We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely venue not bad food but very slow service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Kitchen Restaurant

Indian Kitchen Restaurant
Ranked #222 of 408 Restaurants in Calangute
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: We are the original inhabitant of this tiny state of Goa a former Portuguese colony.Our ancestral house is partly converted into a guest house catering to the budget traveler and we have recently added a few luxury apartments which are annexed to the old house and they are operated by my brother and sister duo. We operate the budget guest house and restaurant and We ourselves travel the length and breath of this country and are experienced travelers and hence know the pulse of the traveler we have accommodation which is true value for money.There is budget accommodation of just 4 rooms. We have most modern amenities that of a three star resort being only a guest house.
mansfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely venue not bad food but very slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We visited on the say so of friends who had visited earlier in year, its not the easiest place to find down an alley behind a church but we got there, it was a beautiful setting in a courtyard not too many tables but it was only half full we ought had an idea of what was to come as we waited ten minutes for someone to arrive for us to ask for a table we seated in lovely position but then it became obvious there was only one staff waiting on and we waited another twenty minutes to get a drink and our order taken, it was a very European menu with a few local dishes considering name of restaurant we ordered starters [maybe a mistake] and again waited ages but they were very nice ham and potato parcels, again we waited a long time for our dinner I had liver and bacon[a favourite of mine] my wife a curry dish [again] the food was again pretty good but the slow service spoiled the night although I did appreciate the waiter was alone and did a great job really but they needed to have more staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mick156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing mixture”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had heard good reviews of this restaurant however were sorely disappointed. The setting and general layout of the complex is attractive and I understand that the accomodation is excellent and good value. The menu is a mishmash of cuisines and seemed to cater mainly for those who like European style food at all costs. Having seen the menu we almost walked out but decided to give it a go and tried a steak and liver and bacon - the latter was overcooked and like leather. The steak was ordinary and fairly tasteless. You can eat much better that this in Baga. We won't return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“DO NOT BE DECEIVED BY THE NAME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We ate here several times but never ate the Indian Food on offer. We had Fish Florentine, Normandy Chicken, Devilled Chicken, Chicken Stroganoff, Chicken in Mustard Sauce all of which were excellent. I understand the Liver and Bacon was good but as I didnot have that I cannot comment. It was also very good value for money and the service was usually very good. However on one night we were there there was a table of 8 and all the other tables were full. The service was very slow but we took the attitude we were there for the night so we just enjoyed it. It certainly did not stop us going again.
The setting is very quaint and makes for a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JBfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikitchen, Owner at Indian Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Hello friends
Many thanks for reviewing us.Yes it is deceiving that what you get is not indian but indian european kitchen.Welll I must tell you that when we started we started only indian and soon realised there was a lot of guests who would come and not eat dinner as they consideed the food spicy and that is the reason we started a few european continental fare and later ventured in only european cuisine.
Do
not be disheartened as we are going to bounce back on the same location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
339 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Loved the delicious Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Please go try the zeera rice with dal tadka which has an awesome taste. Also try Veg crispy if you are vegetarian as you will live this starter over here. A good option and econimical

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Your meal is the name of the restaurant - "Indian Kitchen"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

A dinner at “Indian Kitchen” is an unforgettable experience, not to be misses.
I'd dare to say I've tried a lot of Indian food and this is pretty fantabulous

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
2 Thank GOANBOY2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Kitchen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Indian Kitchen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing