We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Monica Resorte
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a wonderful time after being moved from top floor at back facing factory to room 6 ground floor poolview.staff brilliant especially cleaner who cleaned and changed bed linen and towels everyday.lovely new years eve meal with entertainment and fireworks. Food and drinks good and reasonably priced - met some lovely people and had a fantastic time.will definately be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyyoung70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    97
    46
    21
    29
See reviews for
67
118
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

First time in Goa - hotel was clean, staff very friendly but management misleading
No wi fi - told every day it would be on tomorrow - never did !!!! last day was informed by another guest they were told that if they wanted wi fi there was a charge ???
Prices for drinks on xmas day were increased without notice - no refund manager said everyone had been informed - a notice was put on tables for New Years Eve to inform of price increases - not many attended not sure why
15 year old son was intimidated to pay for his room cleaned - management said he had give them 700r as a good will gesture - my son said they asked him and would not leave the room until he paid them
Just a tip make sure you make a note of mini bar etc - charged for things that we had not had
BUT all in all we had a brill time, met some really nice people and the atmosphere was the best everyone staying at the resort just wanted to enjoy the experience and spending New Years Eve on the beach seeing the fireworks will stay with all of us - it was spectacular.
Hopefully will return to Goa next Xmas but will not return to this resort - the last thing you want to do on holiday is complain but when you are being over charged or asked to pay for things you haven't had it gets a bit much ... Oh the karaoke night was good especially the backing singer shame they didn't sing Amy Whinehouse - Need to go to rehab

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitzgibbonhp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamonicaresort, General Manager at Santa Monica Resorte, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We were very happy to have you on board Santa Monica Resort..just as well you have enjoyed the Holidays while you were in Goa,
Thomas Cook Guest in the Hotel who attended the Gala Xmas Meal..happily enjoyed the Xmas Day Celebrations and we thought you were enjoying it the entire night with a group of your friends by the poolside, even brought drinks for them knowingly that the Rates were a little up...until one of the Thomas Cook Guest had to come down from his room to warn you not to shout in the middle of the night,
Your son which is a minor in age was drinking from the mini bar..maybe without your knowledge and at one time even passed stools in the room resulting in damaging the towels of the hotels, photos are with the Hotel of the same
Wifi did not work as the telephones lines were snapped off while laying off the underground sewage pipes....the hotel lost a lot of customers trying to contact due to the telephone line being snapped,
The Manager of the Hotel went out of his way to even give his mobile with internet access to many of the Guest in the hotel free of charge....eventually the lines were restored on the 24th of Dec 2013 and the Wi-fi is in working condition,
We the management would like to thank you for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have been to Goa 8 times and stayed in 4 different hotels, this is the first time to the Santa Monica and it won't be our last.
On arrival we were shown to our room which was facing the rear of the hotel, with it being the early hours of the morning we didn't say anything until midday and without question we were given a new room(312) overlooking the pool.
The staff at this hotel are without question some of the nicest and most polite people I have ever met.
The rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily(get to know your room boys name asap mine was Bappi he went out of his way to make our stay a good one)
The food in the hotel was very good and cheaper than it was on the beach..
A big plus at this hotel is that they don't have Russian guests.
All in all a very good place to stay in Goa and without doubt we will go back.

Room Tip: room 311/312/313 get late afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yorkisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Hotel is pretty standard for India, as was breakfast, rooms & laundry cleaned daily & staff are friendly.
However 2 things soured our experience slightly.
1- The Wifi did not work for our entire 2 week holiday. Staff said there was a problem with the phone line, but there are ways around this, as the beach shacks all manage without one!
People were eating & drinking elsewhere to get online.
2.We were provided with a free meal (in our package) on Christmas Day, which was ok, as was all food at the hotel, however during the evening of the meal, alcohol & soft drinks prices were increased without warning, to "Special" prices. We were fortunate that we didn't buy many, but increasing Honey Bee Brandy from 45r a shot to 150r was a bit underhand & some people had unexpectedly large bar bills!
So watch out on New Years Eve, if there is a Free Meal!

There is also a hotel construction site within 50 yards of the hotel, which worked every day, including Christmas day. I know this is beyond the hotel's control, but we should've been informed by Thomas Cook, who i believe now own Trip Advisor!

A shame really!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Excellent time had by all after the initial shock of our first room facing rear of hotel with no view
We were moved hassle free to ground floor room 6 with pool view brilliant simple clean accommodation
Superb staff cannot speak highly enough of all of them so helpful and polite nothing is too much trouble
Great food good prices
Wonderful that you can keep a daily or weekly tab for your bar , food and mini bar gives you the sense of all inclusive and ver cheap
This is truly the land of teeth every where without exception everyone was happy smiling and genuinely pleased to greet you
So all you see from dusk till dawn are teeth makes a big change from some holiday experiences no body complaining ( makes a change for us Brits)
Russian free hotel worth noting
Thomas cook rep Loyd very helpful as makes a mean Aladin at the charity night function
Any one visiting please bring a donation for the educators trust a charity supported by thomas cook
My daughter and I spent a day with Jane the volunteer coordinator at the trusts inspiring light project and the work in progress is an inspiration to us all , again more teeth and more smiles beautiful country beautiful people what more can I say
Everyone should holiday here

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 949Vikki69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamonicaresort, Manager at Santa Monica Resorte, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,
The Staff of Santa Monica Resort takes this opportunity to thank you for your Patronage and we all look forward to see you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Here are few Pro's & many Con's if it may help you:-

Pro's :-

1. Outlook of Swimming pool & area around is Nice (Big Swimming Pool).
2. Paid Food in Restaurant is Good.

Con's :-

1. Expensive Hotel compared to the price and things provided.
2. Bad Service & Staff Non-Cooperating.
3. Complementary Breakfast was just Bread Butter & Jam.
4. No Dustbins in the Room or bucket & mug in washroom.
5. Bed Sheets & pillow Covers & towels were not changed or cleaned everyday, As is was paid service.
6. No Exhaust Fan in washroom.
7. Bed made sounds as if i was going to break any time you slept over it.
8. Paid water to Drink.
9. Extra 15% charges for anything order to room for eating.
10. Stinking Room & non working A/c when we entered the room.
11. No parking available for Car.
12. No internet service provided ( Free / Paid)
13. No one listen's as much u speak or argue with the staff.
14. Mosquitoes Found now & then on the Bed, My friend Got Skin allergy due to that.
15. Warm Water in the washroom stops after 8:00 am
16. Far from beach & happening places around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolestNapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

All the basic amenities, value for money it offers. Good 3 star hotel.

Being a vegetarian, the area it is located in, is close to good vegetarian restaurants. Clean hotel.

Would love to stay in the hotel on my visit again.

Room Tip: Room #105, 106 are best located in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhruvgupta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.4 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#14 of 110 in Calangute
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#40 of 110 in Calangute
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#39 of 110 in Calangute
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#28 of 110 in Calangute
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#100 of 110 in Calangute
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#90 of 110 in Calangute
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica Resorte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Resorte

Property: Santa Monica Resorte
Address: Poriat | Tivai vaddo, near new football ground, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#10 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Monica Resorte 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If Goa is a near perfect winter holiday destination, Resorte Santa Monica should be your next choice. Comfortable and friendly, it is excellently located in a cul-de-sac, off the main Calangute-Candolim road. Not too far from the well-known St. Anthony Chapel in Calangute, yet close enough to the dozens of pubs, eateries and shops that dot the landscape. Here Goa's special local character can best be appreciated .The world famous Calangute beach is a mere 500 meters away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Santa Monica Resorte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Resorte Calangute
Santa Monica Resorte Hotel Calangute
Santa Monica Resorte Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing