We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vegetarian restaurant in Calangute”

Hotel Plantain Leaf Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 411 Restaurants in Calangute
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Vegetarian restaurant in Calangute”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It is good option for pure vegetarian food for tourist at the calangute beach. Walkable from the calangute beach. It has very good menu with both south and North Indian dishes. Taste is good.
Prices are reasonable and service is good. Good Value for Money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taurus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    54
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Veg. Restaurant, must Visit for Vegetarians”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Was in Goa for 5N/6D of which 1N was at Calangute,, like the title suggest this is a must visit restaurant for Vegetarians in fact for anyone who enjoys Veg. food.
The food is just awesome and reasonably priced, had all three meals here, do try their Veg Kadai it’s really awesome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajit_Pillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must visit for Vegetarians”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you are in Goa ad looking for really very good vegetarian food for your taste buds, then you must visit this palce. This is probably the best place for vegetarian as food is really tasty.

The quality of food, service and ambiance is very good. This place is located at Calangute - Baga junction, which makes its access easy.

During my visit to Goa, I prefer to have most of my meals here only being vegetarian.
A nice place to visit with family as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kishore_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“amazing value”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

ate at the plantain whilst holidaying in goa jan 2012. its where the locals eat so its vegetarian and everything is cooked to order. well cooked, amazing value. we ate here 3 times during our stay and the food was always brill. I admit its not the prettiest of places and the wooden benches are hard but if you want to eat what the locals eat and good value its a must at least for one meal. we had the special thali on two occasions which was lovely and another time I had the paneer karahi which was beautifull, with the popadoms and garlic nan mmm. there was 3 of us and the bill was only about £7. The staff are very polite and helpful. my brother has been eating there for the last 10 years when in goa and I would not hesitate going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

ate here during our first visit to Goa, Calangute in Sept 2011. we just stayed on the beach, at Calangute Residency of Goa tourism. this resto is just on the main road that leads to the Calangute beach. probably pure veg, but not sure! value for money. when we visited i was too much tired and wanted to eat my dinner early and rest so we went before even 7 after which the dinner time starts... i got good south indian thali 'n food, that was with curd 'n sweet, filling, tasty and felt great! no one was there except 2 of us, so enjoyed the service. no liquor avail. nice to visit with family. not bad ambiance and probably non a/c...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_Bhavika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Plantain Leaf Restaurant also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Hotel Plantain Leaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing