We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best in Calangute”

Pousada by the Beach
Ranked #1 of 410 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Sea/Beach facing Garden Restaurant and Bar is open from 11 am 7 pm . Pousada by the Beach is located at the end of Holiday street at Gaura Vaddo Calangute. To get to us, come to the end of the street, head to the beach, as you face the sea turn right, walk about 75 meters, through a couple of shacks and you will see a green patch, a few fishing boats and a gate flanked by two terracotta saluting Portuguese soldiers...Welcoming you. We provide Sun Bed along with an umbrella for a charge of Rs.900/-Per person,for day use .This amount can be adjusted towards consumption of food or drinks. We also provide facilities such as shower, changing rooms and toilets. We request our guests to carry their own towels.
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best in Calangute”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Top hotel and restaurant in which we stayed a few nights and really enjoyed it

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Johan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    67
    17
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful and luxurious haven”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We loved using the beach house - Pousada by the sea - whilst we were at the hotel although there were others using the facility who were not actually staying at the
Pousada Tauma. It is a very quiet way of enjoying the beach, the view and the ambience from a private area which means you are not disturbed by any enthusiastic sellers.
The food is delicious, the area spotless and the service as attentive as in the hotel. We eagerly await the development of the property which is at the entrance to the beach front.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BucksBeautyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good and safe”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Peaceful, no hawkers can come closer. Clean, delicious and lovely.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bcmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A haven of peace and tranquility amidst the hustle and bustle of Calangute.”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

What a wonderful place in a fantastic setting. We were made to feel so welcome by Neville and his team. The food was unbelievable we only wished we have found it earlier in the holiday and then we could have experienced the whole delicious menu. A definite five star experience and would not hesitate in recommending this haven to anyone. Cannot wait until we can return - still dreaming of it. Excellent!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LiverpoolKarenAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Out of a week spent in Goa, we spent 6 of those days lounging & eating at Pousada by the Beach. The beach is fantastic for swimming but understandably busy. So Pousada by the Beach was the answer for a peaceful & relaxing day at the beach as it's set back & only has a limited number of lounges. Neville & his son Josh made us feel extremely welcome each day & were both very hospitable. The food was delicious & a perfect menu to eat while at the beach. It is slightly more expensive that other huts but the extra money is well worth spending to sit in a peaceful & harmonious environment away from the hordes of tourists on the beach.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pousada by the Beach also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Pousada by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing