We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOA FOR BRITS IN WINTER. Osborne Resort Calangute . Very central.”
Review of Osborne Resort Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Osborne Resort Goa
Ranked #41 of 119 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, some rooms basic others large and excellent. Staff great, food average to good but theres so much choice only a cheap short taxi ride away. Beaches are perfect but some toilets leave a lot to be improved. Bonos beach shack at Candolim is easily the best for miles. We love it even after 9 visits. Make it worth the flight and stay for as long as possible
. CHEAP BUT GOOD. The food is better than home or europe!! The Goans are kind friendly and dont try to rob you.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 501 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

i have stayed at the osborne now for 5 years i have also been to many other hotels in calangute too! including the kamat and the nizmar which are nice and a higher rate than the osborne, i find the osborne gives me what i want, i dont want to sit by the pool nor live in my hotel for two weeks so as far as luxury is concerned the osborne doesnt have it BUT what it does have is exceptionaly friendly helpful staff which goes a long way in my book, hence we have returned for 5 years , I have been traveling to india for 13 years and would advise first timers to find out as much as you can about the culture, its not the med with its manicured hotels,so dont expect it , i see that some people comment on "dirty" sheets, what you need to know is they do not use bleach in their wash powders like we do to keep them white its an iron ore rich state so yes your sheets will not be "persil" white so dont expect it at any hotel,, but they are washed, the boys do the best they can with limited cleaning products to keep your rooms clean, theres no dyson or steam mops just hand made coconut brushes and they do the upmost to do their best, remember most of the staff earn approx £1 a day for 15 hour days 7 days a week until they cant work anymore there;s no welfare state, the osborne is typical for a goan hotel of a 2 star rating, and unless you want to pay silly prices for a room to sleep in then expect a 2 star hotel with 5 star staff, the beds... they are hard and the mattresses are about 4 inches thick which to be honest suits me even with a crumbling spine, but if you want an extra mattress or pillows then just ask they will get it, the wardrobes tend to be metal army style cabinets! is this a reason to complain? do your clothes want 5 star as well? i dont complain that thers no tv in my room because i go to goa to to leave that behind for a holiday not to watch coronation street!, but if you want one then ask and pay for it! what a waste, air con, hmm not needed in nov, dec, jan, feb as it can get quite cool early hours, if you suffer from mozzies then buy incense thats what its for much more effective than the insect coils , we buy loads at approx 30p a pack and put bunches of them at the windows and on the balcony when we sit on it on a night to create smoke that keeps them away, dusk and dawn the mozzies attack the most in any country, i havnt been bitten for 3 years, i wear long trousers and dresses to keep them away whilst we are out on an evening,i personaly dont rate the food at the osborne but it doesnt bother me as there as so many eateries outside to choose from, i like variety, try zicos just outside the hotel the food is fab! and they do take aways if you wish and take it to your room,if you want a snack or egg n chips try maples on the front near lumar supermarket the family who run it are such lovely people,or babutes on top do good snacky type food too!, some say the bell boys are at you for your mini bar bill as soon as they can, its because so many english and russians try to leave without paying the pittance it costs, so who can blame them its not a big deal is it? we have drunk the fridge dry at the pricey sum of £5, you dont get that at the savoy!the osborne has many many repeat clients which says a lot dont you think? i would say at least two thirds are regulars like us we see the same folk year in year out there, the bathrooms leave a lot to be desired so dont expect luxury the water runs and i can have a shower, what more do you want? the osborne is a very basic hotel typical to the culture, if you look at how some of the locals live then its luxury in comparison we go to indulge in a culture full of colour and spice with some of the nicest people i have ever met in the world! expect to see some poverty , thats what a culture is! if its your first time to goa and the osborne give it 48 hours before you make your judgements im sure you will feel different after then, i feel i have given a fair and accurate review and would be happy to help anyone with questions about the osborne or even calangute if you need it , look forward to seeing francis and the boys at christmas again.

Room Tip: they are all prettyu much the same unless you want to pay for an upgrade which to me is a waste of m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank lisa20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have been to this hotel many times although basic found it very friendly When my husband was ill got quick attention soon better Next door is the family run Zico restaurant excellent food very helpful lovely family will always keep in touch

Room Tip: poolside rooms gr8 advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zico37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had looked at the Osborne here on TA and having seen some of the very negative reviews were a little dubious about coming here, however there were plenty of great reviews so decided to give it a go. We had booked room with pool view and on arrival were given a room overlooking the neighbouring family's garden. We went to the reception the next day and were shortly moved to a great room.
If you want a palatial hotel with high end décor, you will be disappointed. It does, after all, feature in the adverts as a 2 star so don't expect higher. The Osborne is clean, very clean. There is no room service, however the staff were friendly and we found couldn't do enough for you. Got to give a special mention to Francis who managed the bar and waiting staff (loved the fried ice cream), Sarah on reception, and especially to Ash who was a star. There was entertainment on some nights for example Rahjastani music and dancers and in Stage 3 on Wednesday? night there is a race/bingo night but with a fantastic buffet. There are many who like their bit of England while abroad and those who don't. You do not have to go, however the buffet is worth it. The breakfast is simple, however you can order a breakfast off the menu and this is very reasonable, better than some of the restaurants outside the hotel.
Step outside the hotel and there is Zicos on side and St Anthonys Tea Garden over the road on the other side, both of these are excellent for meals from breakfast through to dinner.
The hotel is ideally located, close to the beach and to Calangute town centre. We went to the beach from Baga to Candolim so it was handy to get to all (we got to Baga for 100 rupees in a tuc tuc).
Most of the other guests we spoke to there had been to the Osborne many times and loved it. We loved it and have booked again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PortsmouthNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Me and my friends stayed here awhile ago now- but I promised myself I would write this review so hopefully this does not happen to anybody else.
We booked here over New Years- arrived late at night to find there was no space for us, even though we had booked this hotel months before hand. Probably the worst thing about the whole situation was the man at reception who was incredibly rude and did not care-guessing because they were nicely full over New Years.
He then said we had been booked into another hotel his friend owns (scam)! We really had no choice but to get in taxi to go to this other hotel, everywhere over New Years is full. We got there and it was disgusting- and me and my friends are not fussy travelers, but for the price we had paid it really was appalling. Cigarette burns on the bedding, dirty, small etc. When we said there was no way we were staying here the 'friend' started to get very hostile and started calling other men from around the property, who all started arguing with us. We left and called everyplace in the Lonely Planet- luckily found somewhere great that had a last minute cancellation.
We then called the hotel booking site we had booked Osborne Hotel through- they gave us a full refund and took the hotel off their site.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Missm2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

first time to goa really didnt know what to expect but the hotel and staff were amazing very friendly. rooms kept clean everyday. cant wait to go back in december taking the parents this time. taxi drivers are great at this resort ask for sam. aggies best shack on the beach.

Room Tip: stayed i e2 great room but no air con hope i get it next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bobbycarter42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in Phase 2 in Feb 13. The room was basic, bed extremely uncomfortable but another mattress was given when asked. The waiting on staff appeared to me to be very lazy. Not once during our stay did they come to you, especially when lying by the Pool.
Be extremely carefull when leaving the complex as as soon as you do, the traffic on Candolim Rd is hazardous. Also when walking down to beach rd to the beach my friend and I were exposed to by a young male, scarey. Another guest had her handbag stolen on the same rd by males on motor-bikes whilst waiting for a taxi. I would not return to Calangute or the Osborne. We initially booked the hotel for 4wks but left for south Goa after 2wks. I have been a regular visitor to Goa for 8yrs.

Room Tip: Phase 3 according to other guests was of a better standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chilltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 119 in Calangute
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#48 of 119 in Calangute
372 reviews
0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#105 of 119 in Calangute
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#97 of 119 in Calangute
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#34 of 119 in Calangute
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#26 of 119 in Calangute
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Resort Goa

Address: Near St. Anthony's Chapel Gauravaddo | Opp Kamat Holiday Home, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $31 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Osborne Resort Goa 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Calangute
Osborne Hotel Goa
Osborne Resort Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing