We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to returning to one of our favourite places in the world”
Review of Pousada Tauma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Tauma
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Looking forward to returning to one of our favourite places in the world”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

we cannot wait to return to this wonderful place. We miss the amazing food, the expert and friendly service and the attention to detail. Everything is so professional and everyone is incredibly welcoming and the decor very unique. This is a real oasis where everyone is made to feel special.

Room Tip: All rooms are different
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joyce42_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    19
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
130
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

For a really special occasion, we eventually stayed in Pousada Tauma, after experiencing the fabulous food and surrounding gardens for many years.

We were made to feel really special on our anniversary, and as always the service was par excellence, the food as always wonderful, and the rooms are something one should not miss. Each one different with everything you should wish for, and strolling around the wonderful gardens in the cool of the early morning was blissful. You would never know that the town outside actually existed - all the noises drowned out by birds songs.

We would love to go again.

Room Tip: It does not matter what room one stays in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our experience in India during our easter holidays was spectacular. We visited numerous cultural sites and enjoyed the weather and culture! A final highlight was the stay at Pousada Tauma in Calangute, on the west coast of India. The atmosphere of the hotel was immaculate! The highly personal and friendly staff looked after us during our 5-day stay. We visited Goa and enjoyed the beach (at least 4 or 5 hours a day ;-) ) with the superb waves, alowing body surfing and lots of fun. Also the splendid pool at the hotel allowed for frequent refreshments! The rooms were tidy and fulfilled their pupose (some newly renovated) and were not unnecesairily overfilled with decoration. Outside a close to jungle like acumilation of flora improved the atmosphere in the hotel greatly!

The meals were of high standard, with local and international specialities. The learned cook was also willing to prepare anything else. (you HAVE to try the bruschettas!!!) Once again I can only stress how personal the owner and the staff were, willing to help with anything.

If desired one can be chauffered to the hotels own beach restaurent. (to swim, eat or relax) Here the cook was also ready to prepare any of the splendid meals!

I can trully recomend this hotel to anyone travelling through India and wishing to enjoy the local armosphere (markets, points of interest, etc.) or just to relax (at the beach, pool or hotel)!!!

Thank you for the wounderful time,

Luis

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuisSellmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I chose the Pousada Tauma to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary because we are attracted to small, luxury hotels with local charm and not large chain style hotels that are the same the world over. We do love the intimacy a small property offers and the opportunity to be pampered. We have traveled extensively all over the world, and often have our three children in toe. It had been two years since we had been away together, so we were very excited about our first stop, a week in Goa. On making our reservation, Neville, the wonderful owner of Pousada Tauma did warn my wife, that our travel dates did coincide with the beginning of the wet season, but given that these were the only dates we were able to travel, we took the risk.

The Pousada Tauma is a small hotel with 13 rustic and locally inspired rooms. They are large and practical, decorated with authentic local antique furniture. The hotel is constructed from local stone and has a charming feel. The landscaping provides guests with a wonderful tropical oasis to retreat to when you need to escape the madness of Goa, which starts right outside the front gates. Our plane from Dubai had been delayed by several hours, so we ended missing our connecting flight from Mumbai to Goa, so after spending the night at an airport hotel, we took the first flight south, and were collected by one of the hotels drivers at 6.30am. We were very grateful that he was at the airport, as he to would have had a long night, as our flight was due to arrive in Goa at 11.15pm the previous night, and the Hotel is a 1 hour drive from the airport. Upon arrival, we were shown to our suite, offered breakfast and allowed to sleep, this was such a lovely introduction, no one troubled us with administrative forms etc.

We didn't realise that our tariff included breakfast (this we knew) but also lunch or dinner at the hotels Copper Pot Restaurant. Given that the vast majority of the restaurants in Goa had now closed due to the wet season, the restaurant was excellent and we now have a far better appreciation for quality Indian food. We had one lovely lunch at the hotels Beach Cabana located about 2km from the main hotel, however, we found we tended to be very happy by the pool. The food and service at the beach was equally good though, and at a better time of year, we no doubt would have enjoyed many more meals by the beach (a complimentary driver is happy to take you between hotel to the beach restaurant).

The staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and attentive. Neville, and particularly Matthew who looked after the majority of our requirements, was extremely knowledgeable, and nothing we asked was too much trouble. All the staff made us feel like we were one of the family, which is just what we appreciate from a small hotel.

The only downsides for us, which are few and far between, are that we were the only patrons in the hotel for our entire stay which was slightly strange at mealtimes, as we were the only ones in the restaurant, which was very quiet, some background music would have been lovely to listen too. Additionally, the rooms, though very clean and comfortable did lack the usual touches of a luxury boutique hotel such as bathroom amenities, turn down service, in-room dining menu, information regarding local attractions, and modern TV's, sounds systems etc. These are the little things that really make a boutique hotel luxurious, but despite the simpleness of the accommodation, we had a wonderfully quiet, peaceful holiday, and that's entirely due to the heavenly atmosphere in the grounds of the hotel and the wonderful care given to us by our host and his staff.

If we were ever to visit Goa again (in the dry season!), this is the only place we would stay and we would most definitely recommend this hotel, particularly as the location is so perfect.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are very nice and lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stumbled upon the Pousada by chance - after searching the internet for a quiet and peaceful place to stay in Goa at the end of the season. All beach huts and houses were dismantled, and a 5 star 500 guests hotel did not appeal to us at all.
So we were pleased to find this small hotel, with 12 rooms only.

Upon arrival it turned out we were the only guests, and what a luxury, to have a private garden-jungle, a private pool, and only the sounds of the many birds on the premises.
The rooms were beautifully furnished and we had a covered terrace surrounded by palmtrees, mangotrees and lots of bamboo - such a good place to sit and relax.
Everywhere there were decorations made with the various flowers of the garden, every day a new surprise as to what flower arrangement we would find on our breakfast table.
Matthew took care of us in the most subtle and pleasant manner - there when we needed him, invisible when not. And what a smile he has!

The luxury of this place is not of the high tech or glitzy kind - if you look for that, you should go to the Taj or Vivanta.
It is in the smells, the peacefulness, and in the love with which it has been built and constructed over many years, using the natural stone of this area and a lot of craftsmanship. And of course in the caring of the staff for their guests - whether in the form of stocking up on our favourite brand of beer, or in arranging the rental of a small motorbike. (which, by the way, is a brilliant way to move around and discover your own Goa)

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We started a business trip in India with a two day break in Calangute at the Pousada Taume and couldn't have been happier about it. Neville, Matthew (and Biscuit) were wonderful hosts. We weren't too worried about internet access and found everything to be charming and just what we needed after long flights. The beach property is fabulous - what sunsets. I cannot wait to return, this time as part of a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SdL1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We have spent s lovely couple of days at the Psada Tauma a traquil oasis in busy Goa. Luscious garden, lovely cottages, pool. The restaurant is very good and the staff discrete and helpful. Neville the manager can see to all needs including a visit to the best coffee bars. The resort has a private beach with restaurant. A gem, Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank difficulta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.0 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
522 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
#10 of 110 in Calangute
785 reviews
23.5 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tauma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tauma

Property: Pousada Tauma
Address: Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#2 Family Hotel in Calangute
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Tauma 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Tauma is the first 12 suite Boutique Hotel to open in Goa in the 1998.Built from scratch from1995 on a two acre plot,it is known for our traditional Goan hospitality,with plenty of privacy ,lots of open spaces and a lush tropical garden .1)Room rates are inclusive of B'fast ,lunch or dinner, excluding the Tax's.2)We never offer packages and we never discount " one rate for all our guests " Requests our guests not call or emails for discounts,special offers ,packages etc.3)Meals are served keeping in mind that most of our guests enjoy the local regional cuisine, prepared from fresh seasonal produce,meals which are included in the tariff Lunch or Dinner are served in the hotel restaurant Copper Bowl and not at the beach front restaurant.4)We are not located on the beach ,but we have our own beach front restaurant "Pousada by the Beach " 2 km away from the hotel which is open from 11.am.to 7.pm.There is a free shuttle service to the beach and back . Pousada by the Beach has deck area with sunbeds,umbrellas shower and changing rooms.5) Yoga and Ayurvedic treatments are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Tauma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tauma Calangute
Pousada Tauma Hotel Calangute
Pousada Tauma Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing