We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“close to beach side experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #38 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“close to beach side experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2009

situated near the most famous calangute beach, hotel is good for middle class families. Bed room and hall, both are there and one can hire Kinetic or car for the whole day and can take Kinetic near to the room you stay.
Had a breakfast near pool area and listened to live music on weekends.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank directorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    118
    83
    29
    35
See reviews for
102
105
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

The hotel is located in Calangute, 5 mins walk from the beach and its multitude of shacks.
We contacted the hotel by mail after discovering its website. We received a prompt reply where we were offered a discount in case of early booking and full payment. This made our decision about choosing this hotel.
The rooms are large, very clean and well equipped (balcony, AC, cable TV, fridge), but rather tired and unappealing.
The staff was efficient and the swimming pool is better than in many hotels of the same category.

We didn’t eat in the restaurant as there are hundreds around, but we had nice cocktails and the breakfast, included in the price (Rs. 2,000), is simple (like in most hotels of the same category in Goa) but “correct”.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegcutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I and my daughter have stayed at the Kamat several times, and have always beenvery comfortable there. We stay in Phase two and enjoy the feeling of being part of the community so prefer an out look over the road. I sit on the balcony and see the children arriving for school next door, and on Sunday the congregation arriving for the chapel.
The bread man on his delivery bike, various salesmen with their wares on their heads which give at least some insight into how Goan life is lived.
The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable,perfectly adequate, af ter all one does not spend so much time in the room..

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hitchin herfordshire
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2009

not long back from our 5th holiday in goa and definatly the best holiday here so far we would definatly return to the "ondas do mar"we stayed in the main complex the manager Anthony and his wife Bernetta go out of there way to help make sure you have a pleasant stay and were available when ever we needed help or advice about the hotel or goa in general. the swimming pool was one of the cleanest we had seen and went swimming on several occasions . we ate in the resturant on many occasions and found the food very nice and freshly cooked , the bar staff "Acham Bubbles &Kevin were some of the the staff we cant remember all there names (sorry guys) also went out of there way to get your order drinks etc. Are roomboy called "savio" was very thorough when cleaning our room very helpful and freindly and had very good manners, again nothing was to much a truly lovely lad we could see him behind the bar next time we visit the ondas because he was so good/polite with us customers:~) weve only home a week and wish we was back at the ondas !!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinvaleriejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cogal233
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2009

We were surprised to find on arrival that we were not at the hotel pictured on the internet, but were at phase 2, which was a round trip of half a mile walk away. this walk was to breakfast area & all other facilities!
As breakfast finished at 09:30 you had to get up early and/ or take all your days kit with you to breakfast or face the walk back to phase 2. Having a bad knee this was unacceptable. This walk was also on the main road amongst traffic, taxi drivers looking for business, beggars & general hecklers! We were unable to use any of the hotel facilities & finished up at a local bar for breakfast each day.
The management refused to relocate us at the main hotel as in the brochure. They wre most uncoperative so we did not visit the main hotel after that.
The other hotel staff were helpful & pleasant as expected.
The hotel was tired looking & we would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cogal233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Basic hotel within easy reach of the beach, restaurants and shops.

Taxi's are available outside the hotel.

Stayed here for 3 weeks over the Christmas period and received 3 Christmas cards from various staff. The manager, Anthony was very helpful as were all the staff, who could not do enough for us and were so friendly.

There are 2 blocks to this hotel and although we stayed in the annex, which was ok, i would have prefered the main block, but very quiet and no disturbances.

We were invited to attend a 5 course Christmas dinner, consisting of some very delicious indian cuisine. The breakfast was eggs,eggs and more eggs, plus toast, jam and cereal, coffee, tea and juice. We had several meals at the hotel and these were on a par to any local restaurant.

Clean bedding and towels were provided daily as were the power cuts that lasted for 1-15 minutes. A candle would be advisable.

Take a plug with you for the basin!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Stayed there for the Diwali weekend, and came back with a mixed experience. The place is pretty decent for it's price, it's spread across two separate compounds, the one at the back being around 100 mts away from the main gate. The rooms and the common areas are well kept and clean, and the people at the front desk are quite helpful and courteous. The hotel includes a buffet breakfast in its deal, which is filling, and wholesome.
The only problem with the place is it's room service staff, the guys are just obnoxious!
Imagine asking for some water to be sent to the rooms and being asked to fill them from the restaurant and take it to the room yourself! That's what happened to us! The authorities claimed this was because they were really short on staff at that particular time, and the fact that we were put up in the extension property!
When countered with the fact that they should not accomodate guests there if they could not serve them, the response was all Non AC rooms are located there....a fact conveniently overlooked in the online advertisements.
However, apart from the really impudent staff, the place is good value for money....located in a quiet locality called "Holiday Street" a little way off the main Calangute beach, there's a nice quiet beach about 300 mts from the resort main gate (100 mts, as advertised, is quite a far fetched approximation :-) ).

  • Liked — Cleanliness, decor
  • Disliked — The Room Service Staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaliniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#95 of 110 in Calangute
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#86 of 110 in Calangute
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#13 of 110 in Calangute
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#44 of 110 in Calangute
562 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lua Nova Hotel
Lua Nova Hotel
#63 of 110 in Calangute
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#34 of 110 in Calangute
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondas do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondas do Mar Beach Resort

Property: Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Address: Holiday Street, Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ondas do Mar Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Ondas do mar' which in Portuguese means ‘waves of the sea’. It is a delightful beach resort in close proximity of just 300 meters from the beach . It has 30 air-conditioned, well appointed and comfortable rooms which is aesthetically designed with vibrant colours and large open space with balcony's facing the road and the swimming pool which gives one feeling of living in a Portuguese villa. We are a budget category property.There are two wings, one is old wing(Phase-I)(Std rooms) and the new wing(Phase-II)(Dlx rooms) are situated. Both has a swimming pool.Dlx rooms are spacious (55 sqmt) and overlooking the pool or the garden whereas Std rooms are (35sqmt) and has a road or the garden view. Both the wings are separated from each other. Buffet breakfast is served in the New wing(Phase-II. Property has two restaurents "Chef-e-tte" Poolside restaurent serving multi-cusine & "Abracadabra" serving Persian charcoal Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ondas do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondas Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Hotel Ondas Do Mar
Ondas Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing