We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oriental”

Oriental,THe Royal Thai
Ranked #80 of 410 Restaurants in Calangute
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This is the best Thai food I have tasted outside of Thailand. The Chef, Chawee, was formerly employed by the Thai Royal family and serves and excellent selection of both Thai food and European food. We visited it 3 times in a three week stay in November 2011
Calangute, India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“oriental”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

this restuarent does keep moving around,now in its fourth incarnation,best one was when in Candolim,however the food is good Thai cooked by a Thai,prices for goa on the higher side but ok for tourists

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragon07NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend anymore”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We first discovered this restaurant during our stay two years ago (in a different location). and loved it for its fairly authentic Thai food. We made a point of finding its new location, and looked forward to the meal.
The first disappointment was the location in a dreary path beside the Mira Hotel.. there were a few tables beside the small pool, but we weren't shown these; we were sitting in a thoroughfare with all the hotel guests passing by.
Well, it didn't matter too much if the food was good. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case anymore. We ordered one of our favourite Thai dishes, Som Tam (green papaya salad), which should be vibrant. A tiny plate was INR210, it was incredibly bland, no spice at all, and even the lime juice was barely there. A chicken stir fry (described as the hottest chicken dish by the waiter) again was not spicy at all. The crispy aubergine was not crispy, but very mushy, as if it had just been boiled in water. To top it all, a very small plate of rice was priced at INR140! All in all, a very disappointing meal, at INR1500 (without alcohol) far too expensive for what it was. Service was ok. Another place not to visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ullabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST FOOD EVER”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

we visited this resteraurant three times during ourhols in march this year,the steaks currys and different prawn dishes,were all so hot fresh and mouth wateringly tasty,it reallly was superb,and the service was prompt and friendly,we definately will be going there again and again,thank you mr stone and co.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I visit this restaurant every year, often more than once. It is consistently of a very high standard. Whether you go for the Thai dishes or the amazingly tender steak you will not be disappointed. I particularly love the fried prawns and the mussels as starters. The crispy beef tenderloin is great. This year the star dish was pork in banana leaf. Will be back next year, for sure.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow! So pleased we went back.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

this has always been one of our favourite restaurants. Last year it had moved to Molly Malones and we have it a bad review. It has moved back to the Mira hotel and we decided to give it another try. it was fantastic. Well done Henry! You have excelled yourselves. we went 3 times , my husband had the Thai dishes and said they were lovely. On all 3 occasions I had the mouth watering steaks that just melt in the mouth. This is a fantastic restaurant and well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlythCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental,THe Royal Thai also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Oriental,THe Royal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing