We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spacious rooms, poor restaurant”
Review of Viva Calangute

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viva Calangute
Ranked #43 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good spacious rooms, poor restaurant”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Big, clean rooms but useless restaurant even if u wish to have early (8AM) b'fast before setting out for the day... d servers r dud n u need to ask for everything from a tissue, to ketchup to water to cup to pour ur tea in.... what more u struggle to get ur "bed-tea" before 8 AM...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taru15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
37
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We recently stayed here and the amount of fun we had was outstanding. All of us friends stayed in the same apartment and freaked out all the time.
Everything is so close by and I have no complaints
The rooms, staff, service, etc everything is very good
Ideal place for friends to come. STumbled upon it by chance and now will come here always
Go GOA

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Really great hotel situated in a peaceful place with lovely spacious rooms. The hotel staff was really extra-ordinary, helpful and always-smiling :) Additional advantage - it's near to one of the most famous goan beaches Calangute. Recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Madsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I think this is good hotel for the value charged. The food is very very good but the breakfast is ordinary. Of course, they only charge 100rs for the breakfast so I let it go. There is swimming pool on the roof from where we can see the arabian sea which is nice. The rooms are good with vitrified flooring and good bathrooms. The living room is quite spacious and the whole two bedroom apartment was air-conditioned. The master bedroom in some rooms has the morning light coming from the east side and it floods the room with too much light for which the hotel management will have to do something.
The restaurant called 'Gossip' serves great food and the pub is good too.
Overall, a great value for the stay. I would rate this hotel as 2.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jatintar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed at Orient Royal for 40 days alone on my trip this time. Just came back and here are my views on it.
Positives
+ the rooms are BIG, spacious, clean, private and comfortable
+ the beach and market are very close within walking distance
+ the pool is clean and good.
+ the food is good and the room-service staff is prompt, responsive and service-oriented
+ you can rent a bike & stay mobile
+ v close to all the local attractions in Calangute/ Baga/ Candolim.
+ Super market right at the doorstep for all groceries/daily needs.
+ Provided microwave and hot plate at extra charge
+ fridge in the room to chill your drinks :D

Negatives:
- electricity issues- no back up
- there's no lift and i had a room on the 2nd floor!
- no wifi/internet facility in the hotel
- no books/ magazines available what so ever!!!!!!!
- Credit cards are NOT accepted

recommendation:
check-in for the quality of the rooms
hire a bike/car
try and book in advance directly through reservations@orient for fantastic discounts and deals-excellent bargain!
get your own books!
head out to the Sushi bar close to the beach for food

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lonewolf381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My title means a LOT when you are traveling in India, especially GOA - even at the most highly promoted tourist spots!
Why?
Because it is next to impossible to find all of this together at a hotel unless you are willing to shell out a lot of cash!

We stayed here for 5 nights . Rooms are clean,very spacious and plenty of room with comfortable beds. They had arranged South Goa tour followed by river cruise for us which was great! The restaurant is very good and the food they serve is very tasty too.

Granted you have to climb a few steps to get to your room (exercise isn't very welcome when you are on vacation :( - but the cosiness once you get in, makes up plenty.

Orient is great at corresponding with you, so you can ask the friendly staff there - about the place beforehand about any of your apprehensions or if you need any help with sightseeing in goa.

Hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the local market or Calangute beach

Room Tip: Room Tip:If you can climb - ask for rooms on the third floor. We went to the terrace - and it is bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bohemian81294013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 nights stay at this cozy hotel. We had a suite with 2 rooms for our family of four. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We are especially thankful to manager Mr Kartik for personally looking after our needs of transportation, referrals to hotels and events.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sd1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Karishma Grand
Hotel Karishma Grand
#21 of 110 in Calangute
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Epitacio's Hotel
Epitacio's Hotel
#57 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#88 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#45 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#37 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort
Paradise Village Beach Resort
#71 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Calangute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Calangute

Property: Viva Calangute
Address: 155 / 9 | Near St Josephs Boys Home, Calangute 403516, India (Formerly Orient Royal)
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the pristine surroundings of Arabian Sea, Viva Calangute caters to business as well as leisure travellers. The hotel offers one and two Bedroom Accommodations . Well furnished, fitted with modern amenities. Our warm staff will ensure that you have an unforgettable and pleasant experience. Viva Calangute offers you the location to give you another reason to celebrate Goa at its fullest. Located at walking distance from the famous Calangute Beach (Queen of beaches in Goa), 10 min from Baga Beach & 10 min from Anjuna beach & It is also near to all the happening Hot spots of Goa - Tito's, Mambo's, Butter Lounge are all located nearby!!. The water sports facilities are located within walking distance & so are the famous shacks.... We want Viva Calangute to be your place...a space which is very close to your heart, where you would like to come again & again & again... So come, Plunge into a world of azure waters, glistening sands and majestic beaches!!!.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Viva Calangute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Royal Hotel Calangute
Viva Calangute Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing