We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 117 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Me and my family was welcomed by a receptionist with full of attitude, I thought it was just her with this attitude but it turned out that all other staffs follow the same :). The way she explained me their rules, I felt I have come for a military camp :).

I had to complain about the room latch which wasn't closing from inside, the carpenter took 45 minutes to fix that when we were waiting to change after that long travel.

Rooms are probably of stone age, every thing there, the doors, windows, AC, TV are from probably 2000 or something. Their generators don't power the TV nor the AC and not even the intercoms, so during power cuts(which was of plenty during our stay)you will have to live with the fan and will have to walk to the reception for room service :).

Rooms are not cleaned unless you tell them, because they don't have spare keys, OMG!.

Food was bad too, I had dinner from there on my first night, never after that :).
Breakfast was included in my room tariff, however nothing to talk good about it as well.

Overall, a very disappointing hotel, service and food. I don't recommend this for any one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sibi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 371 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Spacious rooms, free wifi, nice and friendly staff!
Short walking distance to the beach
Good value of money.
Recommend to every one!
Stayed there about 6-8 times, and soon go back:)

Teea&Harri, Finland

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed b/w 25th dec'2013 to 29th Dec'2013....They think guests don't drink water when they are in Goa. They don't clean your room unless you ask them to do so...my room was cleaned only once in 5 day stay.
No options for b'fast....they give give you the same stupid b'fast everyday.

Never again !!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VishalMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Booked the Hotel online from Travel site due to its closeness to the beach which is just a short walk from the hotel Best part of the hotel was its Rooms are clean but more over the Toilets were very clean and hygienic which you rarely find in hotels of such catergory hotel staff was very cooperative except the guy managing the Morning Breakfast counter. Food was ok but the buffet breakfast menu was very bad with very limited choice hence I recommend that it booking this hotel please book without breasfast included Pool iat the hotel also nice and clean Over all good experience.

Room Tip: pool facing rooms are nice or even rooms 103 or 104 which are street facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sacchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

i stayed there for two nights, & it was such a good experience to be there. rooms were very clean & spacious, staff was very caring & helpful. staying at this property is good value of money. recommend to every one & will like to come back here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunshukla_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited in Nov 2013. This resort was recomended to us by friends. And it was just what we wanted. Comfortable and close to the beach. Food was good. And the staff can also assist in arranging for tours, water sports and vehicle hires. Friendly staff and cozy rooms.

Will definitely visit again and recomend to friends too...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Nikita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Best part is hotel is so close to the beach that you can go anytime there within 5 mins.
Rooms are clean and hotel staff was very cooperative. They personally ask you if you need something or offer you good package of sight-seen.
Food and breakfast is ok. Pool is also ok.
Over all good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms which are pool facing are good choice. Just check TV and all other electronics equipments turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Akshay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#107 of 117 in Calangute
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#16 of 117 in Calangute
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#101 of 117 in Calangute
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#42 of 117 in Calangute
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#35 of 117 in Calangute
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#32 of 117 in Calangute
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondas do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondas do Mar Beach Resort

Address: Holiday Street, Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $32 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ondas do Mar Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Ondas do mar' which in Portuguese means ‘waves of the sea’. It is a delightful beach resort in close proximity of just 300 meters from the beach . It has 30 air-conditioned, well appointed and comfortable rooms which is aesthetically designed with vibrant colours and large open space with balcony's facing the road and the swimming pool which gives one feeling of living in a Portuguese villa. We are a budget category property.There are two wings, one is old wing(Phase-I)(Std rooms) and the new wing(Phase-II)(Dlx rooms) are situated. Both has a swimming pool.Dlx rooms are spacious (55 sqmt) and overlooking the pool or the garden whereas Std rooms are (35sqmt) and has a road or the garden view. Both the wings are separated from each other. Buffet breakfast is served in the New wing(Phase-II. Property has two restaurents "Chef-e-tte" Poolside restaurent serving multi-cusine & "Abracadabra" serving Persian charcoal Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ondas do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondas Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Hotel Ondas Do Mar
Ondas Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing