We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to beach, attentive staff, pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“close to beach, attentive staff, pool”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a cute beachy hotel that is reminiscent of Caribbean beach-side resorts. It's not the best hotel around, but is clean enough, comfortable, and a good bargain for your money. Frieds of ours stayed in a hotel just around the corner and paid more than twice what we paid, and we liked Ondas Do Mar better. I like the poolside restaurant/bar and we often relaxed there with a nice cold drink. Our friends who stayed at the expensive hotel would often come and hang out with us by the poolside at Ondas Do Mar.
The location is great, very close to the beach and many restaurants. Great little retreat after the hustle and bustle of bigger cities in India.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    119
    84
    30
    35
See reviews for
104
105
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Me and my wife travelled to Goa this April 2013 and tried Ondas do mar Calangute because of the way we read about it online. Our experience was good. Average styled Rooms (not too fancy), moderate pricing, family crowd. Although the variety in Breakfast can Improve.

Best things: Closer to calangute beach (where it is decent crowd), Quite surroundings outside room balcony (trees etc) and the best part ...that the Owners- Mrs. Fernandes was very Cheerful and shared local info on small trips.. price we paid below Rs.2000 per night.
For the price, its a good pick - one more hotel to add to our list for Goa... good location. cheers
Raunaq Potdar

Room Tip: ask the owners , while booking - they suggest well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raunaqP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was good to stay in Ondas do mar beach resort.............
It is very near to calangute beach and located very near to market and even easily accessible to wine shop. It was my 2nd trip to goa with friends and we had a great experience.
I toh would advic eto have a stay in Ondas if you are looking for comfortable and reasonable stay in goa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poojanegi_mmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Although I hadn't booked directly at Ondas do Mar, I was staying at a villa inside the Ondas do Mar resort. I don't know what it was with the staff, they were just plain rude right from the moment I entered the resort premises. They just complained about everything - that we got 2 cars when they were told only about 1 (which isn't true), how we parked our car, why we kept the gate open and why we didn't follow the swimming pool rules (which weren't listed but we had to follow them!).

The staff even went to the extent of abusing my friends in the local language. Thankfully, due to it's close resemblance to Marathi, I could understand it. Even after arguing about it, there was no apology by the resort manager. Plain ridiculous.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice location... very close to Calangute beach... and then nothing much to write home about.... rest starting from breakfast to service to food quality to rooms quality.... cockroaches in room.... staff is courteous and helpful though.... they had some middle-eastern food restaurant which was simply PATHETIC.... could ave been much better.

Room Tip: almost all rooms are pool facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himanshu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baramati, India
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed in this lovely place for 3 nights, it was our second visit. We all friends decided to stay here because of the feeling of the safety offered by the management headed by Mrs.Benedict . We enjoyed the premises with swimming pool, gardening around and coopertion of all the staff. Complimentary Breakfast was perfect, rooms are spacious enough, The resort is hardly 2 min walk from the beach and the main road. We all are in luv with this place. It is the best value for money location to visit with family and enjoy GOA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhasvelhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

ondas do mar came as a shock to me in goa. what they display on their site is a complete contrast to what they actually are. untidy rooms, rude staff and bad ambience is what you can find in the so called resort! the pool is dirty. the rooms stink and the washrooms are very unhygenic. dont ever plan to take their villas. they are nothing less than abandoned haunted webbed old houses! unable to bear the mess i left the place with my friends to another hotel even though we made prior payments. we roamed all day to find another accomodation in Goa which was an utter waste of time. overall it was a terrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reethu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#100 of 110 in Calangute
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#92 of 110 in Calangute
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#15 of 110 in Calangute
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#26 of 110 in Calangute
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#41 of 110 in Calangute
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Epitacio's Hotel
Epitacio's Hotel
#56 of 110 in Calangute
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondas do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondas do Mar Beach Resort

Property: Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Address: Holiday Street, Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ondas do Mar Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Ondas do mar' which in Portuguese means ‘waves of the sea’. It is a delightful beach resort in close proximity of just 300 meters from the beach . It has 30 air-conditioned, well appointed and comfortable rooms which is aesthetically designed with vibrant colours and large open space with balcony's facing the road and the swimming pool which gives one feeling of living in a Portuguese villa. We are a budget category property.There are two wings, one is old wing(Phase-I)(Std rooms) and the new wing(Phase-II)(Dlx rooms) are situated. Both has a swimming pool.Dlx rooms are spacious (55 sqmt) and overlooking the pool or the garden whereas Std rooms are (35sqmt) and has a road or the garden view. Both the wings are separated from each other. Buffet breakfast is served in the New wing(Phase-II. Property has two restaurents "Chef-e-tte" Poolside restaurent serving multi-cusine & "Abracadabra" serving Persian charcoal Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ondas do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondas Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Hotel Ondas Do Mar
Ondas Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing