We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Calangute Goa
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel describing itself as a 5 star establishment is like Michelle McManus describing herself as a size 10. A complete lie. It's a 3 star at very best and the official photographs on the hotel's website have obviously been through some nifty photoshop work.

At first I couldn't decide if the general set up was so ironic that I wasn't cool enough to get it but then I realised that it was actually just terrible.

My immediate observation was that the brilliant white decor shown on the official website was actually more like the colour of white underwear someone had owned for 10 years. This gave the place a shabby and dirty feel that doesn't bode well for a first impression.

The next rather startling observation was the random artwork on the room doors which depicts "individual looking" members of the public. The image on our room door was some sort long haired, tattoo'd gentleman in caveman attire. Again, I may not be cool enough to interpret the message behind the interior design but it was really just quite creepy.

The room set up would also fall into the bizarre design plans. The room is completely open which means there is no real privacy element when showering and using the toilet. This is worth taking into consideration if travelling with a friend as it may prove a tad awkward like it did for myself and my friend.

With all of this in mind I thought I could at least look forward to the hotel's location on the beach. Sadly not. The beach are is not private and I was immediately descended upon by girls selling various trinkets. There were also cows on the beach which I don't hold the hotel responsible for but it's still rather unsettling. When on the beach it was clear to see from the back of the hotel that it is much more run down than advertised and in need of refurbishment to bring it up to the 5 star experience it boasts.

The general service was not terrible but it was not very good either and the food served was mediocre. As for the drinks, there seems to be no happy medium where alcohol is involved. Drinks were either too strong or seemed to have very little alcohol.

I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Goa and if I was pushed to report on one positive....the only thing I can come up with is that the bouncer is very hot.

This hotel should be investigated by trade descriptions act. Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPHBGoa, Manager at The Park Calangute Goa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Ms. Moore,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at The Park on Holiday Beach.

We have taken a note of your feedback. We are a boutique hotel and market / advertise ourselves as that. We apologize if you had any different expectations regarding the property.

We are sorry if we have not been able to match your choice in terms of design. Design is of individual liking to everybody. There are other guests as well who have not liked the modern decor and design but we have also had guests who have loved our contemporary features.

We have a complete white theme and since you were in Goa during the monsoon, it had a washed look. Apart from that if there is anything else you feel which does not match the photographs, i will be happy to have your feedback on skhanna@theparkhotels.com. As you had already seen before moving out today, we are in the process of painting the hotel again.

We have noted your feedback about the cocktails and will pass on the compliments to the bouncer.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in India.

Best regards,

Saurabh Khanna
Director - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 574 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Undoubtedly our stay at "The Park Hotel" has been the best ever so far (in India), located right at Calangute beach.

The front office people was super awesome and took really good care. Decorated our room with flowers all over before we arrived and delivered a yummy strawberry apple cake at the end of the day.
"Love", the restaurant was one of the best places in Goa we had food. There Chicken Xacuti, Achari aaloo and yellow daal is super awesome. It's a little expensive then other restaurants around but the quality and taste is worth it. I think they hired the best chefs in Goa.
I have nothing but all good things to say about this beautiful property. I am certainly going to come back to this hotel if I ever visit Goa again and I'll definitely recommed this hotel and restaurant to anyone who visit Goa.

Thank you so much to "The Park" team for making our Goa trip unforgettable.

Room Tip: If you are going to this property to celebrate a special occasion, please call or notify the hotel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMATIYANi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPHBGoa, Manager at The Park Calangute Goa, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

on behalf of the entire team at The Park on Holiday Beach, I would like to thank you for your recent stay and also for your kind words.

These words of encouragement will certainly help our team to excel further and ensure great experiences for our guests. The Park on Holiday Beach has been listed amongst the top 60 hotels by Conde Naste Traveller UK and we are committed to providing exciting customer experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Saurabh Khanna
Director - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

On July 2012 we have stay 4 nights at this hotel. If you want a nice 3 star hotel you are in the right place. The photos are nice but very far from the reality. It is small, poor, dirty and noisy. Have a nice staff and a great Chef! Too expensive for the poor service they provide. Rooms are small, walls need painting, linnen and baht towels are dirty, restaurant needs to be cleaned and repaired (urgently). Sunset party with drunk teenagers jumping with clothes on and holding glasses to the pool was the cherry on top of the cake!
Make sure you choose the right place to stay and do not miss Goa! It is beautiful. In Panaji you will find lots of Portuguese shops and little streets. It is a journey back in time.

Room Tip: Suites face the pool and are larger but also are noisier. Standard rooms are very small and have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2012Azeitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPHBGoa, Manager at The Park Calangute Goa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and for your feedback.

We are disappointed that you and your family didnot enjoy your stay with us. You did share your concerns regarding the property with us during your stay and we had taken steps to ensure that your feedback is taken care of.

We are a small boutique hotel and are committed to delivering exceptional customer service. We are sorry that you didnot get that experience.

Do let us know whenever you plan to visit Goa again and we will make amends to ensure you spend a good time with us.

Best regards,

Saurabh Khanna
Director - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Anyone who looks at the pics on the site can never think anything negative.But the fact is that the hotel is not worth the money;especially with the seasonal price.The property is small but have been well planned.When I entered the room, felt like entering a clothing line showroom :-)The rooms are very average size.The room and bathroom floor were dirty when we checked in.Also the tea cups were not clean( see pic.) They have an average size pool which is nice.The restaurant offers a wide range of food and quality is good.The rain has really taken a toll on the exteriors.Although this hotel has started operating from 2012,It seems like atleast 5-6 years old.But the best part is their service.Mr. Saurav Khanna and his team are so nice and friendly that you really forget all the bad parts.I would love to go back if the renovation is done nicely as it shows on the pic.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good with no major differences...so any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ajit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPHBGoa, Manager at The Park Calangute Goa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and also for your feedback.

We are disappointed that you didnot enjoy your stay as much as we wanted you to.

Ours is a small boutique hotel and though we may not have the space of many other 5 star hotels, where we stand out is our personalised service. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and facilities. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.

I apologise that you had to point out regarding the area being not clean and we have taken measures to ensure it does not happen again.

We look forward to receiving you back post monsoons and will ensure you love the place.

Best regards,

Saurabh Khanna
Director - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Mr. Sanjeev,

Reading extreme (good as well as bad one) reviews of your hotel and ur hospitality service can't understand whether to book the hotel or not for my parents, as such this is their 1st trip to GOA. I am planning my dad's birthday coming next month in GOA as a surprise for him...

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank krunal_gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPHBGoa, Manager at The Park Calangute Goa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us and we look forward to hosting you and your family soon.

I can understand the reasons of your dilemma after reading the reviews as we have had some extreme reviews. There are guests who have absolutely loved our property and there have also been guests who have been disappointed due to certain reasons.

We had certain issues and renovation work during the monsoons which has been sorted out. Ours is a small luxury boutique hotel on the beach. Like all The Park Hotels we stand out for our modern design and decor. We have recently been listed amongst the top 60 hotels to open in 2012 by the esteemed international magazine Conde Naste Traveller UK.

Please feel free to contact me on skhanna@theparkhotels.com and I along with my team will ensure that your birthday gift to your father is a memorable one.

Best regards,

Saurabh Khanna
Director - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Since there are no other renowned 5 stars in and around Calangute/Baga, this comes forward as a good hotel. It is in Candolim beach and provides a good mix of fun and calmness. Since it is closer to baga and calangute, they are easily accessible, and if you are looking for some peace, just stay back in the hotel and enjoy the beach view from its lounge-bar. Its a new hotel, built around 8 months back so the quality of rooms etc are all pretty good. Although I personally found the room-service to be a shade slow, but it is certainly ignorable as once you are in Goa, there is not time to complain ;) Just party...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankit4185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPHBGoa, Manager at The Park Calangute Goa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Ankit,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at The Park on Holiday Beach and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We have also noted your feedback about the room service being slow and will ensure that this is corrected. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Saurabh Khanna
Director - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I just got back from Goa. After a lot of research we decided that we'd stay at The Park. We read some mixed reviews about the hotel and were skeptical about our stay but to our surprise..it was mind blowing. It is located at Calangute beach and every other beach of Goa is very nearby. Infact you can walk to Bagha beach from the beach which is just ahead of The Park.

The beach next to it is probably one of the cleanest beach that we came across. You can sit in the pool and enjoy the view of ocean if you don't wish to go into sand.

The bar is excellent. You can sip on your favorite poison and enjoy ocean currents. At night, they play good music. You can either sit at the bar..drink and dance... or you can jump in the pool..drink and play. The rooms were excellent. Just the right size..

Last but not the least..THE STAFF needs to be appreciated. They were all so polite..so helpful..and so courteous. We got late for breakfast buffets... but they served us past 10.30 am aswell. Even at buffet..there were staff members around who kept asking and bringing food right on our table.

All in all..we had a wonderful experience.. This hotel deserves ZERO negative reviews. If you are planning a trip to Goa. This is the place where you should go.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n9k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPHBGoa, Manager at The Park Calangute Goa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

on behalf of the entire team at The Park on Holiday Beach, I would like to thank you for your recent stay and also for your kind words.

These words of encouragement will certainly help our team to excel further and ensure great experiences for our guests. The Park on Holiday Beach has been listed amongst the top 60 hotels by Conde Naste Traveller UK and we are committed to providing exciting customer experiences.

We look forward to a welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Saurabh Khanna
Director - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
#1 of 124 in Calangute
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#9 of 124 in Calangute
638 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#14 of 124 in Calangute
370 reviews
4.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Calangute Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Calangute Goa

Address: Holiday Street, Lane opposite Calangute Mall | Candolim & Calangute Beach, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#16 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $126 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Calangute Goa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This seafront property features an open-air lounge where you can unwind with a frozen tropical daiquiri after a long day of touring the neighborhood attractions. Sip and take in the breathtaking view of the ocean. Count the beers, the hours left in the day while watching the sunset.Below the skybar you will find our restaurant. Savour the sight of our Chef's specials being prepared in the open kitchen while you enjoy our Bartender's classics with some chilled out music. This breezy and comfortable restaurant also gives you direct access to the beach and to the swimming pool.Stretch out and relax on the daybeds and cabanas next to the purple pool. Read a book while enjoying a delicious margarita, take a snooze after you've had a swim, or just lay back and people-watch. Treat yourself to a foot rub after a long night out, while you make plans for another one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Park Calangute Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Calangute Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing