We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fantastic!”
Review of Osborne Resort Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Osborne Resort Goa
Ranked #41 of 119 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed June 11, 2012

One of the best budget hotels I've stayed in! Already been there twice with my boyfriend and we decided to stay every year!

Great location for shopping and going out. Close to the Calangute beach- 5 mins on bike! You can lend a bike from one of the guys working there for only ££ for a week!

The suite we had was fantastic! Good size, clean with mini bar, TV and balcony with swimming pool view! Reception staff- fantastic always ready to help with basically anything you ask them! Breakfast good, be careful with ordering scrambled eggs, unless you like it really dry.

Really enjoyed will be back, already make booking for Jan'13:)

I'm Recommending it to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kacha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 501 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

Its basic and cleanish although first room they put us in smelled of damp and when asked to be moved was told only other room avaialble was one with air con that we would have to pay extra for, no tv not that I was bothered about having a tv but that would have been extra too.
So ended up in the 3rd block ground floor with a balcony overlooking the pool after paying extra with it having air con, mistake was made as at 7 in morning we were woken up by sunbeds being DRAGGED into position outside and the staff standing outside our balcony chatting away, this happened every day even after mentioning it to the manager.
Beds are solid and even though I did change my mattress with them three times it was like sleeping on the floor and the pillow was no better, if you like a very very thin firm matress and pillow then this is the place for you.
On arrival we booked for the Xmas Eve dinner and were allocated a numbered table or so we thought, as when that night came there was no where for us to sit and we were not the only ones this was happening to, a trestle table and two stools were produced next to the buffet area where everyone would have had to queue to get their food, we said no not acceptable and left the complex, irate and annoyed, there was no real organisation and a lot of heated waiters/staff and holidaymakers, it was a fiasco.
THE next morning the manager asked did we enjoy their xmas eve dinner and were we booked in for NYE, this was the same manager who had told us there was no where for us the previous night, when explaining this to him he said we must be mistaken and he hadnt spoken to us.
There were not enough sunbeds for the complex and the ones along the pool outside the rooms left very little area to walk past along with the sunbeds being almost as uncomfortable as the beds so we went to the beach every day.
The buffets and entertainment were ok, although only used the tickets as they were part of the package we had paid for otherwise wouldnt have bothered.
We spent three weeks here and I couldnt wait to leave, uncomfy bed and pillow, dark airless bathroom, noisy staff in a morning and non interested manager/s.
Whether it was due to it being xmas/nye, i dont know but a lot of holiday makers here had some complaint or another, many said they wouldnt be going back and there were others who said they would return and have been doing for some time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cassabells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

If you a re looking for a nice clean place to stay with most of the happening places within easy reach, then this Budget Hotel will be your answer. Located at a short distance from the Calangute and Baga Beaches, it looks after all your needs. The Breakfast Buffet is a bit miserly though in the number of items served, but then considering the price of the accommodation, one can't really crib about it. There are Scooters and cars to hire just outside and the staff will accommodate an early check in and a late check out most of the times. There is good air conditioning, Colour TV, Refrigerator with a mini Bar, attached Toilet and a small Kitchenette in each room. The 3 Swimming Pools are also well maintained. Overall, a nice and comfortable place to stay within a small Budget.

Room Tip: Ask for the Phase 3 or Phase 2 Accommodation and if possible a ground floor room facing the pool or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sudhir N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was our 5th time to Goa, but first at the Osborne. We had 2 friends who came with us, their 1st time to Goa.
Our stay was from the 23rd Feb to the 9th March.

We arrived to the Osborne about 12.30am after a very good flight by Thomas Cook.
Check in was quick, and the room boys promptly took our cases to our allocated rooms in phase 3 DD block.
When we entered the rooms, our 1st impressions were OMG, we can’t stay here, It reminded us of prisoner cell block H. We had previously explained to our friends before our arrival to Goa, that most hotels were basic but clean, so we knew what to expect, but this was really basic, stained towels left on the bed, shower heads were rusty, etc etc. We just sat down in our little living room and laughed and laughed just to see the look on our friends faces, (they normally go 4-5 star). We already decided we needed to change rooms, We promptly went back down to reception and told Laurence (the lovely reception guy) that we weren’t happy with our rooms and wanted to change, He said this wasn’t possible so late at night, but we could look at other options in the morning.
This was fine with us, we had to laugh, because our friends slept that night with their clothes still on because they wouldn’t get into the bed, so they slept on the top.

In the morning, we went back down to reception, and Laurence showed us a couple of rooms which we still weren’t happy with, so decided to upgrade to a deluxe room for us (which was located in phase 3 block A), which only really consisted of A/C as an extra, but the whole layout was a lot better, bigger bathroom, view looking over the little school. So we were quite happy with this room.
Our friends upgraded to a superior deluxe (which was located in phase 2 H block). Their room was large and bright with 2 balconies, nice living area, big wet room bathroom, so they were quite happy now.
We paid an extra £40 for the fortnight for the upgrade (which basically paid for the aircon), and our friends paid an extra £70 (which basically paid for their A/C and T.V). So now the holiday begins, we were now settled into our rooms.
Breakfast was served in phase 2 near the pool. Basic tea and toast which was ok, we always either had omelette or bacon which was extra, we didn’t mind paying for. Their omelettes were lovely. The hotel must have been quite full, as it was always busy at breakfast time.
We didn’t really use the pools, as we like the beach, but we always had a dip in the pool after a hard days sunbathing on the beach, and found the pools very refreshing. Phase 2 pool was colder than phase 3 pool.
Bar staff at the hotel were great. Always had friendly smiles, and couldn’t do enough for you.
John the manager of phase 2 bar staff, restaurant area, was lovely, and always took the time to talk to you.
Reception staff were always friendly and helpful too.
All the guests which were staying in the Osborne, (which were all basically British), were all friendly, and always had time for a yap , everyone liked to exchange their experiences and knowledge of Goa.
Never really used the hotel restaurant in the evenings, as we wanted to show our friends the lovely restaurants around north Goa which we have used over the years. We were given 2 vouchers each a week for the free buffet, but never used them until the last night of our holiday, and must say that we should have taken advantage of this, because the buffet food was actually really nice. It consisted of rice, poppadums, veg curry, chicken, naan bread, dhal, goulash (if you didn’t like Indian food). It was very enjoyable.
We have our usual taxi driver from baga that we use for our trips, and have used him over the years, but a couple of times we did use the taxi drivers which all located just outside of the gates of the hotel. They were all lovely and friendly and wouldn’t hesitate to use them again.

The rooms were cleaned every day, and towels and sheets changed daily also. The only thing we didn’t like about the room was the metal wardrobe, which reminded us of an old filing cabinet. Didn’t really like to hang any of our clothes in there, but did, and just left the doors open so our clothes didn’t smell fusty like the wardrobe. Also, if you had long dresses to hang, you couldn’t hang them in the wardrobe as the space was limited to short things, so ended up hanging all dresses on the picture rail in the kitchen area. It looked like widow twankies.

All in all, we would recommend the Osborne, and would return if the price was right, Think the dodgy room at the start of the holiday is the norm in Goa, by the sound of other people’s experiences, so just change if you are not happy. Had a fab time in Goa as usual and can’t wait to return. Overall the Osborne was great, just for the staff alone.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank millseywatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Osborne 31/3/12 to 14/4/12.We had originally been going to the Senhor Angelo but had changed last minute due to bad reviews and we were so glad we did.We arrived mid morning after a very uncomfortable flight with Monarch they have reaiiy gone downhill ,we were squashed ,the food was awful and the toilets stank.However as soon as we got to the hotel we knew we were going to have a great time.
The reception staff were friendly and competant, we were given rooms B2 and B3which were ground floor in phase 2.The rooms were large very clean and lovely and cool as we'd elected to pay the £72 for air con which at this time of year was essential. At first I was a bit disappointed that what we thought was our balcony/terrace door did infact lead out on to a little street with motor bikes parked, but this was never a problem as we could walk out of our front door and we were in the pool bar with many tables, chairs and a waiter on hand to provide for your every need.
All the staff at the Osborne were brilliant our room boys ,the tall one with the book and the small one with the keys, kept our room clean every day with fresh towels and bed linen.Francis the restaurant manager was pleasant and helpful at all times and the bar staff especially Sandy ,Martin and Hilary were just lovely, they seemed to know what we needed before we did and nothing was too much trouble.I drove them mad with my requests for proper tea bags and seperate water(I like my tea really weak) .We had a great laugh with them .
The food at the hotel was also good, we got 2 free buffets per person per week and the quality and choice of food was fantastic, we also had a special Easter buffet on Easter Sunday which also had starters and puddings all for 300rupees(about 4pounds) and all the ladies got a hand made easter egg with sweets in the middle it was a really nice touch(I managed to bring mine home still in one piece it now has pride of place in my cabinet)
One of the best things about the Osborne is its location. It is far enough away from the busy main Calangute road to feel like a peaceful oasis,but near enough to get to many amazing restaurants ,shops and beaches.We befriended Kishor a taxi driver and he took us all over ,came back for us and then took us out later and the most we paid was ten pounds and thats for four.
We went to Ashwen ,Baga,Candolim and Calangute beaches , Baga as our favourite it was cleaner and had nicer shacks like Wetherspoons where we were very well looked after. We also did the spice plantation where our friends bathed and rode an elephant(we had done this last visit),we went to Mapusa market and to Panjim (which we werent too impressed with, ther wasnt a lot to see) My favourite trip was to Khola beach where we stayed overnight in a beautiful tent on the beach.Our friends went to Hampi which dspite the lengthy train journey they said was amazing.We also went dolphin spotting and saw quite a few.
The restaurants around the Osborne were all great places like I95 ,Chef Soueymans,Lazy Days, theSouza Lobo , Babutes (which was just next door) We had some unbelievable meals well worthy of Mitchelin stars, and the prices were unbelievable too.
we had such a good time and couldnt fault the hotel at all,Goa is a wonderful place with wonderful people and we cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cleveleystravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at the osborne from the 11th march for two weeks,we flew with thomas cook and found the flight out really good,excellent service on the plane,good films etc to keep you occupied,and the flight only took 8hrs 50mins! The airport in goa can get a bit crazy once u get outside the terminal,lots of locals trying to get take your case to the coach,bit annoying but suppose their only trying to make a living! The transfer to the hotel took about an hour and half,we arrived late at night so didnt get to see much,but the coach was fine,and rep on the coach was lovely! On arrival at the hotel we were given an awful room,it was like a prison cell,no balcony/terrace and no opening windows,there was also a very musty smell to the room,we went straight to reception and asked to move,they were really helpful and said we could move the next day,when the morning came we were told we had to wait another day,on the 3rd day we were moved to a much better room, c9 on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool,we had to pay an upgrade fee of £60 as this room had a/c but we were just glad to get out of the other room! Rooms at the hotel are quite basic,but on the whole we found them good value for money,cleaned everyday,and sheets changed everyday,as long as u keep an open mind and dont expect the ritz you"ll be fine,you are in india after all! There are lockers/safes that u can hire for your stay think they cost around 10 english pounds for 2weeks,and they are in a room just behind reception.We found all the staff at the hotel lovely and they couldnt do enough for you,they really do make the hotel! The hotel itself is in a great location,in a quieter area of calangute and not too far from baga and candolim! Taxis from outside the hotel cost around 100 rps into calangute,150 candolim,and 200 to baga! You must try a tuk tuk while your there we ended up preffering them to normal taxis : ) You get given free meal vouchers for your stay, 3 a week when u check in,we had the buffet a few times and found it lovely,a great choice and always hot and well cooked,it does get quite busy and u have to put your name down at reception the night before! We ate out most nights during our holiday and found some gorgeous places,to name a few i95 just 5mins walk from hotel,chef souymens (not sure on that spelling) thats nearer candolim,east is east in baga,over the flames on main rd into candolim,inferno in candolim,we ate a variety of food and never had any problems,the only bad meal we had was in calangute centre in redonda,i found 3 hairs in my food and it totally put me off,so thats a no go! Theres a few good bars not too far from the hotel,hungry horse,molly malones,babutes,and also some really nice bars in candolim,mango tree,sports bar....but if u want a lively night head into baga lots of bars,great atmosphere,beach shacks are great, never a dull moment! The beach is about a ten min walk from the hotel,we found the best shack to be aggies,they dont let any sellers on there so u get peace and quiet,the service is great and the food excellent my hubby had a few fish curries from there and loved them! We did lots of excursions on our trip,we decided to get a taxi to take us rather than book through the tc rep as it was much,much cheaper, we had a great taxi driver, remmy from just outside the hotel,we did the elephants,waterfalls/monkeys (worth it for the jeep journey alone,not for the faint hearted) croc trip,and the secluded beaches.....mandrem,morjim,and ashwen (again not sure on spelling) our fave beach was mandrem! We also did the sat night markets which we absolutely loved especially ingos,its got a real hippy feel,great music,shopping,drinks and food! Maggies is a bit smaller but just as good! The taxi drivers take u and bring u back,agree a price before u go,and dont be scared to haggle,its like a sport to the indians,they love it! Prices are really cheap in goa,for example we were having a 3 course meal for 2 with a few drinks each for around £16,u can get a budweiser for 40pence,large kingfisher for 90pence,crazy prices! Just to give you a rough idea we did all the trips we wanted to,ate and drank like kings,bought what we wanted off the markets,we didnt scrimp on anything and spent around £850,when we travel to europe we spend double this easy! All in all we had a fantastic trip to goa,and we would stay at the osborne again without hesitation,in fact were hoping to book for nxt year! : )

Room Tip: our first room was terrible think it was dd1,our second room c9 great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank brando75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here in 1998!! Was really basic and the room needed a good clean but the room was privately owned so had nothing to do with osbornes itself. Our room was on the ground floor beside the pool which was perfect as our daughter was 4 at the time. The guys working there were brilliant, they were very friendly and very helpful. We stayed in India for 5 months travelling around so this is a trip down memory lane!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maialeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.1 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 119 in Calangute
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#49 of 119 in Calangute
372 reviews
0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#105 of 119 in Calangute
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#97 of 119 in Calangute
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#33 of 119 in Calangute
292 reviews
3.9 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#4 of 16 in Anjuna
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Resort Goa

Address: Near St. Anthony's Chapel Gauravaddo | Opp Kamat Holiday Home, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $32 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Osborne Resort Goa 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Calangute
Osborne Hotel Goa
Osborne Resort Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing