We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Nizmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nizmar Resort
Ranked #82 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2009

I had visited this hotel for my anniversary. After doing lot of reasearch on hotel location and reviews from various travllers I zoomed in on this hotel.

I was able to get 50% discount on the published fares by directly calling the hotel staff since this was an offseason. This included 3n/4d stays with breakfast/dinner and air port transfer both ways.

The hotel is situated at Calungate and is atleast 15 mins walk to the beach from 1:15 mins from air port.

The staff is very courteous and the hotel arranges for a live orchestra during evenings (depening upon occupancy). We got it for 2 nights. The singers are from Goa so that are good at singing english songs but hindi....emm!

Breakfast and Dinner was buffet. Since 80% of the hotel is occupied with foriegners you would find limited but tasty indian food. The staff was courteous and offered us to order anything from a fixed menu if we did not like something from the buffet.

The rooms are decent with ok furnishings. However the rooms are very spacious and have two balconies and you get a great view of the hotel swimming pool OR the greeney in the hotel. Bathroom is spacious as well but without batch tub.

Once the TV did not work and once we had no hot water. But the hotel was prompt is making alternative arrangements.

For sightseeing negotiate with taxi drivers outside hotel. I bargained for 800rs for north goa tour and 1000rs for south goa tour.

Overall a very good experience.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms
  • Disliked — Limited vegeterian food
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankurgupta26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    58
    35
    22
    37
See reviews for
32
81
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

we stayed for 1 week at the nizmar. staff are all friendly and accommodating. the rooms are very large with A/C free of charge. the rooms a clean and comfortable. location is great, hotel is in the centre of everything. there are bars, shops and restaurants everywhere. the beech is fantastic - just a 10 minute walk away. there sre beech sellers but are really friendly and just want to make a living. if you say no they just leave you alone. but bartering is part of the fun, just remeber you are only batering over no more than a few quid sometimes a few pence.
we ate out every day and night. iwas sometime embarresed paying all of £5 for lunch , beer and water and the sun bed on the beech. we have never been anywhere so cheap.
any thats enough from me.
my advice - Goa is a fantastic country where we will be visiting again very soon.
advice - watch your bar bills at the hotel- they will add a few drinks on if your not careful. pay for each drink rather than a tab. this is only at nizmar hotel. everywhere else is amassing.
enjoy Goa!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brisnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We visited Goa in Jan 2009 for 2 weeks for my wifes birthday.What a brilliant time we had.After reading several reports on the Nizmar we decieded to set down there for our duration, 2 glorious weeks.
Our room was a super deluxe and we thought it was really good,our room boy was great,keeping our fridge topped up whenever we indulged in a few bottles of Kingfisher or Breezer.The T.V was sound too as i was able to watch loads of footie updates.The towels and bed linen were changed every other day and the A/C worked to perfection and it was free(makes a change).
Taxi's are on the doorstep if you require them but we chose the option of mingling with the locals and walking to the busier parts of Candolim and Bagga.
We had several friends who were staying for 3 weeks and they spent most of their afternoons lazing outside Larios shack,these shacks are brill there are so many to choose from that a lot of people find one and visit each day for their stay.Ourselves tried lots of different ones Big Banana and Domino's to name a few.
We visited several other beaches using one of the many taxi's available which worked out about 1400 rp's for a 2 hour return drive with an overnight stay in a beach shack. I recommend this so much as the beaches are a lot less populated.
We didn't spend much of our time eating at the hotel as we like to try different eating houses but what we ate at the Nizmar was quite good.
I know that it impressed us so much that we have booked the same hotel in Jan for 3 weeks.
The initial sights of dust a rubbish strewn all over is soon forgotten when you realise you're in a third world country.Go ahead and experience the Goan way.
We loved it Kev & Alicia from Boro

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We have just returned from a 1 week stay in Goa at the Nizmar. It was our first time in Goa and had a lovely relaxing time.

We had 2 adjacent rooms as we were there with our daughters aged 12 and 15. Our elder daughter was not terribly impressed by the hotel and was quite bored, the younger one enjoyed herself.

The rooms are basic but big and clean. The pool area is also clean, the pool chaps cleaned the pool every morning and were helpful moving sunbeds around for you and getting umbrellas if you wanted one. The food at Nizmar was ok - we never had dinner at night preferring to eat out but the children had lunch there most days. My husband and I went to the beach for a couple of hours each day and had lunch at Rosario's shack most days - by far and away the best food we had in Goa - the currys were out of this world.

It was much to hot to do anything so we just lazed around most of the time through the day and went out for dinner each night.

I would recommend this hotel as a cheap and cheerful hotel for a good break. It is not 5 star luxury but it is not bad, you get what you pay for and as I said the rooms are clean and large, clean towels each day and the bar area is quite nice for a couple of drinks at night

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2009

we have been to Goa 3 times now and never had a bad hotel yet !! We chose to stay at the Nizmar as it was the cheapest Hotel in Calangute / Candolim - we looked at the reveiws and they were pretty good so we booked it. When we arived at the hotel on the 24th of march "09" the reception staff never had a smile on their face they didnt look very cheerful - but we got to our room (206) it was a bit small and we had a child age 11 with us, the room had a double bed which was ok as the child could sleep in the middle, we had a fridge which got filled daily, a television which didnt even work it was terrible we could watch no T.V !!!! the toilet was pretty bad to the toilet didnt flush and everytime you turned the shower on you burnt your hand but we coped with it! on our first day we just chilled by the pool (if you are coming to this hotel and you like to swim in the pool it is very small) the staff are great always cheerful and great help. When we were staying at the hotel there was a conference on with 150 indian people attending it so at the pool ther was chaos they were jumping in the pool splashing everyone, chucking balls everywhere and shouting , so the next day we went to the beach and i would recomend 4 beaches that are very quiet and you will probaly be the only people on them are :- Morjim beach, Mandrim Beach, Ashvem Beach and Vagator Beach the shacks sell great food on them and the beds are nice and comfy. The Entertainment at night at the Hotel are ok you have Karaoke on a Saturday, singers on Monday and a one man band on a Wednesday. "great thing to tell you" EVERY MONDAY, WEDNESDAY,SATURDAY it is a FREE meal at the hotel wether you are all inclusive, BB, half board "but ypu still need to pay for your drinks" if you are like us and like going out for dinner at good restaurants then here are the ones we eat at every year :- Souymans Kitchen (this is fantastic they do great lobster and steaks) Kim Faa (wow!!! this is probaly the best chinese ever) Roma (great itlaian) Le jar dan (superb) I95 (great meal) After Seven (nice food) Victors - ( Dont get mixed up by Victor exotica the hotel ) - it is probaly on of the best restaurants in Candolim mabey even Goa - tell you taxi / cab driver that it is on the end of whispering palms road when you get to it you may not want to go in because it looks horrible from the outside as it is just a small shack it only has 4 tables so what you need to do is go there the night before the night you are going to go and tell him the food you want as he goes and gets it fresh from his farm he has a prawn farm and it is very cheap make sure you eat here at Victors !!!!
Now the Food at the hotel Nizmar ---- well.... some dishes are ok but other are terrible i ordered a plain cheese burger and i got cheese on a bun so i took it back and said a beef burger with cheese so the brought it back with the cheese but with cold ham on it so i had to just stick to it. Everything is very cheap in goa A normal type of juice is usualy about 20p!!!!! its great

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammccallum6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
black country
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Myself and my wife have just returned from the nizmar resort and i cannot fault the complex the staff or the resort in any way.This hotel is exactly like it is in the brochures if not better we will definatley be going back next year.We stayed in room 115 which is the first block on the top floor ,after a week you soon get used to climbing the stairs and after all the fantastic meals you eat whilst your there you are glad of the excercise to get to your room.Mangesh was our luggage handler and he was so helpful to us during our stay .Mangesh hope you are there when we return in 2010!.We went to the beach on most days which is only at short walk away from the hotel and the shacks are all ok to have lunch and a cold beer etc.Our taxi driver was called Lucky and he took us everywhere for the whole 2 weeks for a very reasonable price and he would wait for us all day for around 700 rupees.I had a suit made from Mac who is based at the hotel and the quality is second to none and very inexpensive.Overall i would reccomend anyone to visit goa and the nizmar and defy anybody to say you didnt have a excellent time.Last word to Arthur who works behind the bar keep up with your good work and keep smiling see you next year.p.s still waiting for your email.......

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j4suy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We have just come back from the Nizmar and after the culture shock at first sight, we found the hotel to be very good, our room overlooked the pool and was on the top floor room 113. The room was basic but kept very clean by the "room boys", we seemed to get clean towels every day and also clean sheets, maybe it was the 50 rupee tip that done it on first day......
The bar and pool area are keept clean by the staff and the food when we did eat in was very good and cheap.
Calangute it's self is a bit of an eye opener, very dirty and absolute chaos on the roads, no foot paths so it was a little bit daunting to walk anywhere, but a taxi was only 100 rupees any where so why walk?
The baech is near by and reached by a road out the back of the hotel, we used Dommats shack, where a very good curry would cost you 110 rupees and a large beer 50 rupees, the beach at Calangute is very crowded with day trippers from out of state. Bagga beach is a little quieter, in my opinion the best beach was Candolim as it was cleaner and less hectic....
Loads of good restaurants around we liked, East meet West, Sulimans Kitchen and Le Reverie on (holiday street) to name but a few...
So all in all not a bad holiday and a very good hotel with very friendly staff, would we go back, probally yes we will.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.3 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
959 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#90 of 110 in Calangute
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
#23 of 110 in Calangute
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.1 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#28 of 110 in Calangute
285 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#5 of 24 in Baga
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nizmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nizmar Resort

Property: Nizmar Resort
Address: Naika Vaddo Calangute, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nizmar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Nizmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nizmar Resort Calangute
Nizmar Hotel Calangute
Nizmar Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing