We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with the best casual dining needs”

Pousada by the Beach
Ranked #3 of 474 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Sea/Beach facing Garden Restaurant and Bar is open from 11 am 7 pm . Pousada by the Beach is located at the end of Holiday street at Gaura Vaddo Calangute. To get to us, come to the end of the street, head to the beach, as you face the sea turn right, walk about 75 meters, through a couple of shacks and you will see a green patch, a few fishing boats and a gate flanked by two terracotta saluting Portuguese soldiers...Welcoming you. We provide Sun Bed along with an umbrella for a charge of Rs.900/-Per person,for day use .This amount can be adjusted towards consumption of food or drinks. We also provide facilities such as shower, changing rooms and toilets. We request our guests to carry their own towels.
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

Dinner was absolutely divine, served by the brilliant Josh who was over to us delivering what we needed before we even knew it. Superb service in a lovely hidden beach front location. Food was the best we've had in Goa, recommend the Fish in banana leaf and the house Sangria ☺️! Was a little pricerer then other locations but was completely worth it in our eyes. 10/10 would go back. Maybe immediately tomorrow morning..

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank JennyCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 714 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

The food was really good and the guy who welcomed us very kind. I dont put 5 because we were served after 5 minutes ( it shows that it was prepared in advance) but once again it was good.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank roosendaaler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pousada, Owner at Pousada by the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Thank you for appreciating our hospitality and the quality of the food we serve.

It seems our prompt and efficient service is like a double edged sword.

Some love the quick service and others wonder why we serve quickly.

It is simply just good planning. A short menu, efficient kitchen / service staff, etc. but for you to say "prepared in advance", NO WAY

We take pride in what we do and it is my wish to serve all those who visit as quickly as we can. I have personally experienced slow service in many outlets and decided to make sure that we don't make the guests who we host wait forever for their food to come out.

Finally, kindly don't compare the inefficiency of other outlets and think otherwise about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

If u want to get away from noisy and busy shacks and enjoy a good sunset with a great food n super drinks.. well this is the perfect place for it

Love the food, and the service n staff is really helpful with the menu

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank nagadith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Set with an odd approach to the restaurant, through some ugly areas, you then happen upon the pretty and sandy Pousada. Lovely flower bushes make this place welcoming as does the view onto the shallow beach. This would be a great beach area for families as the waves are softer here.
The waiter here was great, very good English and also keen not to allow us to over-order which is a first. The food was good but not amazing...and expensive. We had the tasting starter which was gorgeous, and could have been bigger! The mains were good and recommended by the waiter and they were good to accommodate our kids. We would however have had more dishes but because the waiter told us we had ordered enough we felt we wouldn’t order more! Also it would be better if the starters came out with the mains, not at the same time!
A short walk then takes you to the beach, where you could get a sunbed for extra, or go next door for a beer and a sunbed!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 875JamesN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

We were the only ones there on a windy rain slashed afternoon. Half expecting the place to be shut due to the weather and dull season, were happily welcomed by an ever smiling person.
He was so happy to serve and one of the friendliest person you would come across even with the Goa standards. This is one place i would have given 6 stars if it was allowed.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Mayur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pousada by the Beach also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Morjim, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 

Been to Pousada by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing