma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tauma

Address: Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#10 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $200 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Tauma 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Tauma is the first 12 suite Boutique Hotel to open in Goa in the 1998.Built from scratch from1995 on a two acre plot,it is known for our traditional Goan hospitality,with plenty of privacy ,lots of open spaces and a lush tropical garden .1)Room rates are inclusive of B'fast ,lunch or dinner, excluding the Tax's.2)We never offer packages and we never discount " one rate for all our guests " Requests our guests not call or emails for discounts,special offers ,packages etc.3)Meals are served keeping in mind that most of our guests enjoy the local regional cuisine, prepared from fresh seasonal produce,meals which are included in the tariff Lunch or Dinner are served in the hotel restaurant Copper Bowl and not at the beach front restaurant.4)We are not located on the beach ,but we have our own beach front restaurant "Pousada by the Beach " 2 km away from the hotel which is open from 11.am.to 7.pm.There is a free shuttle service to the beach and back . Pousada by the Beach has deck area with sunbeds,umbrellas shower and changing rooms.5) Yoga and Ayurvedic treatments are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Tauma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tauma Calangute
Pousada Tauma Hotel Calangute
Pousada Tauma Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing