We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Gem But Not Too Bad Either”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Monica Resorte
Ranked #29 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Most of the reviews about this hotel are up to the mark, it is an average hotel with decent value for money.

I would start with the location, its approx 500 meters off the main road, located inside a narrow street (two cars cant pass in parallel), but most of the hotels in goa are situated in such locations only and its not one of those dirty streets, not very well lit in night though. Calangute is not exactly at walking distance (15-20 mins walk every time I want to go to beach is not my kind of thing), I rented an Honda Activa in 250 INR (its worth every penny..get one) and used it extensively around beach area and also in Panjim.

Reception area is neat, there is a locker room near reception, a locker can be rented for 40 INR a day (I would recommend taking it so you would not worry about your valuables when you are off to beach). There is a small collection of books in the reception area that can be used while lazying around pool sight. Pool is pretty small in size, depth is 5ft but it adds to the look of the hotel building.

Staff is average, on the scale of 10 I would rate them 5, if you are one of those guys who expects to be called as Sir you might be in for a surprise, staff normally talks in Tu/Tera kind of lang :D

There are dogs :) but nothing that scary; with the sound of A/C and ceiling fan barking does not bother much. One little piece of advise for those who want to use balcony; go for pool view, backside view sucks.

Breakfast is only bread/butter/jam and tea/coffee, I didn't like tea and coffee there. Except that food is decent (I am a vegetarian, so did not try other stuff).

About room, its basic like most of the things in this hotel. When you unlock the door you will find yourself in a room with two wardrobes, a TV (CRT-21"), a sofa set(1+1) with center table and a dining table. Attached to this hall is a bedroom, bathroom (with hot/cold shower) and a small kitchen (with a small refrigerator stocked with few beers/breezers/waterbottles). Do not expect exotic decor in the room, its pretty basic including furniture. Yellow lights give a dull look to the room.

So in a nutshell its not a gem but on the other hand I did not have any major complains as well. If you can get a hotel which is nearer to beach then go for that else this should fit the bill.

Room Tip: Get a room with pool view
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randomsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Santa Monica Resorte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 288 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

I am very surprised by the amount of good reviews of that place. I would never have thought to write review but this time after the experience I had there I've decided to write one.
Hotel and service is rubbish! i'm not fusy but that was one of the worst hotel experiences i have ever had.
My room was dirty, overlooking some king of rubbish/recycling store. My room was filled with a smell of burned plastic. When we booked the room we were told breakfast is included in the rate. What they meant by breakfast was: white toast (no brown available), tea in a dirty cup, one type of the cheapest jam possible, butter. dissapointing
people working there need training on how to not only speak english but also how to speak to people and how to smile. I will never go back there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank luk_jed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was our first visit to this hotel although we have been coming to calangute for 4 years.
Arriving in the early hours of the morning we were shown to our room on the third floor at the back of the hotel. Next morning we opened the balcony door to be met with the sight of an empty block of houses and a toilet roll factory with coconut trees in between meaning we received very little sunshine.If you do stay here ask for a room with a pool view. We could have been moved but after spending a few nights in the room decided that the upheaval was too much and decided to stay put.
The rooms were cleaned every day and the service from the roomboys was first class, they even gave me a card when they found out it was my birthday!
The food was first class and cheap and again the service was excellent. The location is excellent and a few minutes walk can see you in calangute centre or out the candolim road to the shops and bars.
The only drawback is that the hotel is down a dark lane and due to the many power cuts, a torch is highly recommended.The promised entertainment 3 times a week did not happen but there are plenty of places nearby which can provide plenty.
We will be returning next year but will insist on a room with a pool view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ctr0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

second visit to calangute and was very pleased with santa monica resort. rooms better than basic,good location and friendly helpful staff,arranged my visit to doctors etc. however promised entertainment did not materialise,but hey ho,cannot have everything.definitely recommend and would go back next year.

Room Tip: facing poolside best
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scrapperdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

stayed there 2 days in jan if you have a room facing the pool its all right if you are put at the back of the hotel its appalling toilet roll factory facing your balcony(never sat there stinks)then at night gaurd dogs (sounded like 20 but only 2 barking all night till the factory opened about 8 am .when asked the manager about another room was not intererested (bit ignorant) so if you are deaf or you can turn your hearing aid off you could like it (but i do not think so ) staff was average.and to top it off my room was supposed to be de-lux

Room Tip: make sure your room is not at the back at santa monica
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haroldbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My friend and i stayed at the Santa Monica Resort in Calangute for 2 weeks in Jan/Feb this year. Had read good and bad reports about it so we thought we,d give it a try.We were happy we did! Had lovely room overlooking pool, which was cleaned every day and bed made. Food was lovely and plenty of sunbeds. Dogs do bark at night, but you get use to it! Staff here are lovely and look after you. Short walk to shops, restaurants etc. Would stay here again no problem. We did overnight elephant trip, which was brilliant and spent 2 nights on Kolla beach in tent. Goa is lovely to see and the people are so friendly. So you can read the reviews, then just go and make up your own mind, we loved every minute and will be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crazyfrogcoleraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I had a stay here from 22-25 feb, resort location is good, very near to beaches and shopping locations but service is not good in the resort ,lot of rules , rules and rules. Only English breakfast (toast and cold milk ) is complementary everything else is chargeable and prices are very high comparatively. Don't book via online services coz they give rooms on 3rd floor and corner rooms for Indian customers.

Room Tip: Please check reviews before booking and know the exact location through maps before checking in.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freaky_traveller761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.5 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#47 of 116 in Calangute
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 116 in Calangute
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#39 of 116 in Calangute
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#98 of 116 in Calangute
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#30 of 116 in Calangute
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#104 of 116 in Calangute
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica Resorte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Resorte

Address: Poriat | Tivai vaddo, near new football ground, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#9 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $22 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Monica Resorte 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If Goa is a near perfect winter holiday destination, Resorte Santa Monica should be your next choice. Comfortable and friendly, it is excellently located in a cul-de-sac, off the main Calangute-Candolim road. Not too far from the well-known St. Anthony Chapel in Calangute, yet close enough to the dozens of pubs, eateries and shops that dot the landscape. Here Goa's special local character can best be appreciated .The world famous Calangute beach is a mere 500 meters away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Monica Resorte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Resorte Calangute
Santa Monica Resorte Hotel Calangute
Santa Monica Resorte Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing