We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience ever!”
Review of Pousada Tauma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Tauma
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have struggled to find opening words to describe this beautiful boutique hotel situated in Calangute-Goa, beautiful, amazing, perfect are just some words that can be used. Anyone concidering visiting Goa must look no further, read no further reviews as this hotel has everything a guest could possibly want and a lot more you probably have yet to experience.

Its obvious that the very charming owner ''Neville'' has put much thought and effort in developing a paradise oasis for his guests with every little detail covered. The grounds are not only interesting but very well maintained, with daily attendence from cleaning through to gardening and security. The rooms are all separatley themed and a treat for the eyes, they contained everything needed for a comfortable stay and were cleaned every day with a fresh supply of linen, towels and water.

The hotel restaurant was simply divine, cheif Kevin cooked us superb meals everyday, we looked forward to food time! the calamari, their signiture dishes, their squid toast, I can go on and on.....we simply couldnt bring ourselves to want to eat anywhere else than here in the whole of Goa!
One person that needs a special mention is ''Matthew'' our waiter and general person in charge for looking after guests. This gentle well mannered man needs to be clonned and sent to all hotels in the world! we have never been served with such perfection and delicate manner, he wouldn't even raise his voice beyond a certain decibel or tone in fear of disturbing us or the wonderful ambiance the hotel surroundings offer. Matthew made us feel so special with his lovely service, flower arrangements and of course cocktails!

The hotel has recently started to develop a beach guest house which accompanies their private beach and restaurant, which the hotel offer a free shuttle everyday at your leisure. The beach is beautiful and the restaurant divine and the added bonus is you have the sweetest labradore ''Biscuit'' to keep you company everyday, I'm not a fan of dogs but I was quite tearful leaving Biscuit after 3 days, she's quite a character!

Overall, Pousada Tauma is a hotel in a category of its own, its special in every way and that's exacty what the guest feel after spending even a few minutes in the grounds. It has everything a guest could wish for and more. We would highly recommend it and will so to any one going to Goa, we certainly wish to return. Wishing the team every success, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Iz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Tauma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 246 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to Goa on our last week holidays. In our 7 days trip we stayed in Pousada Tauma, Calangute for 3 days.Bookings were done from Viagoa.com as they give good deals on Goa stay & Air .
Calangute is famous for the largest beach in North Goa. winteris the peak season for tourist so we already had our bookings. Pousada tauma is boutique hotel located on the west coast of India. I found this hotel to be one of the best hotels in my whole trip.
Although we went to Goa in the peak season but as we entered the hotel we really feel very comfortable, it’s a nice place for peace lovers. The atmosphere in the hotel was flawless. We had a very warm welcome and when final check-in process was over we were accompanied to our suite. There were suites with different themes. They give us the option to choose our theme suite at the time of booking and we choose the sea theme suite. There were 3 sea theme suites- the shell suite, the aquamarine suite and the coral suite. They gave us aquamarine suite.

The suite has its own private dining area, bedroom with dressing table, wardrobe and patio with private garden. The rooms were beautifully decorated with antique furniture. The coral and aquamarine colors on the walls, the matching curtains, the marine plants and aquatic motifs in the floors. The rooms were decorated according to their theme. They were neat and tidy. The staff was highly personal and friendly. They were treating every client as their family and always on their toes to help us.
We visited the beach and enjoyed swimming for hours. Also the marvelous pool in the hotel allowed refreshments. We also enjoyed the ayurvedic spa.
The meals were fabulous in the Copper Bowl restaurant. The breakfast was included in the package. Romantic evening tea and dinner in the beach restaurant…. Wow!!!! In the entire hotel is a very nice place for stay in Calangute.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mayank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After traveling for 20+ days in India and staying 1 night per hotel, we arrived at the Posada Tauma in Goa for 3 days before going home--later than expected due to airline delay but we were treated like princesses. Our room was beyond perfect, full of fresh flowers and the grounds were gorgeously green tropical. We immediately had dinner beginning with the Best carrot/coconut salad and the most tender freshest calamari ever (which I had all 3 nights).
The owner, Neville, was exceptional, drove us around to sightsee and shop but it was his expertise and philosophy of India that really impressed and taught us so much. Service (Matthew) and chef (Kevin) were also exceptional. Cannot wait to return. Everyone who visits Goa needs to have this experience. It is a private oasis but also walking distance to so much fun street shopping. Forgot to mention the amazing private beach which belongs to the hotel. Paradise plus.
Linda Humes

Room Tip: We loved our room with the frogs. Bathrooms are great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 11202012zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

A paradise find in an otherwise hectic Calangute. Arrived here on the off chance there would be availability and WOW I'm glad there was!! I cannot agree more with all the other awesome reviews. The paradise of the poolside the surrounding beautiful buildings the service, we were blown away! Neville greeted us warmly and took us down to the beachside during our stay. He was attentive without being intrusive and utterly charming. Matthew looked after our every need and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for him. Kevin, Glynn and Biscuit kept us happy at the beach. Food is amazing and we loved not being restricted by service times enjoying our lazy leisurely breakfast at 11am!!
The villa on the beach will be an incredible asset and my friend is dreaming about her wedding there as I write!!!
I enjoyed the yoga and felt all the stresses of a busy lifestyle slip away whilst relaxing poolside.
My only problem was that our stay was too short but I know we will certainly return, the sooner the better.
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kezla12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

we cannot wait to return to this wonderful place. We miss the amazing food, the expert and friendly service and the attention to detail. Everything is so professional and everyone is incredibly welcoming and the decor very unique. This is a real oasis where everyone is made to feel special.

Room Tip: All rooms are different
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joyce42_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

For a really special occasion, we eventually stayed in Pousada Tauma, after experiencing the fabulous food and surrounding gardens for many years.

We were made to feel really special on our anniversary, and as always the service was par excellence, the food as always wonderful, and the rooms are something one should not miss. Each one different with everything you should wish for, and strolling around the wonderful gardens in the cool of the early morning was blissful. You would never know that the town outside actually existed - all the noises drowned out by birds songs.

We would love to go again.

Room Tip: It does not matter what room one stays in.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our experience in India during our easter holidays was spectacular. We visited numerous cultural sites and enjoyed the weather and culture! A final highlight was the stay at Pousada Tauma in Calangute, on the west coast of India. The atmosphere of the hotel was immaculate! The highly personal and friendly staff looked after us during our 5-day stay. We visited Goa and enjoyed the beach (at least 4 or 5 hours a day ;-) ) with the superb waves, alowing body surfing and lots of fun. Also the splendid pool at the hotel allowed for frequent refreshments! The rooms were tidy and fulfilled their pupose (some newly renovated) and were not unnecesairily overfilled with decoration. Outside a close to jungle like acumilation of flora improved the atmosphere in the hotel greatly!

The meals were of high standard, with local and international specialities. The learned cook was also willing to prepare anything else. (you HAVE to try the bruschettas!!!) Once again I can only stress how personal the owner and the staff were, willing to help with anything.

If desired one can be chauffered to the hotels own beach restaurent. (to swim, eat or relax) Here the cook was also ready to prepare any of the splendid meals!

I can trully recomend this hotel to anyone travelling through India and wishing to enjoy the local armosphere (markets, points of interest, etc.) or just to relax (at the beach, pool or hotel)!!!

Thank you for the wounderful time,

Luis

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuisSellmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.0 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 116 in Calangute
551 reviews
2.2 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
258 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.9 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#11 of 116 in Calangute
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
#9 of 116 in Calangute
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tauma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tauma

Address: Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#2 Family Hotel in Calangute
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $200 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Tauma 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Tauma is the first 12 suite Boutique Hotel to open in Goa in the 1998.Built from scratch from1995 on a two acre plot,it is known for our traditional Goan hospitality,with plenty of privacy ,lots of open spaces and a lush tropical garden .1)Room rates are inclusive of B'fast ,lunch or dinner, excluding the Tax's.2)We never offer packages and we never discount " one rate for all our guests " Requests our guests not call or emails for discounts,special offers ,packages etc.3)Meals are served keeping in mind that most of our guests enjoy the local regional cuisine, prepared from fresh seasonal produce,meals which are included in the tariff Lunch or Dinner are served in the hotel restaurant Copper Bowl and not at the beach front restaurant.4)We are not located on the beach ,but we have our own beach front restaurant "Pousada by the Beach " 2 km away from the hotel which is open from 11.am.to 7.pm.There is a free shuttle service to the beach and back . Pousada by the Beach has deck area with sunbeds,umbrellas shower and changing rooms.5) Yoga and Ayurvedic treatments are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Tauma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tauma Calangute
Pousada Tauma Hotel Calangute
Pousada Tauma Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing