We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel! Great Service and exceptionally clean!”
Review of Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horizon
Ranked #34 of 117 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I was really anxious about how this hotel would be after reading the mixed reviews on this site, I was pleasantly surprised, yes the hotel is up a dirt track, but this is what makes the hotel unique, as it means the hotel is away from the mayhem that is Calangute! The room we were given was spacious and spotlessly clean, the bed is a little hard, but we slept like logs so didnt effect us too much.

It was our first time in Goa, we found Calangute beach and baga beach too busy, but loved the beaches of Mandrem and Ashrem further north. Goa was an amazing place to visit and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

I would recommend the jungle book trip, it was totally fab, worth every penny! Also visit South Goa as it is how Goa used to be before the tourists took over.

To be honest I could go on and on about how fab Goa is and the amazing service we received at the Horizon Hotel, but there isnt enough space.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fraggle363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 240 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

good value for money, basic but clean. Food and drinks round the pool are very reasonable, £3 for a beer and a curry, pot of tea for two 60p. Pepsi from the in-room fridge 30p, Water is 30p a litre. (however 5 litres from local shop is only 55p!).
Staff are all friendly and helpful and you can usually keep your room till 5pm free of charge.
The 'short cut' from the hotel to the Baga road is still there, though most people dont find it. It isnt much shorter but you have a nice quiet shady walk rather than battling the traffic on the main road. It brings you out near the Infanteria bakery, handy for lunchtime snacks.
They provide pool towels, rooms have aircon and a fan, a good size fridge and a small TV with various english channels but there is no Wifi.
A great place to stay if you want to be near the main bars and restaurants, but its in a quiet little backwater down a dirt road off the main street.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

I cannot complain at all. You are going to India so expect a culture sock. The hotel is off the main road down an unlit dirt track. It is pretty bumpy so ensure you are steady on your feet. The hotel has power cuts (as does all Goa) but they usually only last a few minutes. The water was hot for most days but you may end up having a cold shower on one or two days. In all my holidays I have never experienced such friendly, honest and caring staff. They will literally bend over backwards for you. The hotel is based in the centre of Calaungute. 10 mins from the beach.
One piece of advice is have about 5/6 pound coins ready for the airport when you arrive, it's easier to tip than ignore them all!
I would return to The Horizon. The food is incredible. Try the Beef Rogan Josh!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren3686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We only stayed 2 nights here because we were based in Palolem and spending time between there and North Goa.

Upon arrival we were very impressed with the recetion and pool area. We were on the ground floor (301) with a balcony overlooking the pool. The decor of the buildings and our room was to a high standard and clean.

The location is good although the dirt track leading up to the hotel makes you wonder what you've let yourself in for especially those on a first trip to Goa! Loads or bars, shops, restaurants, cash points etc close by.

My only complaint is that we were kept awake till 0430 the first night due to 4 men drinking around the pool and were very loud and drunk - not got a problem with people having a late drink but no effort was made by staff to ask them to keep it down and move them away from the numerous rooms by the pool!

On our second night we ate at the hotel (cos I wasn't feeling too good!) and the food was great however the very loud techno/jungle music being played by the DJ from 7.30pm was a bit strange and amusing because the restaurant was full of families and older people waiting for the Safari themed night to start.

I am pleased to say that the music was off by 11pm and we got a peaceful nights sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpursAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We have just got back from our stay at the horizon. Overall we found the hotel to be ok. The hotel has several good points, which were 1: its location (right in the centre of calengute. 2: the swimming pool was clean (although it was small, and very cold). 3: the rooms were basic but clean. Now for the bad points, 1: we had a room at the rear of the hotel, and every night we were kept awake by barking dogs (ask for a pool view). 2: the hot water in the room was very hit and miss some days you had it some days you never. 3: the bed was rock hard (a tip ask reception for an extra matress your going to need it). 4: THE STAFF WERE VERY LAZY, we were never asked if we wanted a drink. Drinks that we had around the pool were never collected, sometimes left untill the next day. I even had to wake one of the barmen up, who was a sleep behind the bar, so i could get a drink. Nobody seemed to eat at the hotel while we were there, i think that had something to do with the staff and the attitude that they all seemed to have.
Would i recommend this hotel to anyone? im not sure, if the price was right then i would say yes, after all its in a very good location. However i have stayed at the Palmarhina hotel and found the service and the hotel MUCH BETTER.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACEHI121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Second time we have stayed at the Horizon due to the fact its 10 mins walk to the beach, theres plenty of bars and resturants on the doorstep and its only a short taxi ride to Baga and Candolim. Have your wits about you on the beach, there are guys who will walk passed you then suddenly look at you as if you have something in your hair or ears which they are happy to help you with (for money!!) Steer clear of the Crystal Rock Shop in Calangute. We bought a diamond ring here in 2008 and were highly delighted with it and the service we recieved.So, we returned this trip, picked a stone, did the haggleing and collected the finished ring. When we arrived back in the UK we had it checked to find it is not the same stone and nowhere near the quality of the one we thought we had picked and paid £3000.00 for!.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hirstyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

just back from 2 weeks at the Horizon.We had a fab time.Been to Calangute many times before.but this is best value hotel.Well situated,very clean.We have stayed in nicer hotels but paid more than double the price.Staff were excellent.Robert was our cleaner and he went beyond his duties to help.He let us keep our room until 7 pm and would not go home until he had taken our cases to the bus at 9 15pm.We will be returning as soon as possible

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#33 of 117 in Calangute
170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#16 of 117 in Calangute
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 117 in Calangute
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#35 of 117 in Calangute
292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#9 of 117 in Calangute
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#44 of 117 in Calangute
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon

Address: Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $56 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting strip of Calangute, Horizon is perfect for holidaymakers of all ages who look for high standards of service right in the heart of the resort centre. This attractive complex is set in an excellent location, within easy reach of local amenities and the beach. The air-conditioned rooms have twin/double beds, wardrobes, TV sets and fridges, with en-suite bathrooms and balconies. Besides visiting its in-house multi-cuisine restaurant, guests also have the option of visiting the nearby shacks on the beach for further food and leisure options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Booking.com so you can book your Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Calangute
Horizon Hotel Goa
Horizon Beach Resort Goa
Horizon Calangute
Horizon Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing