We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ondas do Mar at its best!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #54 of 125 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ondas do Mar is a resort you cannot afford to miss. This is a place that offers great value for money and service. I took this resort for 3 nights for 20 guests and i am more than happy to say that its worth the experience.The Management is something that impresses me the most.
Anthony and Benedicta has a wonderful team and they made sure that my stay was fine.I would highly recommend anyone to experience this property. My guests have high praises and they love to come back again.
The Rooms are fantastic and have a great view to the pool. Location is a very big plus,it is located at the heart of Goa very near to the beach.
I rate this a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 375 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed there for about 2 days in December. The room was decent and the restaurant has good complimentary breakfast options. The location is great -about 1-2Kms from the beach. The hotel has a swimming pool but we did not use it simply because there is so much more to do outdoors in Goa.The room we stayed in had a small balcony and the bathroom was clean. The staff were friendly. Overall decent place to stay but there are cheaper options available.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went to this resort after reading TA reviews. Stayed for 03D/02N early December, we were two couples, stayed at their main phase in deluxe a/c room. The resort is spread out, very near to the beach. Shops are near by. Location was good. The restaurant food was OK and resonably priced. Thats the end for positive. Front office staff helpful.

Didn't like -
The restaurant staff was horrible, rude to say the least. A senior citizen couple requested for a glass of water and one should see this tall guy at the restaurant talking as if he is doing some favour, this guy kept them waiting for almost 2minutes when he could have easily given it to them within few seconds.

Breakfast time is 08-10am. They are always late and never starts before few reminders at 08:15am, but as soon as it's 10am it's closed, you won't even get a cup of tea. Yes, maintaining time is fine, but in that case you should start at 08am only.

Swimming pool was closed for the two days, reason given was cleaning. Never noticed anybody cleaning the swimming pool though. No money refunded, didn't ask too.

Once the foreigners are in the restaurant for some unknown reason they are served first even though you might have ordered before them.

The rooms are spacious with balconies, a/c (got to switch it off if you want to sleep peacefully), mini fridge. I am not comparing it with any 05* property but still very ordinary rooms and bed.

For the price (2900/- per night) there are better options available. Hope the management take note and improve. And should send that tall guy at the restaurant for some coaching on how to behave with guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rkreddy1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

stayed at ondas 2012 april and we love it.anthony and his wife were lovely and his excellent team of staff really could not do enough for us .. we cant wait to go back and the main reason is the way we was looked after so well .We was in a large ac room although a bit dated was nice and clean .we honestly cant fault the hotel .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jule-ann123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Due to limited budget we chose this place, was visiting with 3 other friends. The place is nothing great and it's not bad either, just about ok. We stayed for 4 days and the only meal we took here was the breakfast which was included with the tariff.
A very funny thing happened here during breakfast one day. The breakfast is a non smoking area which is clearly written in the eating area. Now 3 people (2 men and a lady) were sitting at a table next to ours and the men were smoking. The smoke was choking me and I asked one of the men very politely to not smoke there. The person who i asked immediately flared up and said why don't you ask him to stop smoking? (Indicating the other person accompanying him) Well I was so dumbfounded with the answer I couldn't say anything, because it was nonsensical but I told him that it was a non-smoking area to which he made a face. It was completely immature and very funny actually now that I come to think of it. But what irked me is that none of the hotel staff came forward to support me.
It does leave a bad impression!!! Though the other things at the hotel were not that bad but this incident does cloud my judgement and I would not like to go back there or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank tba001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I chose this hotel after checking the number of +ve reviews for the hotel. Excellent location, very close to beach & market. Room service isn't the best and you need to push them a bit every time for room service and cleanliness. Backup is another problem.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Ankur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The staff of this resort should get the maximum credit for the comfortable stay we had here...excellent behaviour and quickest service. We stayed in one of the pool facing AC large room in phase 2. The room was big and had two huge balconies which made the room very lighted and airy. This is my third trip to goa and this resort was the most value for money. Breakfast though can be improved. The beach is 3 minutes walk from the resort.

Room Tip: ROoms facing pool in the phase 2 of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#27 of 125 in Calangute
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#104 of 125 in Calangute
199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#107 of 125 in Calangute
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#15 of 125 in Calangute
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#48 of 125 in Calangute
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#8 of 125 in Calangute
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondas do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondas do Mar Beach Resort

Address: Holiday Street, Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $29 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ondas do Mar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Ondas do mar' which in Portuguese means ‘waves of the sea’. It is a delightful beach resort in close proximity of just 300 meters from the beach . It has 30 air-conditioned, well appointed and comfortable rooms which is aesthetically designed with vibrant colours and large open space with balcony's facing the road and the swimming pool which gives one feeling of living in a Portuguese villa. We are a budget category property.There are two wings, one is old wing(Phase-I)(Std rooms) and the new wing(Phase-II)(Dlx rooms) are situated. Both has a swimming pool.Dlx rooms are spacious (55 sqmt) and overlooking the pool or the garden whereas Std rooms are (35sqmt) and has a road or the garden view. Both the wings are separated from each other. Buffet breakfast is served in the New wing(Phase-II. Property has two restaurents "Chef-e-tte" Poolside restaurent serving multi-cusine & "Abracadabra" serving Persian charcoal Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ondas do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondas Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Hotel Ondas Do Mar
Ondas Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing