We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst possible to stay”
Review of Velvet Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Velvet Inn
Ranked #76 of 247 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Last weekend I had booked a two room apartment. On our arrival we were greeted first by a rude lady in her sleeping clothes and then by a huge cockroach on the door. We thought being coastal area one might have come from somewhere . But that thought was short lived as there were some in bathroom, one bellow the pillow, couple on the curtain. When we complained they said it must have been random ,..and said' use your common sense,if I kept my place dirty will I have booking?'
Moving further the other room in which my sister was staying had a very bad odor. Vomit ,pee I don't want to imagine. The commode was broken, shower sprinkling water here n there.
Ok so since we complained we got other room , a 1 bhk for which you have to walk through darkness n it had earthworm all over.

So the rude lady said we will spray hit all over....n I have a 8 month old. The thought of your baby inhaling all the chemicals is not good, trust me .

Somehow we stayed for a night smelling hit, pee, hoping commode doesn't break n counting cockroaches ....basically spoiling the first night in Goa .its been two days n still I can't take the thought of the dingy hopeless place out of my mind. I wish I was totally drunk that night to overlook the memories.but alas being a mother of small baby n this being a family vacation this trash was horrible .oh yeah n the mattress was horrible n linens spotty. Guys I have snaps to prove which we have also mailed to makemytrip from where we did booking.

Morning we left hoping the next night would be better....

Room Tip: Please avoid this cockroach hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnikaKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 59 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Being at velvett inn for 2 days made me feel like i have my own flat in Goa (only for 2 days though :-( ) !!!
Its was perfect for us as the Flat was
1. Clean
2. Near to beach (prefer getting a bike/car)
3. We got a chance to prepare our on breakfast as microwave oven/electric kettle and other cooking stuff was provided.
4. Last thing which made our stay perfect there was ,rooms were as it is as was shown in the picture ,usually pictures are different and reality is something else ,here this was not the case .

And last thing about velvett inn is that its not costly as other hotels in Goa ,that too in North Goa .
Thanks ,velvett Inn for making it perfect for us to stay at your location .

Looking forward for coming again there !!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amitchhabra_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

First the negatives because they are clearly more than the positives

1 - The Owner / Lady at the reception was very rude and cold. I was never greeted with the smile.

2 - The upkeep of the apartment is very bad. I had to literally show the pictures to the owner to get the room and the bathroom cleaned

3 - Breakfast is not prepared in house, hence expect it to be cold and very average.

Positive -

1- Location is very good. Right near the St Anthony's Chapel, which makes both baga and candolim accesible.

2- Apartment rate was quite ok too. You can get a 2 bed room apartment if you are two couples and have a good time together.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jassi_Mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in velvet inn with my husband and son for almost a month in the month of January-2012 and i really like the place we took one bhk apartment which was very clean and comfortable...housekeeping was excellent ..they clean room everyday...karan in housekeeping was very helpful...and the best thing abt this place its very near to all the beaches...i would love to go again with my entire family.and last thanks to sandhaya for making our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jigmetLeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is located at around 500meters from the Calangute Beach. 1BHK and 2BHK options are available, the property was well maintained and the rooms were clean. The address printed on the booking is not correct, it shows as Porvorim but actually its situated at Calangute.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Harshad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

WE WERE A GROUP OF 9 WHO WENT and TOOK 1 2bhk flat and 1 1bhk flat
A truely wonderfull experience..!!
if u truely need an advise...PLEASE STAY AT THIS PLACE..!! considering the price and the place..!! its worth every penny
the rooms are really very clean with great bathrooms..!! 5 minutes from the calangute beach..!!
the place is equally quiete..!! nice swimming pool with a restaurant which serves EXCELLENT food with great service..!!!

100% advisable..!! dont miss
call me on 9773542907 for any other details for a GOA trip

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ParthSheth2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The rooms are very clean and location is very convenient. the places of interest are nearby. The owner is very accommodating. We were a group of eight and were comfortable here. Good restaurants nearby too.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prithvi81091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 116 in Calangute
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 116 in Calangute
258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
#20 of 116 in Calangute
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#100 of 116 in Calangute
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
#26 of 116 in Calangute
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#9 of 116 in Calangute
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet Inn

Address: Near Chapel, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 247 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Price Range: $68 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Velvet Inn. We categorized in 1 Bedroom,2 Bedroom, Studio and 3 Bedroom Apartment Our apartments have fantastic locations and in close proximity to the beach, market area and the shopping venues in the coastal belt of North Goa. - 1 KM from Beach and other attractions. - Fully Furnished apartment - Equipped Kitchen - Tea/coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Crockery, Gas stove & induction . - Ventilated Rooms - Spacious Living Room and Balcony or Landscaping - Swimming Pool - Front Desk and Gated Complex ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Velvet Inn Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing