We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort stay.”
Review of Joia Do Mar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Joia Do Mar Resort
Ranked #32 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed February 29, 2012

the location was very nice near to baga and calangute beach. cool place with excellent staff. just stayed for 4 days and got complete relaxation. no disturbance at all. food quality is very good. pool is good. overall got complete satisfaction in reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angshuontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Joia Do Mar Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 159 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2011

When one pays top buck season or not, the least you expect is a clean room and great service. While this hotel charged us INR9000/- during the December Season, we were treated to a room which was dirty, linen torn and stained and the pillow probably from a decade ago and absolutely disgusting.

The breakfast was pathetic as if one were in a jail rather than a cozy home-stay and the owners would be better off charging the customer less the trouble of eating their food. Horrible!!!.

Don't expect laundry bags and room slippers or any basic accessories to an expensive room.

While the staff is eager to help, they are not trained in hospitality, hence be prepared to have your luggage man-handled and constant calls to room service to have your room cleaned.

The operators have no clue of what hospitality is all about and one trip to Phuket perhaps will help them change the way peak season hospitality should be delivered especially when they want to charge 3x-4x the normal room price.

I definitely would not recommend this hotel even if it came for free.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelthor2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Joia Do mar is a property which is virgin, undiscovered & a very good proposition in Season Times. Antilog Vacations sells this property online at bulk rates & makes it really affordable than booking directly frm the hotel.

Highlights of this property

- Well connected, near to all the happening places

- Around 1.5 kms frm calangute

- Food is okay dokay, nothing much to boast about

- The rooms are big , nice facilities with a quick service as its not a gigantic hotel

- Ask for Mr. T , nw who he is, I wont tell u, it’s a surprise.



Perfect for bachelors & honeymooners who want a good property with no frills. I have stayed here for 7 days & m amazed by it

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank Raghu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I stayed there for 3 days, very well located in North Goa on the way to Anjuna beach. Beautifully maintained with big huge room. NIce Swimming pool with bar service. Very reasonable on prices. Good washrooms and Air conditioners. Ample parking space. Good value for money if you cant afford a beach property.

Room Tip: C1 and C2 are big rooms with another lobby sort attched to each room.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ShobhitKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Hotel was very welcoming, clean and quiet. Bottle water was provided complimentary each day. and each day the replacment towels had been shaped into an animal and laid on the bed which was very nice. breakfast is good .. The pool was vry clean with a nice sunken bar..... The resort is well located to all d Beaches,bars,dining, shopping n tourist attractions nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ouyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Resort was small but cosy and with good privacy(may be because it was off season). Its about 1 km from the calangute beach, break fast was good but monotonous, pool was clean with sunken bar and they provided separate pool towels. The food i thought was costly so dint dine here (no restaurant only room service). Restaurant is soon coming up as construction was going on near the parking area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smravindra81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Павел Ш
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.1 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 116 in Calangute
258 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#47 of 116 in Calangute
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#35 of 116 in Calangute
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#44 of 116 in Calangute
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#40 of 116 in Calangute
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#29 of 116 in Calangute
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joia Do Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joia Do Mar Resort

Address: Porba Vaddo | Calangute-Arpora Road, Bardez, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#8 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#14 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $30 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Joia Do Mar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" Joia Do Mar " Resort is a boutique family owned hotel dedicated to providing customized services.They say a picture speaks a thousand words but when it comes to Joia Do Mar, seeing is indeed believing. And that is no tall claim. Have a look at our pictures of this beautiful, homely and relaxing property; what you see here is what you get, and more too. Built over years with a loving attention to detail, and careful planning, this premium property set in the heart of party hearty Goa (a stone's throw from Baga and Calangute beaches also close to the famous saturday night market the most exciting event in Goa during winter season) could just become your home away from home.We've got villas, suites and apartments, loaded with creature comforts and furnished to exacting international standards. Clean, cool lines and a posh build. The styling is bound to appeal to your cultured tastes. There's a great big pool to help you cool off during Goan summers. And if all that splashing about gives you an appetite, no problem. our kitchen will serve u some tasty treats at " Masala Hut " Bar and restaurant thats our guarantee. Feel like a bit of a party? We got an in-pool "Joy bar " stocked with all your favorite spirits to carry on the festive spirit! Doesn't this sound tempting? Be our guest and explore the site. Or better still, come visit us and let the spirit of Joia do Mar cajole your senses. Bookings are open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joia Do Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joia Do Mar Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing