We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort to enjoy Goa”
Review of Joia Do Mar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Joia Do Mar Resort
Ranked #32 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at this beautiful resort for 2 wonderful days. The place was excellent. The staff was very helpful and they made sure that i don't face any inconvenience any time. Rooms were big and airy with properly maintained facilities.

Food served at the restaurant was also superb and all the sea food i munched on was fresh and excellent. Another awesome thing is that their happy hours are from 7am to 7 pm. Their swimming pool was clean and maintained.

Its a stone throw away from the beach and that is another benefit :)

Room Tip: Let them know when you are coming. They switch on the air conditioners to ensure your rooms are cool...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rishabh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Joia Do Mar Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 159 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there along with my friends from 28th April - 3st may. Very nice hotel with spacious room. Good and accommodating staff. Decent breakfast, good food and excellent swimming pool for having fun in warm Goa Summer. Best part is Calangute which I suppose is the most peaceful beach in North Goa is walking distance . It wont take you more then 3-5 min on foot. So have fun in Goa and stay at this hotel They have made my friends stay so much comfortable. Look for Pool facing GF or FF room.. Next time. yeah I am planning to be back in winter. You can hire taxi, car or bike on rent just outside the hotel. all in all I recommend this place.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayneshdhavalpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I would like to start by saying that I was not the one who booked this hotel and it was booked by my friends. I was very very apprehensive when I saw it online. But the moment I entered its small vegetation covered gates, I was very pleasantly surprised and even more so by their cozy landscaping and clean rooms. The hotel is located in Calangute and is at an easy distance from Baga and Calangute beach and markets. Anjuna, Vagator and Arambol beaches can also be accessed easily if you are renting bike/taxi. Also closeby are Chapora and Aguada Fort.

A few areas where I would suggest the hotel to improve upon are:
1) Breakfast- More options can be included in breakfast and they could work a bit more on its taste.
2) Mini Bar- The room had a refrigerator which also had a minibar list on top of it, but the refrigerator was empty. Not even a single water bottle or a water jug was given.
3) Housekeeping- We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and 6 days and not once was cleaning of the room done, change of bedsheets was not done and neither new linen was provided.
4) In room phone - Our in room phones were not working and even upon informing the same, nothing was done about it.
5) Pool Timings- The pool timings were 8am-8pm. We were mostly travelling around during those times and the times were not extended even upon request. I have been to hotels where upon request the pool has been kept on till 1am. But even if they had kept it on for just 2 more hours, that would have been much more appreciated.

But all this apart, would I suggest this hotel to a friend? Yes I would !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParulMehta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were a group of friends who went to have fun in Goa.... the resort is not that great... a normal hotel... with normal rooms... but yes its pool is really nice... you could spend hours over there. Management has a specific set of rules which it will not allow u to break like u cant eat your own packed food in their eating area..... u have to wear a swimming costume before you enter the pool.... BUT ! they wont really provide you with a vvery good service Eg :- We were served water which contained PHENYL ! ( Dont even think i am kidding ! ) The manager will promise you many things... will provide you with half of your requirements.......
While we were coming back we overheard other guests complaining about the resort as well !!! So Take care ... and smell the water before you drink it !! (You never know ! It just mmight be phenyl ! )

P.S there is no spa in the hotel... you will have to go to the nearby market and spend a good amount on Spa

Room Tip: Villas were nice to see from outside... it was like two buildings of some small apts
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girl_123_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Checked in to the hotel on 7th March 2013 after 3 pm flight from Delhi. We reached there in around an hour's time from the Airport. It costed some 1200 Rs via the Prepaid Taxi which you get on the Airport. The way back was pleasant and the weather was pretty fair. We could manage our way without the A/C.

Once we reached the hotel the place was well kept and there were few guests walking-in. We had a pre-booking and it took them some time to finalise with room are they allotting us. After some wait the ambience and the rooms where a relief. It was well kept and had a very homely feel to it. If you are on of those who like boutique hotels then you will surely love this one.

Next day when we wanted to go out we realized that we are placed in a very well area. Baga was just 5km away and Calangute beach was another 7km even though Anjuna seemed quite far but no complains what so ever.

The staff was to the point and didn't try to be over friendly or anything which was a nice. The amenities and rest was in place. We didn't try the restaurant they had but still overall it was an amazing place to be at.

Value for Money ! Peaceful and Exotic!

Room Tip: Take any where near the Swimming!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankulbarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here just a few weeks ago. What can I say. The place is really nice. Staff are all very good people. Dipak is really helpful as with the manager Shiv.

Food is excellent.

Went with my family which included my mother of 74 years. We all loved it and will definitely return.

Thank you all. Yogi.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicesterYV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is located a good 10-15 min drive from baga beach and the market... however there is no netwrok in the rooms, the only place u get network is at the reception so if you ever wanna make a call you need to walk... food is good. rooms and neat spacious and clean.

Room Tip: rooms pool facing
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mukesh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.1 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 116 in Calangute
258 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#47 of 116 in Calangute
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#36 of 116 in Calangute
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#43 of 116 in Calangute
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#40 of 116 in Calangute
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#29 of 116 in Calangute
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joia Do Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joia Do Mar Resort

Address: Porba Vaddo | Calangute-Arpora Road, Bardez, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#8 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#14 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $30 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Joia Do Mar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" Joia Do Mar " Resort is a boutique family owned hotel dedicated to providing customized services.They say a picture speaks a thousand words but when it comes to Joia Do Mar, seeing is indeed believing. And that is no tall claim. Have a look at our pictures of this beautiful, homely and relaxing property; what you see here is what you get, and more too. Built over years with a loving attention to detail, and careful planning, this premium property set in the heart of party hearty Goa (a stone's throw from Baga and Calangute beaches also close to the famous saturday night market the most exciting event in Goa during winter season) could just become your home away from home.We've got villas, suites and apartments, loaded with creature comforts and furnished to exacting international standards. Clean, cool lines and a posh build. The styling is bound to appeal to your cultured tastes. There's a great big pool to help you cool off during Goan summers. And if all that splashing about gives you an appetite, no problem. our kitchen will serve u some tasty treats at " Masala Hut " Bar and restaurant thats our guarantee. Feel like a bit of a party? We got an in-pool "Joy bar " stocked with all your favorite spirits to carry on the festive spirit! Doesn't this sound tempting? Be our guest and explore the site. Or better still, come visit us and let the spirit of Joia do Mar cajole your senses. Bookings are open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joia Do Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joia Do Mar Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing